Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
12
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2014
A great little book, the only drawback being the various coloured scripts in which the different Indian vocabularies are written. These were very difficult to read. Why not plain black on white, perhaps in a different font if thought necessary? When you are reading your native language, there is an element of 'predictive' reading similar to predictive text on a cell phone, but this does not exist in an unfamiliar language. Publishers, please take note ! Decoration is secondary when one is studying a language.

Seller and delivery were as usual top standard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
Bought two of these books for myself and my friends travel to India but did not end up taking it with us because it was too thick and heavy to carry around in our rucksacks and too many different dialects for the places we visited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
If you are touring India, this is a must. However, it's quite thick for a phrasebook, as it covers so many dialects, which makes it somewhat large for carrying around in ones pocket or bumbag. Therefore, if your just on a 2 week package holiday, get something smaller!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2011
Quite a thick little book as it contains a wide range of languages spoken in India, but each colour-coded section covers the basics in everyday speech/phrases useful for people travelling all over India.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
This could be a great little resource but unfortunately the transcriptions are inaccurate throughout - e.g. dental stops are consistently represented as retroflex (and vice versa), which is extremely unhelpful. I hope this will be corrected in the next edition (due out in October 2013, according to the Lonely Planet website).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
A handy little book, yet containing quite a lot of useful phrases and vocabulary in 15 Indian languages. A valuable thing are also the various local alphabets. There is however one flaw: for some reason the latin transcription often mixes up the retroflex and dental consonants. Sometimes it's just the opposite, in some sections simply inconsistent, in some quite OK. On the whole a good choice for those planning a trip to India or simply interested in Indian culture or linguistics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
an excellent little book...you could need any of these languages but HINDI is the most common. excellent fast service...thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
brand new and has never been read real bargain and will enjoy using on my travels, swift dispatch use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
Bought for a friend who travels to India a lot on business & she says it's useful & helped a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Not as easy to follow as I had hoped. Trust it will be useful on my upcoming trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)