Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,just what you need for your holiday!
If you are planning on visiting Crete this is a great book to take along with you! Has maps of the island, loads of useful information for each area of what to see,places to eat & shop.Very pleased with this guide,Lonely Planet guides always seem to have everthing you need for your trip.It's an all in one guide :).Highly recommended!
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Caroline D

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough
This is a poorly produced, often unhelpful guide. I could forgive an occasional inaccuracy in editing (45km from Hania to the far west via Elafonissi?), and I would never blame a guidebook for a business disappearing, changing its opening hours or its name. But there is too much in here which is wrong. The indexing is sloppy and there's little of the essential logistical...
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by Rosyrose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a poorly produced, often unhelpful guide. I could forgive an occasional inaccuracy in editing (45km from Hania to the far west via Elafonissi?), and I would never blame a guidebook for a business disappearing, changing its opening hours or its name. But there is too much in here which is wrong. The indexing is sloppy and there's little of the essential logistical detail which makes a guidebook a trusted friend (translate "the road worsens" into "it's passable in a 4 wheel drive if you don't mind driving round hairpin bends on unstable stony tracks for an hour or more"). It's repetitive, inconsistent and undiscriminating. The layout is irritating and unhelpful. I'm a lifelong Rough Guides fan and only bought this because it's a 2012 edition. I wish I hadn't bothered. It is reliable on eating recommendations however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent,just what you need for your holiday!, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
If you are planning on visiting Crete this is a great book to take along with you! Has maps of the island, loads of useful information for each area of what to see,places to eat & shop.Very pleased with this guide,Lonely Planet guides always seem to have everthing you need for your trip.It's an all in one guide :).Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's an ok guide, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this as I had a trip to Crete planned and it was a new edition. I have several other guides to Crete and would rate this as a middling one. It is small and light enough to take in luggage but I felt it does not have enough detail, especially about the out of the way, little known places, which, let's face it, is why you buy a lonely planet guide! If it is your first trip to Crete and you just want to use this to make sure you don't miss the main sights I would recommend it but if you want to go off the beaten track and see the lesser known places I would say buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet loses the battle against Rough Guide., 11 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Tim Morgan (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The lonely planet guide to Crete is direly in need of some fleshing out. Crete is an amazing island with a lot to see and this guide feels like its an extended chapter from the guide to Greece.
I am normally a Lonely Planet fan and have travelled parts of Asia and Australia and NZ almost solely using their guides.
I used both newest editions of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide while visiting the West and Central areas of Crete and found the Rough guide to have a lot more clear well written information which was up to date where as Lonely planet felt lacking in a lot of areas and so worked it's way down lower in my bag.
It is easy to read and would be enough for a whistle-stop tour, but for more insight I would go with Rough Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guide, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This was detailed and up to date. It was well organised and informative and did the job required. Plenty of useful tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crete Guide, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
What a great book. I am visiting Crete this year and found the information really useful, especially details of what to expect on Bank Holidays etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very informative indeed, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The lonely planet guides are excellent. We used this on holiday and it helped in a multitude of ways from understanding the local culture to snippets about villages/towns we went through. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crete guide, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great guide to Crete which I used on my last holiday there. Was able to get around without too much trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VERY INTERESTING, 21 Feb 2013
By 
K. Best - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
GOOD BOOK FOR TOURING CRETE. I REALLY ENJOYED READING IT. FULL OF USEFUL TIPS AND UP TO DATE
INFORMATION ON RESTAURANTS ETC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As you expect from lonely planet it has all the details about the country. Bought to replace an old Drachma copy to show the euro denominations and it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Crete (Travel Guide) by Des Hannigan (Paperback - 16 Mar 2012)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews