Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite guidebook for this region
I have read a good number of the guidebooks to the Languedoc Roussillon region and this is my favourite. While relatively compact and light, it packs in plenty of information and the recommendations on places to go and see are both helpful and reliable. Best of all, it's written with enthusiasm and an eye for the small details that make for holiday highlights...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Julia Flyte

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Factual and boring.
Very disapointed with this book. Full of facts but does not give any insight of what to really look for or avoid.
I expected to see the opinions of the author/s but this guide seems to have been assembled rather than written.
Published on 3 Dec 2011 by Sometime traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite guidebook for this region, 30 May 2009
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I have read a good number of the guidebooks to the Languedoc Roussillon region and this is my favourite. While relatively compact and light, it packs in plenty of information and the recommendations on places to go and see are both helpful and reliable. Best of all, it's written with enthusiasm and an eye for the small details that make for holiday highlights.

The book opens with photographic highlights of the region accompanied by quotes from travellers about their experience in those destinations. It gives you an immediate taste for what the region has to offer and a hankering to visit. There are then a number of suggested routes and highlights, which are very helpful when planning your trip (including recommendations for families and recommended drives). Each section also contains suggested highlights for that smaller region.

While descriptions are often brief, they are accurate and convey a very good flavour of each destination. For example, on a recent trip we were tossing up between staying in Perpignan or nearby Narbonne. Many books I read made them sound very similar which wasn't very helpful in guiding our choice, but the Lonely Planet differentiates them clearly. Based on places where I have stayed or eaten, the accommodation and dining guides are accurate. We thought the food at L'Epicurian in Albi was fantastic and I was pleased to see it included here.

If you are tossing up between this book and the Rough Guide to the region, I recommend the Lonely Planet. The Rough Guide is more detailed and may be better if you are planning an extended stay in the region, but the Lonely Planet guide covers all the region's highlights and is a much more enticing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lonely planet or rough guide?, 24 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Not quite so detailed as the "rough guide" to the same area, but much more upbeat - and, we think, accurate - about the many attractions of this beautiful and fascinating region
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 9 July 2009
By 
G WALSH (DUBLIN Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Better then most others, up to date. Lacks maps though.
Still by far the best on this region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, packed with relevant info, 28 July 2009
By 
A. Sykes (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I agree with the earlier reviews. This is a great, little book. Easy to carry round with all the pertinent information that you could need, to hand. It really inspires you to visit the area as soon as you can. Five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Factual and boring., 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Very disapointed with this book. Full of facts but does not give any insight of what to really look for or avoid.
I expected to see the opinions of the author/s but this guide seems to have been assembled rather than written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go and visit, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Hard to distinguish between the book and my memories, but as a veteran of Briattany, Normandy, Pas de Calais and the Vendee, a trip to this part of France is a must.

Relatively isolated, rural, rustic etc. There's great beaches of you look. Great castles. Great countryside. You'll need a car in my opinion...

The book covered pretty much everything important, especially for day trips in Nimes and Montpellier. However, in terms of wine and cute villages, definately the best approach is to follow your nose / instinct they are so plentiful and the book would need to be too long to do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book with lots of experiences rather than joust facts., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I would recommend this book to anyone who visits France, or wants to know more before they do. Overall a great page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Languedoc guide, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Not to be compared with the Michelin guide. Useful practical information, but skimpy on the cultural background which is rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to follow, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
I would recommend this book, it was informative and easy to follow and is now my main reference for my visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars South of France, 24 Oct 2011
By 
P. J. Wade "Phil the Pill" (Brentwood, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Book does what it said - it's a guide with some useful data. All seems to be correct and update. Worked well for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides)
Languedoc-Roussillon (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) by Nicola Williams (Paperback - 20 Mar 2009)
Used & New from: 16.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews