Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential practical guide which will save you many times the cost
This is the best guide to marrakesh we could find, in a week we did about a third of the recommendations and every one was as good as or better than described. Very up to date, accurate and entertaining. Only one thing was a few months out of date - petit taxis refuse to use meters now and therefore you have to avoid them at tourist traps in order to get a fair price.
Published on 8 Jan. 2012 by C. F. Pielou

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
I ordered this as I had always found the Lonely Planet guides very useful and comprehensive. On reading it I disliked the style but, nevertheless, took it to Marrakech to try it out. It was of marginal value.

The style varies between the precious and the pretentious and articles vary between the celebrity magazine and the TV game show script. I found the...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. W. R. Clare


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential practical guide which will save you many times the cost, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
C. F. Pielou (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is the best guide to marrakesh we could find, in a week we did about a third of the recommendations and every one was as good as or better than described. Very up to date, accurate and entertaining. Only one thing was a few months out of date - petit taxis refuse to use meters now and therefore you have to avoid them at tourist traps in order to get a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I ordered this as I had always found the Lonely Planet guides very useful and comprehensive. On reading it I disliked the style but, nevertheless, took it to Marrakech to try it out. It was of marginal value.

The style varies between the precious and the pretentious and articles vary between the celebrity magazine and the TV game show script. I found the navigation of the Medina difficult until I had created my own reference points. This guide did not help.

Its attempt to be upbeat failed dismally and some of the advice was plain wrong. For example it says that the locals will invite one to visit their homes. We took the advice and ended up in an upstairs room with a sales pitch for things we didn't want which required real effort to escape from. Also we took the advice about being shown how to find places. Each time this was followed by a demand for money, refusal leading to a torrent of abuse. Unofficial guides are forbidden by local laws we subsequently discovered.

I would really suggest that you avoid this like the plague if you are an ordinary person wanting to see the points of interest. However do try it if you want to pose to your friends and acquaintances on return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book was very helpful for our trip to Marrakech. The itineries were interesting and it was good to have a brief history of each place before you there. We went to some of the restaurants in the book including la terrasse des epices and chez chegrouni which lived up to expectations. The only thing to watch out for is the map. A few of the roads are a wrong name, and the dar si sïad is in the wrong place on the map which caused a bit of confusion! Maybe get another map and compare just in case. Overall a very good tour guide book, and good size too to fit in your pocket!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Travel Book I have ever had!, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this Lonely Planet book for Marrakesh. The lay out is very poor and not easy to follow.
Lonely Planet books are usually very reliable and the info they give you is useful and truthful. I have a bookcase full of Lonely Planet and also Rough Guides to various places in the world.
I got this as a back up to a DK top 10 guide book which was far more superior, and a lot more useful.
Don't waste your money on this book, wish I could return it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars who writes this rubbish?, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
I. Tucker "stillalive@thirtyfive" (Dorking, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
So first off, the writing style of this guide is so dire it's worse than the worst pulp fiction. The only good thing is that it fits in your pocket. The writer feels a need to constantly cajole you and use third rate prose the like of which you won't find in the worst romantic novel. The writer tries to be hip and peppers the guide with nauseating writing. Tagines are always 'tangy', people are described as fashionistas, trendy etc, a stool is always 'hand-hewn', . It's just tedious and dreadful writing that makes you want to punch the author. Added to that, some of the maps are inaccurate: not only does the Marra Book Cafe no longer exist, but the derb (alley) that it is shown as being on doesn't either - i can confirm that having spent an hour and a half looking for it. Some streets are also wrongly named on the map - for instance Rue de Bab Agnou, going south from the Djema-el-Fnaa is actually called by the locals Avenue des Princes - There have to be better guides out there, better written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average read, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
First time using the encounter series. Maps were not really useful, although im not sure that any map in marrakesh is!!. book was mainly used to see where to eat etc, but nothing really blew me away. I was not used to the format of the book ( i usually read timeout travel guide book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 29 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this book in advance of going to Marrakech for a one week holiday. I had very useful information in it regarding food, drink and activities. However if you're looking for a book with comprehensive maps of the souks etc this is not it. Like many of the maps of Marrakech the Medina is not mapped well and can lead to being very lost and vulnerable to "guides" taking you where you want to go, often for a VERY high price.

Some of the prices quoted are a little out, but to be expected somewhere where haggling is the norm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
this was an absolute godsend when on a trip to Marrakesh. we ended up going to a lot of the places listed and they were as described, if not better. the maps were a little off in places, but other than that it was ideal. it left a lot of room for exploring but pointed us in the right direction as far as must-see places, customs and traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiny, basic and useless - total rip off, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I purchased this expecting a typical Lonely Planet city guide. This is not one of those! This book is tiny. For the money it is a rip off. It will literally fit in your back pocket. Very poor indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little guide book, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A really comprehensive and useful guide to Marrakech, handily divided into sections depending on location and interests. We used this to establish exactly what we wanted to see, and to gain a good amount of background information to the main sites. We found the maps difficult to use when faced with the reality of the delightful chaos that is Marrakech! Valuable information on the customs and culture is also included. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to Marrakech, perhaps alongside a more comprehensive local map if you are planning on really exploring the city on foot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Marrakesh Encounter (Travel Guide) by Alison Bing (Paperback - 23 Sept. 2011)
Used & New from: £6.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews