Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the ideal global travel guide, but great educational value
This is a review of the Second Edition, first published September 2010 which replaces the First Edition of 2004. Apparently it has been 100% re-written and updated with totally new photographs, so it is a thoroughly new book in effect, and not to be confused with the First Edition (which is still on sale). The two editions, while similar in style, are comprehensively...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by OEJ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Pictures , but lacking in detail
There is no doubt that this book is well presented , with some beautiful photography .
But thats as far as the whole thing goes , it is lacking in detail somewhat and really just pays reference
to Currency , Best time of the year to visit climate wise . Doesnt get to the nitty gritty of this wonderful world
we live in .
Published 9 months ago by janpath


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MASSIVE book with beautiful photos and fact-attacks about the countries in the world, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Meerkat (Dereham, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is not intended to be taken with you on your trip around the world. It is MASSIVE. You'd need a pretty hefty coffee table just to put it on and you can't hold it up to read it - it's the sort of book you have to lean over on a table.
There are some stunning photos from each country featured, from Afghanistan to Zambia and accompanying 'fact-attacks'. I wouldn't say this was an indepth study of each country, such as you'd expect from Lonely Planet's individual country guides. This is more of a flavour, a quick taste of each country.
There is a random interesting fact about each country and a quick whizz through population size, capital city, languages spoken, some ethnology etc with recommendations for 'must sees' as well.
Each country occupies a double page spread and the photos take up most of that.
An amusing book to introduce a child to the sheer variety around the world, but not, I would say, a serious book or one that has much practical use, in my opinion. It's not really a travel guide, more a travel taster.
It's the sort of book that I'd leave out on a (sturdy!) table and turn over a page a day to see each country in turn - but reading the information on that country takes around 2 minutes, so it's not something you'd have to study in detail or spend any time over.
A beautiful record of the way the world is right now and no doubt fascinating to sociologists, anthropologists and to look back on in a couple of decades time - how things change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book that transcends the travel genre, 23 Oct 2010
By 
P. M. Fernandez "exilefromgroggs" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Certain imprints represent benchmarks in specific areas - such as Oxford for atlases and Collins for language studies. Lonely Planet and Rough Guide - with their feet in "real" travelling - have used this starting point as a means of developing in a variety of directions. Rough Guides exist to all sorts of subjects, and with this book Lonely Planet are pushing firmly in the direction of coffee table books!

That sounds a little negative - it's not supposed to. This is the sort of book - global in scope, egalitarian (the USA and the Dominican Republic receive the same coverage), large format, filled with gorgeous photos - that would fit comfortably on the coffee table of the most right-on, well-travelled people. The added information is thought-provoking, though superficial, and insufficient to make any travel plans much more substantial than "Hey, why don't we go to Tajikistan?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected Lonely Planet, 10 Jan 2013
Being a bit of a backpacker & generally a fan of Lonely planet I was happy to be given this book as a present. It has nice pictures but sometimes these don't have enough context - like the page and a half picture of two girls & a dog (Dominica!). The limited information given is presented in a consistent format which means sometimes the comments are weak. Being a`coffee table' book, the content is, without exception positive which I feel sometimes doesn't truly reflect a country. Personally I would prefer to have the usual LP unvarnished summery of a destination. I think LP are trying to move into National Geographics' realm, but, all in all, I nice book for the armchair traveller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book is HUGE!, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is really, really big. The idea of the book is good, but some of the photos are random and don't really show what the country is like. I had it delivered to work and it was so big, I couldn't be bothered to take it home, so it has just stayed in the staff room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine on a Winter's Day, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Michael Mooney "mrbadexample" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Maybe it's just the current big freeze, but this was a wonderful book to browse while thinking about Summer holidays. Heavy on pictures (excellent pictures) but with just enough text to want you to find out more, you'll find yourself browsing for far longer than you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffee Table Book!, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Ani (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I absolutely love Lonely Planet, so when I saw this book, I was thrilled.

The book arrived very quickly (2 days after I ordered it). I immediately opened it up and started purusing all the different countries.

The book is layed out well, providing nice photos, a quick summary, statistics, interesting facts, and highlights/things to do.

In order to really review the book, I made sure to read about destinations I have been to in order to see how they were represented. Overall, the book provided a good overview (as much as you could expect for 1-2 pages, including pictures). Zimbabwe was a great example - the country is in a rough political state so it would have been easy to not highlight much. Lonely Planet managed to balance the political state with the highlights of the country, and did a great job representing what the country really offers (without discounting the turmoil).

I love to travel, so I think the book is great to have. It is a great way to look through as you think about your next travel destination (which is how I will use it). It would also be good for someone who just likes to read and dream about traveling.

The book is large, hardback, and looks great on the coffee table. It would be fantastic as a Christmas gift for everyone interested in travel. I also work for a travel company, and we bought some of these to keep in the office reception. It is a nice book to puruse while waiting for someone, so it would be great in any office reception/waiting area.

Overall, I highly recommend the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!!, 28 Oct 2010
By 
F. Proctor "Wildfrank" (Plymouth. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a wonderful book! absolutely beautiful but incredibly heavy,all the photos are a treat to look at and the info is concise and often witty, a book to read a bit of every day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Around the world in a couple of hundred pages., 27 Oct 2010
By 
Stuart Burns (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not the sort of book for someone looking for in-depth knowledge of the relevant country. Rather it's a giant coffee table version of a cross between The Guardian's Pass Notes columns for their breezy humour and the Eyewitness pages. The other reviews on this page list the content so it seems pointless me doing that. What I will say is that it's not the sort of thing to have in front of you if you're someone who looks listlessly out of the window and wonders what else is happening in the world; taken in the wrong spirit it could be seen as a list of place which most of us will never visit. Eductational, yes. Depressing, yes also. Though it's probably also perfect for someone planning to be a contestant on Pointless; the Vatican City is its own country you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Travel book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased as a present, so cannot comment on the contents. There was some minor damage to the cover on delivery which would indicate that this occurred prior to dispatch but the recipient was not concerned over this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Travel Book, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a present for someone who loves to travel and it seemed to be well received. However, as it was "cellophane wrapped" I personally did not have a chance to examine the contents of the book. Therefore, am rating this item on outward appearance only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book)
26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews