Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy for a trip to Puglia
My son used this on a recent Archeology visit to Puglia and found it very useful. There are very few books written about the area and this seemed the most detailed.
Published 11 months ago by Jill Collinson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate
We toured Umbria in July 2012 and bought the Lomely Planet guide prior to departure. After the first day I gave up on it. Several of the important Romanesque sites were missing: these are the crown jewels of Italian medieval architecture. Also I found the level of comment superficial and often lacking insight. I returned to the Cadogan Guide to the Bay of Naples and...
Published 22 months ago by baithin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inadequate, 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We toured Umbria in July 2012 and bought the Lomely Planet guide prior to departure. After the first day I gave up on it. Several of the important Romanesque sites were missing: these are the crown jewels of Italian medieval architecture. Also I found the level of comment superficial and often lacking insight. I returned to the Cadogan Guide to the Bay of Naples and Southern Italy, which I bought on publication in 2007. Although some of the information has changed, this is a well-written, highly-intelligent guide, eschewsing tired epithets. It is be no means perfect and could do with updating and reformatting. Unlike the Lonely Planet, which is boring, undiscriminating and seems to be going through the motions. It is though better laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappoiunting, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Unfortunately the guide was not quite as comprehensive as we would have liked, in that a lot of the places we wanted to look up were not included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Used it for the section on Puglia, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We found the information on sights and restaurants very comprehensive and informative. We tried several of the recommended restaurants and found their reviews to be very acurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good detail, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a good detailed guide with a range of prices for accomodation, restaurants and activities (not just the cheapest hostel in town).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy for a trip to Puglia, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
My son used this on a recent Archeology visit to Puglia and found it very useful. There are very few books written about the area and this seemed the most detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a great little book and has been a real help in deciding on where to go on my honeymoon. I like the maps and the information page about words common phrases etc.. I can't say much else as i haven't gone to italy yet but i am sure it will be helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if you think it will work on Kindel for android, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to try this item - it seems a genius idea - instead of carring around the usual book you just use the travel guide on your phone.
however what the publisher might not be aware off is that travel guides are not read like a book - from beginning to the end
and that the times moved on and we expect google like searchability, click on to drill down (there were very few) and go back to see the section before drill down rather than the previous page - out of the 11 thousand pages ... ?!!!!!
you can bookmark - but guess what you can not write a note on the bookmark so after you have done a few you might need to search between location 548 which is the page starting with "on the read to ..." how do they think I am supposed to know what is 548?!
I want my money back
and do not buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Southern Italy (Travel Guide) by Pozzan (Paperback - 10 Feb 2012)
15.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews