Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotton Children Remembered
I found this book very moving to read all the more so because it was what really happened to those children. It was gripping from the very beginning and I found it hard to put down. It is hard to imagine what these poor children went through and the book made it easier to understand. The quotes from the people who were affected by the Child Migration Scheme made it all...
Published on 9 July 2009 by Jo Bo

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Personal Experience
I haven't read this book but my father was a child migrant sent to a Fairbridge Farm School in 1929. He was not treated unkindly and his many school reports show they were concerned about his education and progress. They were grouped in houses, and as you'd expect the house mother was like a matron and there was no love of course, but neither was there cruelty or abuse...
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by Shopper in Clover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotton Children Remembered, 9 July 2009
By 
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
I found this book very moving to read all the more so because it was what really happened to those children. It was gripping from the very beginning and I found it hard to put down. It is hard to imagine what these poor children went through and the book made it easier to understand. The quotes from the people who were affected by the Child Migration Scheme made it all the more poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An education for the British, 4 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
I am nearly halfway through this book. It has become a kind of shrine to me. It should, it 'must' be read by every Briton wherever they are, wherever they live because they would otherwise never know what Britain did (and didn't) do for the welfare of it's poorest children. The thousands they just exported overseas. 'Poor' doesn't mean 'bad'. After discovering about our 'forgotten children' I wanted to know more. Information has been suppressed in the UK for obvious reasons. Even Google's search engine cannot come up with much so it is very important to find and to have David Hill's book. Amazon UK is out of stock on it - sure - can't have too many copies around in the UK. It is instantly available from Amazon Germany. When you get to read it consider what else your school, your colleges and universities and especially your government never told you. Then perhaps read Anna Whitelock's "Mary Tudor" to learn things we were never told about our 'Bloody Mary'. Such books helps one to see through the lies and the two-faced'ness. At page 74 of Hill's book a reference is made to a Cottage Mother who is German and, along with her German husband, are referred to as being "more cultured" than the rest and who didn't take to hitting the children. Page 74 explains some of the reason why I am there.

Happy reading... it won't be!... exciting? You'll have to look elsewhere... just read it for the truth!!!
(I suggest Ms Overton go back to her back scratcher)

I have also read Antony Beevor's "Stalingrad", Leon Uris's "Trinity" (re-read), Colum McCann's "Zoli" and Kathryn Stockett's "The Help". My advice to Britons is not to waste their time on glossy tripe for they have a lot of false education to undo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 14 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
An amazing book, the only sad part is, is that I wish I could say it was a ficticious novel, however it is far from that at all.
It never ceases to amaze me how people in authority & so called do gooders feel it necessary to put down, belittle and abuse those who are less fortunate than themselves. What David went through along with thousands of others will astound you. It is a rivetting read.
At school, for 2 years, I studied British History from 1850- I can tell you now, this was certainly A BIG PART of British history that was left out, never a mention. I hope now with the likes of David's book and along with Empty Cradles by Margaret Humphreys, now a film "Oranges and Sunshine", more people will be enlightened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten Childern: Fairbridge Farm School & Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
M. Kersey "Bill Kersey" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
I havn't finished reading this book yet, but it is an eye opener to the disgraceful way that children have been treated in the past by people who should know better. I am British through and through and I can't believe that British people could tell children that their parents have died when, in fact, they havn't. I know the children have had an apology now but there is nothing to justify the destruction of families. This book is written by someone who lived through this, although he wasn't told that his mother had died. He went to Australia first and then his mother was supposed to follow. That was the plan. I havn't got as far yet as finding out if she did follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifying truth., 7 April 2013
By 
Mr. RC SPARLING "Roland" (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My Dad is one of them....
88 now and still affected.
I now understand him more than I did before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So sad, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
Once I'd started it I couldn't put the book down. So many lives ruined, children abused physically, mentally and sexually. Children believing they were orphans, some separated from their siblings. Parents believing they were doing their best for their children in sending them to Australia. Children and parents trying to find each other years later but for some it was too late. Just compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia David Hill, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
Very interesting read.

Really good for people researching their Family History who were taken over to OZ as Fairbridge children,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
No problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Personal Experience, 13 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
I haven't read this book but my father was a child migrant sent to a Fairbridge Farm School in 1929. He was not treated unkindly and his many school reports show they were concerned about his education and progress. They were grouped in houses, and as you'd expect the house mother was like a matron and there was no love of course, but neither was there cruelty or abuse. All in all, it sounds very similar to the treatment in English public schools at the time. Character-building they called it and the wealthy would have paid a lot for this kind of upbringing for their offspring. I guess in a different time, a different place and with different staff maybe not every child had it as good as my father, but it wasn't all bad and on the whole they were sent there with good intention in the hope of a better life than they might expect in poverty in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 6 July 2011
By 
Dolly (Bideford, Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Forgotten Children: Fairbridge Farm School and Its Betrayal of Britain's Child Migrants to Australia (Paperback)
Shame, the title of this book was more exciting than the read. Gave up half way through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews