Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars38
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 January 2012
This is the best guide to marrakesh we could find, in a week we did about a third of the recommendations and every one was as good as or better than described. Very up to date, accurate and entertaining. Only one thing was a few months out of date - petit taxis refuse to use meters now and therefore you have to avoid them at tourist traps in order to get a fair price.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
This book was very helpful for our trip to Marrakech. The itineries were interesting and it was good to have a brief history of each place before you there. We went to some of the restaurants in the book including la terrasse des epices and chez chegrouni which lived up to expectations. The only thing to watch out for is the map. A few of the roads are a wrong name, and the dar si sïad is in the wrong place on the map which caused a bit of confusion! Maybe get another map and compare just in case. Overall a very good tour guide book, and good size too to fit in your pocket!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
I was so disappointed with this Lonely Planet book for Marrakesh. The lay out is very poor and not easy to follow.
Lonely Planet books are usually very reliable and the info they give you is useful and truthful. I have a bookcase full of Lonely Planet and also Rough Guides to various places in the world.
I got this as a back up to a DK top 10 guide book which was far more superior, and a lot more useful.
Don't waste your money on this book, wish I could return it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
So first off, the writing style of this guide is so dire it's worse than the worst pulp fiction. The only good thing is that it fits in your pocket. The writer feels a need to constantly cajole you and use third rate prose the like of which you won't find in the worst romantic novel. The writer tries to be hip and peppers the guide with nauseating writing. Tagines are always 'tangy', people are described as fashionistas, trendy etc, a stool is always 'hand-hewn', . It's just tedious and dreadful writing that makes you want to punch the author. Added to that, some of the maps are inaccurate: not only does the Marra Book Cafe no longer exist, but the derb (alley) that it is shown as being on doesn't either - i can confirm that having spent an hour and a half looking for it. Some streets are also wrongly named on the map - for instance Rue de Bab Agnou, going south from the Djema-el-Fnaa is actually called by the locals Avenue des Princes - There have to be better guides out there, better written.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
First time using the encounter series. Maps were not really useful, although im not sure that any map in marrakesh is!!. book was mainly used to see where to eat etc, but nothing really blew me away. I was not used to the format of the book ( i usually read timeout travel guide book)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
I bought this book in advance of going to Marrakech for a one week holiday. I had very useful information in it regarding food, drink and activities. However if you're looking for a book with comprehensive maps of the souks etc this is not it. Like many of the maps of Marrakech the Medina is not mapped well and can lead to being very lost and vulnerable to "guides" taking you where you want to go, often for a VERY high price.

Some of the prices quoted are a little out, but to be expected somewhere where haggling is the norm.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
this was an absolute godsend when on a trip to Marrakesh. we ended up going to a lot of the places listed and they were as described, if not better. the maps were a little off in places, but other than that it was ideal. it left a lot of room for exploring but pointed us in the right direction as far as must-see places, customs and traditions.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
I purchased this expecting a typical Lonely Planet city guide. This is not one of those! This book is tiny. For the money it is a rip off. It will literally fit in your back pocket. Very poor indeed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
A really comprehensive and useful guide to Marrakech, handily divided into sections depending on location and interests. We used this to establish exactly what we wanted to see, and to gain a good amount of background information to the main sites. We found the maps difficult to use when faced with the reality of the delightful chaos that is Marrakech! Valuable information on the customs and culture is also included. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to Marrakech, perhaps alongside a more comprehensive local map if you are planning on really exploring the city on foot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
We were staying at an all inclusive resort 20 minutes outside of Marrakesh so didn't really need the 150+ pages of information about places to stay, restaurants, etc. Very small information sections and history, culture. Probably my own fault for not doing enough research before buying but it was highly recommended by Tripadvisor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)