Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful
I am a fan of the Lonely Planet Guides and this one did not disappoint me. It not soley for the bagpacker, it's handy for anyone who travel, esp. if you do so independently. It would higly recommend it to anyone who needs a guidebook which covers it all, accommodation, travel, background/history/insight tips etc. It makes you prepared and helps move around.
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by anna_panna

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK but there is better out there
If you buy this then you will get a lot of information from it and you will survive. However, I used it for a month and decided to ditch it for "The Rough Guide" after borrowing it from a fellow backpacker and comparing it to my LP. The Rough Guide's writing was much better/wittier, tips were more helpful and the recommendations more accurate. Having used only LP guides...
Published on 18 Sep 2007 by P. MARSTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK but there is better out there, 18 Sep 2007
By 
P. MARSTON (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you buy this then you will get a lot of information from it and you will survive. However, I used it for a month and decided to ditch it for "The Rough Guide" after borrowing it from a fellow backpacker and comparing it to my LP. The Rough Guide's writing was much better/wittier, tips were more helpful and the recommendations more accurate. Having used only LP guides for years I have been converted to The Rough Guides for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'd go for the Rough Guide, 9 Nov 2008
By 
A. M. Long "Ali Long" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
having left our copy of the Rough Guide to Vietnam in a taxi in Saigon during the first week of our trip, we had no option but to purchase a copy of Lonely Planet. We were very disappointed, if you stuck to the Lonely planet, you'd only see a quarter mile radius of where you land, and miss out on so much that vietnam offers. It felt as if the author lands at the local backpacker haunt, then does door to door reviews of the closest hotels, bars and restaurants. The reviews also seem to act as a reason for a price hike as prices don't reflect what the lonely planet suggests. Yes, there's inflation, but it was published only last year and the prices really did seem way off, even though we were traveling during the low season.

You'd be able to get by with the lonely planet, and if you're not an adventurous traveller and are happy to follow the crowd, then this would be a fine purchase for you, but the Rough guide seemed to provide so much more detail. The one positive in favour of the Lonely Planet over the Rough Guide, is the language section which provides Vietnamese phonetically which makes getting your tongue round the tonal language much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Emperor's New Clothes, 3 Oct 2007
By 
J. Allen (Saigon, Viet Nam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What is it about Lonely Planet? Like a rash, their guides are everywhere - sometimes in the most unwelcome of places. Nicely packaged and handy they may be, but they are often woefully inaccurate and incomplete. This is no exception. Cutting and pasting a few paragraphs about history and culture, this really skims the surface of a fascinating country, and leaves many fascinating places out. If you're a twentysomething Australian back-packer, then this book will probably make you very happy; if you're more discerning, and looking to explore the country's lesser known areas and learn more about its culture (and if you're interested in accuracy), then I would go for the infinitely better Rough Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 19 Aug 2005
I am a fan of the Lonely Planet Guides and this one did not disappoint me. It not soley for the bagpacker, it's handy for anyone who travel, esp. if you do so independently. It would higly recommend it to anyone who needs a guidebook which covers it all, accommodation, travel, background/history/insight tips etc. It makes you prepared and helps move around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't do to Vietnam without this guide!, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I purchased this way back in 2010 before my travels. if you have never been to Vietnam this is a great guide to buy to plan your trip, find places to stay and learn about the culture and safety before you go.
It was my bible for 2.5 weeks and I would have been lost without it. Was quite heavy to carry around everywhere, I guess if you have a kindle get it on that instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but could be better, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I chose this guide book because it was the most up to date at the time and covered the three places in detail that we were intending to visit during our trip to Vietnam ( Hanoi, Hoi An and HCMC). In terms of the amount and depth of information that the book provided, it did live up to my expectations. In particular we used a few of the restaurant recommendations and found them to be good choices. However, the downside of the book is it's confusing layout. Each chapter has more than one map and finding places often involves flicking between several pages as you try to read the info and then locate the place you are looking for, the maps are also rather small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the bibles they used to be, 23 July 2011
This review is from: Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Full of inaccuracies. When you are hot sweating and hungry trudging up and down trying to find a diner restaurant cafe that is half a mile away on the other side of the street or does not exist for the third time in 2 weeks, it makes you think the maps and research could be better.
If a town down the delta is a trou de merde they should say that.
The remaining 3 stars are because it is also full of good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of info, 12 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This is about the 5th Lonely Planet book I have bought and as always it delivers.
All the information you need about Vietnam, useful weblinks etc.
If you are going there - this will help, it has for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 weeks in Vietnam, 29 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. V. R. Smith (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book was like a bible, very up to date and informative, although don't take everything as seriously as it suggests or you wouldn't leave your hotel - there are a few shock tatics but other than that it had 90% of the information that was required of it and proved the best purchase of the holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative (ish), 12 April 2007
By 
M. Brown "Macko54" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well informed and comprehensive. It touches on the many many things that you can do in Vietnam's most visited cities and towns. It's only a guide and usefull though it is it probably could do with being a little more indepth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Vietnam (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Nick Ray (Paperback - 1 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews