Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar lonely planet guide
Excellent book loads of local information although I will only be able to put into use in October.
I look forward to using it.
Published 7 months ago by K. E. Wallis

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing layout and too short
This was a waste of money. I'm giving it 2 stars rather than 1 because it's an improvement on the previous edition (which was awful and full of errors) but this edition is laid out in a really confusing way and is so short that I found it really doesn't have enough information on any particular place.

A guidebook published by Bradt seems to be the only other...
Published on 4 Sep 2012 by alextosh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing layout and too short, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This was a waste of money. I'm giving it 2 stars rather than 1 because it's an improvement on the previous edition (which was awful and full of errors) but this edition is laid out in a really confusing way and is so short that I found it really doesn't have enough information on any particular place.

A guidebook published by Bradt seems to be the only other Madagascar guide published in English and it is streets ahead. Unlike the Lonely Planet one, the Bradt one is written by authors who've been visiting Madagascar for years and are clearly filled with passion for the island. It not only has many more hotel/restaurant listings but also has far more useful wildlife/cultural/historical background than the Lonely Planet, which I think is critical for putting an unusual country like Madagascar in context if you are coming to it for the first time. The two books are the same price, so I wouldn't recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor travel guide, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I used the Lonely Planet guide from 2008 to plan my trip then bought this 2012 edition to take with me. It is basically the same book..

I backpacked throughout the east then the west of Madagascar from Sept-Dec and after a little while I lost faith in it.

Phone numbers had often changed, which is expected, but not acceptable for a 2012 book using phone numbers from 2008.. Some had no phone numbers at all, but look in a Mada telephone directory and you will find them...

Many of the 'good value' 'top choice' places to stay were busy because they were well known. However if you avoid these and just look around, there are many more new, cheaper, nicer and often much more friendly places to stay.

There was poor detail in the book in areas that were very important. For example some locations were only described how to get there from one direction. The map of Tamatave does not include the taxi brouse station.. a key factor if you are walking and backpacking. Explanations on how to get to locations without renting or hiring a car were lacking.

Overall great book if you are on a guided tour and don't need to worry about logistics or detail. Extremely poor book if you are backpacking and budget travel.

Normally I have had good experiences with lonely planet, but this one has changed my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar lonely planet guide, 1 Feb 2014
By 
K. E. Wallis "kate" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent book loads of local information although I will only be able to put into use in October.
I look forward to using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday to Madagascar with friends, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
It seems to have everything I needed to know about my forthcoming holiday to Madagascar which I'm very much looking forward to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i needed, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
to the point, all local areas covered along with great tips, most helpful as is usual with the Lonely Planet series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Lonely Planet's normal standards, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Nothing much to say about the book: if you want a clear and reliable travel guide, get a LB book. They're always good! This is slightly off the beaten track and so the book is less likely to be stocked everywhere. But Amazon's instant delivery service deals with that too. Basically, I'm a happy bunny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. J. S. E. Greenhalgh (Lune Valley Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A really good guide which unfortunately has made me realise I am possibly too old to go there now but I am enjoying reading all about this amazing country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
good guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Recent edition of this lonely planet guide to Madagascar, will be invaluable to my son, who will be spending a month there next summer, on a World Challenge expedition!
Madagascar (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Madagascar (Travel Guide) by Paul Stiles (Paperback - 15 Jun 2012)
£11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews