Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely planet Austria
I'm already a Lonely Planet fan having used the Walking Spain book on 2 trips to N Spain and my son sent me LP Austia for Christmas in an effort to get me to visit him there. Apart from being a good general basic guide with good little maps, its a good read with all the bits of history,background and cameos etc. I tried a lot of the recommended stuff including YOHO. and...
Published on 6 April 2004 by Ges

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor on Kindle
Kindle edition is poor, I had expected much better. Guide is poorly formatted, no index. Images are low resolution, maps & scanned pages for mini-phrase section and other parts of the guide to the extent that it's unreadable, zooming in doesn't help.
Not much taken with content, seems to be very superficial. Nothing about the towns & cities: Vienna gets just one...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely planet Austria, 6 April 2004
By 
Ges (Infinity & Beyond) - See all my reviews
I'm already a Lonely Planet fan having used the Walking Spain book on 2 trips to N Spain and my son sent me LP Austia for Christmas in an effort to get me to visit him there. Apart from being a good general basic guide with good little maps, its a good read with all the bits of history,background and cameos etc. I tried a lot of the recommended stuff including YOHO. and most of the info. was spot on apart from a couple of budget places to eat which were not. and some of the Bus numbers had changed or were wrong.
Otherwise an excellent book, fits in your pocket so don't go without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good guide giving all the useful information that you would expect from a LP guide book and it gives more information on the smaller cities and towns than other guide books that I have found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor on Kindle, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kindle edition is poor, I had expected much better. Guide is poorly formatted, no index. Images are low resolution, maps & scanned pages for mini-phrase section and other parts of the guide to the extent that it's unreadable, zooming in doesn't help.
Not much taken with content, seems to be very superficial. Nothing about the towns & cities: Vienna gets just one kindle page of description! The town maps are split across multiple pages.
Thinking about it - 2 stars is generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Information, 4 May 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Planning a east-to-west rail-based tour of Austria, to finish up in Liechtenstein (dont ask), this summer. Lots of information, good base for making bookings over the WWW with TripAdviosr reviews and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Limited by the format, 2 April 2014
By 
Christian Twelftree (WENDOVER, BUCKINGHAMSHIRE) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books used to be my bible when travelling, but with the internet, they seem rather limited now, as I just want to dive into greater detail when something interests me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars practical guide, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
informative guide divided by areas with helpful information and background on what you will find there.
Some nice images. Helpful to have on the kindle for easy travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Austria country guide, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Austria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have reviewed books from the lonely planet before but never bought any this is the first one i have purchased. Loads of information well written i will next year move to Austria i also like the german phrases. I have lived and worked in Germany for 10 years so i am fluent in german the german phrases will be of great value to people that cant speak german..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard core but informative, 7 Jan 2013
By 
D. F. Beeton (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Austria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book is quite hard core and I was disappointed at first. However, when you begin to delve, it is a wealth of information and stories and history. Very well researched. A great companion to the DK guide to Austria which is more pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Jun 2012
By 
V. F. Garza "travel buff" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Austria (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As always lonely plant does not let you down, plenty of information and interesting history. Making these book a great purchase, my travel library will be from Lonely Planet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars austrian kindle book, 31 May 2012
By 
MRS M RUTTER (LUTON BEDFORDSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am very pleased that i got this kindle book as it is a lot better than the paper back books or even some of the maps.i am taking my kindle with me when i go to austria this year so i thought i would put the book on the kindle.what a good idea.brilliant kindle addition.amazon do some brilliant kindle books.this one is a yes.m rutter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Austria (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Austria (Travel Guide) by Caroline Sieg (Paperback - 20 May 2011)
13.12
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews