Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's party time
Phryne Fisher has been invited to the Last best Party of 1928 which involves staying for a few days at a country house. Her lover Lin Chung does not want her to go but when someone starts sending her threats to try and stop her attending the party she makes up her mind to go anyway - even though she had been in two minds about it. Gerald, one of her hosts, is being...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read
Brought this as a present, person said it's a nice read, not one of the best books she had ever read but not one of the worst either. It was as always delivered on time in easy to open packaging.
Published 2 months ago by Paul Walsh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's party time, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne Fisher has been invited to the Last best Party of 1928 which involves staying for a few days at a country house. Her lover Lin Chung does not want her to go but when someone starts sending her threats to try and stop her attending the party she makes up her mind to go anyway - even though she had been in two minds about it. Gerald, one of her hosts, is being threatened and Phryne is asked to try and find out who is behind the threats.

I thought this was a really good mystery story with plenty of suspects and people disappearing here there and everywhere. There are lots of undercurrents and many people aren't quite what they appear to be. There are plenty of incidents which will keep most readers on the edge of their seats and some marvellously flamboyant characters to enjoy.

If you want something different in the way of crime novels then this well written series, set in Australia in the nineteen twenties could be what you've been looking for. It started with Cocaine Blues (Phryne Fisher Mysteries) but the books can be read in any order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of them all, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Dark (Paperback)
This story is a veritable tour de force. It is the best I have read yet. Always there is something new in the stories of this series, and this one is no exception. Recommended most warmly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing outing for Phryne, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne's off to a house party with a difference - the Last Best Party of 1928 is being held by twins known for their extravagant entertainments, lavish spending and excesses of all kinds. She knew them in Paris, but that's not why she's going - she's had a warning not to attend. Once there she's involved in a whirl of cocktails, partying and kidnapping.

This is perhaps one of my favourites of Phryne's adventures I've recently read with all the trademark elements: a mystery to solve, scandalous doings, some men for Phryne and an appearance for Lin Cheung too. There's less of Phryne's household than in some of the books, but Dot and Mr Butler crop up enough to keep you happy - and Dot really wouldn't have approved of the activities at the house party...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Janet Stuckey "oneillfan" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book a lot, it kept me guessing right to the end. Who dunnit well you have to wait a long time to find out unless you are one of those people who can guess straightaway. I didn't even try to guess I just enjoyed reading the story as I always do with a Phryne Fisher story. I can't tell how many books I have read in this series but I enjoy them all and I am running out of things to say about them, so you will have to forgive me if I don't review them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phryne Fisher Mysteries, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Dark (Paperback)
I first watched these mysteries on TV and was surprised to discover the books when browsing on Amazon. i bought a couple to see if they were any good and i'm happy to say that they're really good. The stories grab you from the first page and pull you in - i stay up far too late reading because i just have to know what's going to happen next.

Phryne Fisher is an amazing character and so is her companion Dot who seems a shy and quiet girl but has an unexpected determination when pushed. I love Dot's character, she's often scared but goes right ahead anyway and will do anything for Phryne.

As for Phryne, i wish i knew her for real, she's incredible - stylish, beautiful, clever, witty, - and a great detective too. The characters really make these stories work - makes me wish that i'd lived in Australia in the 20s and 30s when the stories are set, what a great adventure it must have been all cleverly brought to life by Kerry Greenwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Dark (Paperback)
Brought this as a present, person said it's a nice read, not one of the best books she had ever read but not one of the worst either. It was as always delivered on time in easy to open packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Miss Fisher at her best., 22 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Hood (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder In The Dark (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Very light and easy to read.
Also, at present the TV series is showing in New Zealand so can visualize the people.
Phryne Fisher visits friends to have days of partying. Needless to say there is a murder!
It is interesting to read the hedonous antics of the rich in the 1920'2 & 30's.
A fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful mystery, as always, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Murder In The Dark (Paperback)
Murder in the Dark is the sixteenth book in the popular Phryne Fisher series by Australian author Kerry Greenwood. It is the end of the year, and Phryne, somewhat reluctantly, accepts an invitation to attend the Last Best Party of 1928, spurred on to do so when several anonymous communications warn her against it. Held at Werribee in the Chirnside Manor, this six-day party is being thrown by the beautiful and charismatic Gerald Templar and his equally beautiful twin sister, Isabella, lately arrived from London via Paris. The Templars have brought with them their acolytes, including, among others, the Wildean Sylvanus Leigh and the Sapphic girls from Montparnasse. Amid the two hundred guests are the polo-playing Grammar Boys and Wonnangatta Tigers, a jazz trio, Arabian, Japanese and medieval musicians, the delectable Nicholas Booth (whom Phryne deems fit to dally with in Lin Chung's absence), Madge, the Goat lady and her mint-addicted goat, a scowling orphan named Tarquin and Blues singer Nerine. The Last Best Party includes themed dinners, hamper lunches, a polo match, a deer hunt, trap shooting, poetry recitals, parlour games, a Bal Masqué, a jazz concert, plenty of drinking, eating and hashish, and certain other decadent activities. Upon arrival, Phryne finds her invitation has more than just a social aspect, as Gerald Templar has been receiving death threats and pleads for her assistance. Soon enough, young Tarquin goes missing, riddles begin appearing and Phryne finds she is trying to trap a contract killer. Stabbing, mass poisoning, kidnapping, ground glass in cold cream, a ransom note, and a coral snake in a gift box all feature. Motives of revenge, jealousy, hatred and greed propel several different offenders. As well as quotes from classic poems and plays, and recipes for delicious cocktails, the reader tastes Christmas in the Fisher household and chez Williams, Butler, Yates and Johnson. Phryne goes undercover as a housemaid, wins a bet using a bunch of mint, remembers a few things her detested father was right about, attempts some rhyme and asks the all-important question: just how much cream can one cat hold? Delightful mystery, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous!, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Phryne as always is sassy, clever, and the epitome of a 20's good-time girl. Recommended reading if you're after a sexy, talented female detective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another in this enjoyable series, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maintains the same good quality as others in this series and provides a pleasant read when you don't want to work too hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder In The Dark
Murder In The Dark by Kerry Greenwood (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 28.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews