Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide for travellers, probably not best for culture
I used this guide while travelling round Morocco in April 2003, and it was indispensible. As usual with LP guides, their strength lies in detailing the essentials - where to go, how to get there, where to find a bed for the night etc. In these areas it's excellent, and saved me quite a few times from paying too much or seeing too little. It's *not* so strong on the...
Published on 16 Sep 2003 by Mark

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I will give a go Rough guide next time
I would be disappointed if I paid full price for this book. Lonely Planet is usually ok, but lack of 'real' info about the place itself which is very important to me. This book focuses too much on drinking, eating, sleeping etc. I needed to book an accomodation before traveling, this one lists a very few budget options, a lot of mid range or expensive. Found plenty budget...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide for travellers, probably not best for culture, 16 Sep 2003
By 
Mark (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
I used this guide while travelling round Morocco in April 2003, and it was indispensible. As usual with LP guides, their strength lies in detailing the essentials - where to go, how to get there, where to find a bed for the night etc. In these areas it's excellent, and saved me quite a few times from paying too much or seeing too little. It's *not* so strong on the history and cultural details of places (something i personally think rough guides are much better at), so if you're not moving around much and want detailed histories of places, this probably isn't for you. If however you need to move around and 'live' in the country for more than a few days, you won't be disappointed. I met several people in Morocco who were using the RG instead, and found the maps and other essentials to be far inferior to my LP, which is now battered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Derisions of grandeur, 9 Jun 2005
The LP guide has proven to be more thoroughly insightful than the Rough Guide although as Mark from Manchester states provides less information on the historical nd anthropoligical details. One major criticism of this guide however is that it can be extremely well covered with respect to accommodation in one two (Essouira) and then have barely enough on another; also the price guide offered by the guide actually implies indirecely that the accommodation will be in this price range where in fact the cheaper accomodation is much cheaper than that advertised. Some of the writing can be so close to stereotypical or cliched expression e.g. "Just the name Morocco evokes..." can be at best humerous and at worst off putting and misleading. I do prefer the previous edition to this one although it is on the whole acceptable more so for all the practicalities like accommodation but the maps are not so practical as you would expect from LP; it is advisable to purcahse seperate maps and for those who want to learn more about the country to check their 'further reading' section and read up on current travel writing to get a 'proper' feel for the country in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I will give a go Rough guide next time, 18 Jan 2010
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I would be disappointed if I paid full price for this book. Lonely Planet is usually ok, but lack of 'real' info about the place itself which is very important to me. This book focuses too much on drinking, eating, sleeping etc. I needed to book an accomodation before traveling, this one lists a very few budget options, a lot of mid range or expensive. Found plenty budget options on Expedia instead. So once your sleeping is sorted what you do before you enter the country, you carry too many useless pages in your book.
It gives you ok idea about the places, but once you are there it is just not enough.

I would appreciate more history and general information to plan my days better.

My tips:
Marrakech: if you are on budget and want to sleep in traditional accomodation, stay in medina (old part of the city)
pros: cheap, in the centre, close to Jamaa el-Fna and markets
cons: basic, very difficult to find - you can ask local who will be happy to show you for expected fee (I paid 30 Dirhams - don't be scrooge as they are helpful and don't earn much there), it has real morrocan feel to it.

Atlas Mountains:
it is worth visiting it as you can see berber villages and the mountains as well. Locals offer beautiful hand made souvenirs (cheap).

There isn't one single day trip listed in the book to see the mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful!, 6 Oct 2009
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book before travelling from Tangier to Marrakech along the coast and found the book really helpful.

The book gave my friend and I loads of useful information about the culture and what to expect when you arrive in Morocco.

We also used the maps in it a lot and used it for finding accommodation and for looking at places to visit or finding nice places to eat.

Without the book we would have been lost, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best for trekking, 23 Nov 2003
By 
Despite the fact that LP recommend the Richard Knight book - Marrakesh and Trekking in the High Atlas, their own book has easier to read, trustworthy and useful info on trekking in a small section that has more in its 30 pages than the entire book by Knight.
Get the LP book instead, it even has a more useful map than you can buy in Morocco!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morocco (Lonely Planet Guide), 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
All one needs to know before setting off to Morocco on holiday. It covers every area of the country, for all interests with detail that one needs to plan ahead to participate or do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOT ON!, 6 Sep 2010
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
At first I thought this book was a little black and white... (Literally... Not enough pictures) with only around ten pages of pictures of highlights at the front, but soon realised that the text was truely spot on, warning you of all the pitfalls tourists usually fall for, what the carpet salesman will TELL you to get you to overpay for carpets and also keeping you in the loop of all the things you should not leave the country with out doing... Truely feel like I saw a great deal of Morocco in two weeks thanks to this book! Went with 20 members of my family, who all ended up dumping their various wanna be guides and used mine. Would definately recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and concise, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This guide to Morocco is excellent - very clear, concise and full of relevant information for any traveller. Only slight question is whether the budget accommodation is really 'budget' - found it quite on the expensive side...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This is a really interesting and comprehensive guide to Morocco. It covers all the major towns and sights, with mostly up to date details. I spent 7 weeks in Casablanca and found it indispensible for discovering what sights, shops and cafes/restaurants were around. I also used it for accommodation and info. on Marrakesh, Rabat, Fez and El-Jadida. The only problems were that the maps are OK but not 100% accurate, though they are better than google maps, and maps are generally quite hard to get hold of, even in Morocco. Also, the codes need updating before the telephone numbers. I would definitely use this book if travelling to Morocco again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide., 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
As has always been my experience of LP guides, this was a great foundation for exploring Morocco. Helped lead me around a number of fantastic sites/restaurants/accommodation across the country in the three weeks I was there. Only wish more of the mosques were non-Muslim accessible as it meant some towns were fairly lacking points of interest I could visit. Altogether still a good trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Morocco (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by et al. (Paperback - 22 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews