Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazil
I went to Brazil in January 2012 and used this book to travel. Information was pretty accurate, concised and straight to the point, i've stayed in some recommended hotels, dined in some mentioned restaurants and done some activities. The prices have risen about 20% since it was published, but still i found the book very usefull.
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by WL

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but very out of date in areas
I think that when this was published it may have been more relevant, however, it is now nearly 3 years old and sadly this showed when we were in Brazil recently. We visited Rio, Manaus and Salvador. The Manaus section was the worst by far, of the 15 or so recommended eating places 11 were no longer in business, we planned a trip to the market and the theatre however the...
Published 16 months ago by Cazzabean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I just returned from a month-long travel in Brazil with this book. I was disappointed many times by the level of detail of the book and the recommendations made by the authors. While I understand that with the country that big there is a limit to the level of detail that can be covered in a guidebook, the book often includes entries about towns or locations that are full of generalizations (beautiful nature, etc) but contain very little practical info. I was also shocked on a few occasions when checking into recommended "pousadas", several times what was described by the book as a very tasteful and cozy place turned out to be a cheap and extremely spartan one with not a hint of taste or care. While I assume some things may have changed for worse since the book was written, a few of these places did not look like they were ever tasteful or cosy. Finally, the book is simply outdated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but very out of date in areas, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I think that when this was published it may have been more relevant, however, it is now nearly 3 years old and sadly this showed when we were in Brazil recently. We visited Rio, Manaus and Salvador. The Manaus section was the worst by far, of the 15 or so recommended eating places 11 were no longer in business, we planned a trip to the market and the theatre however the opering times were incorrect, we managed to get around this but were not very impressed with the lack of detail and at times misleading information. The Rio and Salvador sections were better, however, prices were about 30% out of date, 25% of the places were not as decribed or no longer in operation. This is not to say that there are no good recommendations, we found some good restaurants listed and were able to use the maps to get around, however, unlike other editions of lonely planet guides I have purchased it was not worth reading cover to cover to get all the good info, it simply was not there.. I think the main problem is that Brazil is far too large to be covered in 1 book, all entries were brief and very short without any real description, Brazil is bigger than Europe and yet the guidebook is about the same thickness as cover 2 if not fewer European Countries. The other thing I found really annoying is that when they recommend a place as a top pick, you go to the map to locate it, however, there is no number reference there, only a note saying refer to the entry that you have just viewed, basically you could have to walk up a street for 2 miles to find the exact location. Buy it as a brief reference, however, I would substitute with another guide as well that is newer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazil, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I went to Brazil in January 2012 and used this book to travel. Information was pretty accurate, concised and straight to the point, i've stayed in some recommended hotels, dined in some mentioned restaurants and done some activities. The prices have risen about 20% since it was published, but still i found the book very usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Guide, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Simone Mathaess "Mona" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent Travel Guide, very helpful and easy to consult. A must for any trip you want to plan. Superb destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Its very interesting. The pictures are AMAZING and it really covers everything you would want to know. Some of it is very 'technical' but you can easily chose, what to read (or whats of interest to you) and what to skip over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
very helpfull when traveling to brasil, good reviews and advice will definetly use same kind of books in future travels to other countries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book is really great to help you start planning a trip. The history is really interesting though the beginning sections on food and culture are a bit long. The book is well laid out by state and there are lots of maps. To get into the nitty gritty parts of planning further in detail state guides are needed but this is perfect for helping you decide where in Brazil you want to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit big, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a really good book. It covers most of Brazil and I got it for my trip to Brazil in April. I would definately recommended and will be using it again for my next trip. It's a big book, so not ideal for carrying it everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Brazil, 22 Mar 2013
By 
F van Rijn (Santiago, Chile) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A good introduction to Brazil, although it is - as it must be - very selective. This country is simply too big to describe in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Can't wait to visit Brazil and this is giving me some really good tips on places that I could visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Brazil (Travel Guide) by Smith (Paperback - 17 Dec 2010)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews