Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential practical guide which will save you many times the cost
This is the best guide to marrakesh we could find, in a week we did about a third of the recommendations and every one was as good as or better than described. Very up to date, accurate and entertaining. Only one thing was a few months out of date - petit taxis refuse to use meters now and therefore you have to avoid them at tourist traps in order to get a fair price.
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by C. F. Pielou

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Travel Book I have ever had!
I was so disappointed with this Lonely Planet book for Marrakesh. The lay out is very poor and not easy to follow.
Lonely Planet books are usually very reliable and the info they give you is useful and truthful. I have a bookcase full of Lonely Planet and also Rough Guides to various places in the world.
I got this as a back up to a DK top 10 guide book which...
Published on 5 May 2012 by yorkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential practical guide which will save you many times the cost, 8 Jan 2012
By 
C. F. Pielou (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is the best guide to marrakesh we could find, in a week we did about a third of the recommendations and every one was as good as or better than described. Very up to date, accurate and entertaining. Only one thing was a few months out of date - petit taxis refuse to use meters now and therefore you have to avoid them at tourist traps in order to get a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book was very helpful for our trip to Marrakech. The itineries were interesting and it was good to have a brief history of each place before you there. We went to some of the restaurants in the book including la terrasse des epices and chez chegrouni which lived up to expectations. The only thing to watch out for is the map. A few of the roads are a wrong name, and the dar si sad is in the wrong place on the map which caused a bit of confusion! Maybe get another map and compare just in case. Overall a very good tour guide book, and good size too to fit in your pocket!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Travel Book I have ever had!, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this Lonely Planet book for Marrakesh. The lay out is very poor and not easy to follow.
Lonely Planet books are usually very reliable and the info they give you is useful and truthful. I have a bookcase full of Lonely Planet and also Rough Guides to various places in the world.
I got this as a back up to a DK top 10 guide book which was far more superior, and a lot more useful.
Don't waste your money on this book, wish I could return it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 7 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I ordered this as I had always found the Lonely Planet guides very useful and comprehensive. On reading it I disliked the style but, nevertheless, took it to Marrakech to try it out. It was of marginal value.

The style varies between the precious and the pretentious and articles vary between the celebrity magazine and the TV game show script. I found the navigation of the Medina difficult until I had created my own reference points. This guide did not help.

Its attempt to be upbeat failed dismally and some of the advice was plain wrong. For example it says that the locals will invite one to visit their homes. We took the advice and ended up in an upstairs room with a sales pitch for things we didn't want which required real effort to escape from. Also we took the advice about being shown how to find places. Each time this was followed by a demand for money, refusal leading to a torrent of abuse. Unofficial guides are forbidden by local laws we subsequently discovered.

I would really suggest that you avoid this like the plague if you are an ordinary person wanting to see the points of interest. However do try it if you want to pose to your friends and acquaintances on return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiny, basic and useless - total rip off, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I purchased this expecting a typical Lonely Planet city guide. This is not one of those! This book is tiny. For the money it is a rip off. It will literally fit in your back pocket. Very poor indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average read, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
First time using the encounter series. Maps were not really useful, although im not sure that any map in marrakesh is!!. book was mainly used to see where to eat etc, but nothing really blew me away. I was not used to the format of the book ( i usually read timeout travel guide book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide book, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A really comprehensive and useful guide to Marrakech, handily divided into sections depending on location and interests. We used this to establish exactly what we wanted to see, and to gain a good amount of background information to the main sites. We found the maps difficult to use when faced with the reality of the delightful chaos that is Marrakech! Valuable information on the customs and culture is also included. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to Marrakech, perhaps alongside a more comprehensive local map if you are planning on really exploring the city on foot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Little information regarding the Medina area, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
There was little information regarding the Medina, which is where we are going to stay, with the main focus on the other neighbourhoods. Disappointed as usually Lonely Planet guide books are very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very useful and easy to use, a must buy for your Marrakesh trip - great detachable map and pocket sized!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK book if you are staying in Marrakesh, but too much about hotels, restaurants, etc and not enough about place., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We were staying at an all inclusive resort 20 minutes outside of Marrakesh so didn't really need the 150+ pages of information about places to stay, restaurants, etc. Very small information sections and history, culture. Probably my own fault for not doing enough research before buying but it was highly recommended by Tripadvisor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) by Alison Bing (Paperback - 23 Sep 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews