Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!
This book was the one thing we couldn't live without when we backpacking through south america. Its provided innvauable advice on hostels, dangers, money, visas, maps, tourist sites, transport ect ect. Everything really!

If you are going backpacking in south america and enjoy reading, then buy this book take it with you, when your on the plane/bus/taxi read the...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Deeps2365

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
Have been travelling using Lonely Planet guides for 15 years and have always seen them as the best of the guide books. Sad to say that both South America on a Shoestring and Central America on a Shoestring were both equally terrible. Main points that frustrated - i) out of date reviews - places marked as good, were now not etc. Info about sites no longer accurate due to...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Adrian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 15 May 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Have been travelling using Lonely Planet guides for 15 years and have always seen them as the best of the guide books. Sad to say that both South America on a Shoestring and Central America on a Shoestring were both equally terrible. Main points that frustrated - i) out of date reviews - places marked as good, were now not etc. Info about sites no longer accurate due to the huge time lag between the last visit when you read it, prices not in line etc, ii) the fact that everyone has one so the same average places are overcrowded and they generally overcharge iii) maps that are not accurate (e.g. roads shown over a river that did not exist, wrong placing of accommodation on maps etc), iv) lazy editing for the new addition so that sections of the text contradict the new overviews. The main use I can see for these books is the history sections and 90% of the time the maps also. Better to use other sources of info for where to stay, visit and eat (e.g. other travellers, hostel info boards, Hostelworld, Tripadvisor etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Facts on a shoestring!, 19 July 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Like reviewers here when I travelled to South America 10+ yrs ago I held off buying until their newest edition came out. I lost count of the number of fellow travellers I bumped into that year who, like me, where exasperated at LP's out-of-date/inaccurate information. Maps printed upside down, hostels that had been closed for a couple of years (prior to publication) etc etc. I took the time to complain to LP & it didn't get me anywhere. Seems like times haven't changed either. Lonely Planet's reputation was earnt from cornering the market in the older backpacker trails across Asia etc and fact is they're just not as up on Latin America. So if you want a reliable guide, whilst LP is full of some great stuff, you'd be better off with Footprints - after all their South American guide was the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good as an overview, 16 July 2012
By 
Ms. L. C. Rowe (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great book to use as an overview, with information on all South American countries but unfortunately I felt I needed a lot more information/maps than was provided the majority of the time. Unfortunately many of the price guides didn't seem correct either, perhaps using very outdated research, it doesn't appear to acknowledge that shops/restaurants in this area of the world are often short-lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This book was the one thing we couldn't live without when we backpacking through south america. Its provided innvauable advice on hostels, dangers, money, visas, maps, tourist sites, transport ect ect. Everything really!

If you are going backpacking in south america and enjoy reading, then buy this book take it with you, when your on the plane/bus/taxi read the 5-6 pages about a town/city before you get there. It teaches you everything you need to know.

You will not regret buying this book, we sold our copy in Brazil a few days before flying home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good for a rough overview., 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't normally like to use the lonely planet because I have found that you can generally get around by word of mouth. However, it has indeed proved a useful for giving me ideas of certain routes and info on each place I go. The best part about this guide book is the little bits of history that it provides. In terms of the accommodation that is mentioned I cannot comment, because I haven't actually used this guide for such purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, but some parts outdated, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A classic, and a must to have in you backpack for trips to South America. Big plus is the details it provides about all different parts of the country and in this sense it is very much complete. However some chapters are quite outdated when it comes to information on prices, travel times, etc. (Especially the chapter on Bolivia). The publisher should update it soon! However it remains the best South America Travel Guide on the market , so you will have to get it. I discourage from getting another brand as most of them are unorganized and incomplete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Limited Information, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Bought this book a number of years back and have still not been to South America. For the most part this is due to the fact that it says nothing at all about how to get there from the UK, just a large map in the front page showing you where it is in relation to our solitary, little isle.

It's also very vague on the the full geography of each country. Just like everyone else I know the area of Paraguay is 406,752 km², but what proportion of that is mountainous?! How high is the water-table? Will I be able to find food if I stray into these uncharted regions? It doesn't even touch upon the geology of ANY of the countries that are open to foreign tourists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars as an electronic book. it could have updated prices, 23 Sep 2011
i thought that having an electronic format would allow the authors to update informations. prices in argentina have doubled in a year. many times we had ppl at the reception saying "sorry but your guide is out of date. is it the lonely planet?" the book is useful though and i like it. but better dble check prices on phone before . writing from a kindle in posadas argentina. btw, residencial misiones is now charging ar$ 120 for a double (not 60 as book says)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Guide, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Simone Mathaess "Mona" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent Travel Guide, very helpful and easy to consult. A have must for any trip you want to plan. Superb destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I have used this like a bible, all around south america. I travelled with it in late 2011-2012, and the only place I was really in for a surprise was Argentina. The prices quoted in here are very far out of sync with reality... I believe due to rapid inflation. Chile was also more expensive than anticipated. That aside, the book was pretty much spot-on for accuracy regarding locations, advice and suggestions for things to see and do. There is much more out there than what's contained in these pages; it's just the bare essentials to get you around each country. However, also not on the maps or even mentioned in here, the large and somewhat perilous favelas located a stone's throw from my room in Asuncion, Paraguay. I was all ready to go for a walk in the city square, and was greeted by a local lady running towards me, exclaiming 'no no no no don't go in there!' like I was in fact an idiot. Which in local terms I probably was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet South America on a shoestring (Travel Guide)
Used & New from: £10.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews