Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Stunner from Lonely Planet
I absolutely love this book and cannot rate it high enough! I am an avid traveller and am always excited to get my hands on a new travel book. This is far by my favourite of any travel books I have read, what makes it even better is how the book has been presented. It has beautiful photographs of over 200 countries in the world. If you didn't want to visit anywhere before...
Published 20 months ago by mrsb2011

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was after, it's good but nothing amazing.
I bought this for my girlfriend for Christmas. We both love travelling and I thought it would be great to find out about the best places to go to and give me inspiration. However I got bored of it really quickly, I suppose when you can find out pretty much anything on the internet it makes this kind of book a bit obsolete. I kind of wish I didn't buy it now, it was a...
Published 11 months ago by P Grainger


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Introduction to the Countries of the World., 31 Oct. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
`The Travel Book' is a stunning coffee table book from Lonely Planet which showcases 229 countries with bright, inspiring images and various facts and figures of note. This isn't the kind of book you read from cover to cover, but rather one you dip into at odd moments and it's large size means it will look incredible laid out on a table top for guests to browse through.

Each country is given a two page spread which features an array of images (usually one large image and three - four smaller images), a paragraph introducing the country, info on the capital, population, land area and language, before looking at best times to visit, things to see and do, resources of things to explore to find out more about each country (things to read, listen, watch, eat and drink), typical things that epitomise the country in question and a random fact to interest you. It also includes a map of the country and surrounding nations.

The photography is incredible throughout and after flicking through the countries I have personally visited I found them to be fairly representative. This is a great way to inspire you to visit particular locations and I soon became engrossed with flicking through each page and soaking up the info on offer. The only problem with this format is that small countries get equal coverage to large countries and when a country is as vast and diverse as, say the United States or China, the imagery doesn't do true justice to how varied the country truly is. This is a minor niggle with the format though and one that is hard to counter in a book of this size and type.

All in all this book serves to whet your appetite to make you want to visit some of the stunning places around the world and it will introduce you to some of the lesser known countries as well. It is well laid out and informative and makes for a delightful coffee table book for your home or, alternatively, office environment.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Travel Book, 31 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you need to get inspiration to travel, or just want to enjoy a good browse, this is a real gem. First saw it in a doctors surgery and just had to have one. Don't wait...do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The very definition of a Coffee Table book.., 23 Nov. 2010
By 
Bill23 (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
...you could attach a leg at each corner and it'd make a nice one. Seriously, its nice for a browse / flick thru but thats about all. The tone is relentlessly upbeat - everywhere the natives are warm,friendly and generous, despite wars, hardships and repression. The only country we are actively cautioned against visiting is Iraq - North Korea, Somalia, Burma (sorry - Myanmar) are all just fine. The political correctness (or incorrectness in this case) even extends to listing the island of Ireland as a single country - something many natives of Northern Ireland may just have some issues with. I like the way each country, huge or tiny, get the same amount of space - 2 pages, with half a page of text, each. The text is necessarily sketchy and sometimes glib, but mostly interesting, being impressions and random references rather than facts and figures - no statistics here. The photos are, of course, of the highest quality and frequently stunning but as others have noted, very people-oriented. Personally, in a book of this type, I'd be looking for landscapes, street scenes, architechture and natural beauty - but the editors selection of craggy goatherds, cute schoolkids and dreadlocked fishermen gets a bit cliched and wearying for me. If you're more a people person this may be a positive for you. It's a beautiful book, it's fun, it's very positive and uplifting - buy it if thats what you fancy, but not if you need a travel guide or encyclopedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant investment, useful as inspiration for future travel destinations. It includes facts about EVERY country (what they eat, and how to understand the culture before a trip), and really beautiful pictures - this book is high quality and great to browse through, encouraging the travel bug within us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glossy coffee table book, 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a huge coffee table book which features every country in the world. Each country is given two pages with glossy photos and a few facts about each country (e.g. famous festivals, places to see, recommended books to read and movies to watch). The book looks gorgeous, but is a little light on facts. I have to admit I would have preferred a little more text instead of so many images. A page long essay on each country would have made this book perfect. Whilst I have enjoyed discovering more places in the world, I am not sure this book would inspire me to necessarily find out more about these countries as you don't actually find out much about them. I also found the choice of photos a bit frustrating as the photos didn't always show much of the country. If you are thinking of buying this book bear in mind that it is large and VERY heavy so you will need a large coffee table!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trip round the world from Lonely Planet, 13 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Aitken (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a splendid volume made for the sturdiest of coffee tables which gives a double page spread of photographs and information about every country in the world. The photographs are exceptionally well chosen and happily avoid most of the tried and tested tourist postcard shots,opting for some wonderful pictures of this world and its peoples. The easy lay out gives useful info on when to travel, what to see and do, as well as some more quirky information. I have enjoyed dipping in at random to enjoy the pics and to find out more about places like Papua and Kiribati as well as countries closer to home. Children will love pouring over the spectacular images, and the more intrepid adults might wish to expand their thirst for adventure by choosing a new port of call at random. This book is an absolute joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully lavish photo album, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
D. Clarke "Dragonthoughts" (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is certainly a coffee table book. In fact, it is large enough and heavy enough that just by adding legs you could use it as a coffee table.

There are several beautiful colour photographs for each of the countries covered, which includes all 192 countries recognised by the United Nations as well as some extra regions.

The factual content is accurate, but very sparing, however this is a book of photographs, not a travel guide. Each image has a one line description. There are reminders of what each country is well known for (generally, from a Western European viewpoint). There is also an unusual fact about each country.

This book is certainly worthwhile for browsing interesting pictures, from around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gigantic journey round the world, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
Jr Lorrimer "jlorrimer" (Oakworth) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I wasn't ready for the size of this beast when it was delivered. It's way too big for my book shelf, but would make a great coffee table read. However, with two creative little kids in the house I have to supervise them when they're wanting a look at this as it's such a luxurious volume I want to keep it in the pristine condition in which it arrived.
My daughter has already found it invaluable for her school projects. It' s sometimes easier to use this as a quick reference than wading through all the information Google throws up from the web. The photographs are stunning, but maybe take up space at the expense of the given information on each country which is a bit limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If only I had a coffee table!!, 19 July 2011
By 
bomble "bomble" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book) (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For reasons that have nothing to do with my review, I don't actually have a coffee table. But this book is making me wonder if I need one! It is exactly what that kind of publication is all about. Photos to surprise, inspire and simply remind you of the wonderfully varied world we live in... obscure locations to amuse our taste for trivia and a massive format that means it can't really be a book for any other domain but full public display on whatever surface holds the caffeine beverages off the floor.

A great gift for travellers and armchair travellers alike. But don't expect it to be too profound given the global scope they tried to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but attention to detail lacking., 8 May 2012
The book is interesting for an overview, but there were a few bits for certain countries which were just catagorically wrong.

For example, Qatar. This is a small country, but that's no excuse for the misinformation. It seems to think that Palm Tree Island is Qatar's answer to Dubai's "The Palm". No. Palm tree island was an island which used to have a mini resort, but has been long closed and the island is now disused. The Pearl, however, is similar to Dubai's Palm, being an artificially engineered structure which is definitely worth a visit. Anybody who's been to Qatar would know this - it's evident that the authors have not. As another example, the picture for Ukraine appeared actually to be a picture of Russia... a pretty poor mistake, really.

A book like this has so much potential and I would enjoy reading it but I'm often wary that I'm being misinformed. Maybe a newer edition will correct these issues...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Travel Book: A Journey Through Every Country in the World (Lonely Planet Travel Book)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews