Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Short Trips
We've used many encounter guides and find them perfect for short weekend trips. The larger books mean you spend more time reading than doing. If you're after something which tells you the key things and provides some useful and interesting information, this is the book for you. The only criticism is that the Lonely Planet maps can be a bit disappointing, BUT if you've...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Rob Conyer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor and not up to date, with awful maps
Have been buying Lonely Planet guides for years, and we all know that the quality of the maps is far from decent, especially in this kind of weekend away mini travel guide. But in this case I must say that on top of the quality of the map, the information was inaccurate. Come on LP, spend a bit more time and efforts on decent maps! Also, I am not quite sure what "food in...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by Alberto


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Short Trips, 2 July 2010
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
We've used many encounter guides and find them perfect for short weekend trips. The larger books mean you spend more time reading than doing. If you're after something which tells you the key things and provides some useful and interesting information, this is the book for you. The only criticism is that the Lonely Planet maps can be a bit disappointing, BUT if you've got a free map from your hotel or tourist office, you'll be sorted. Also, the book lists some brilliant bars. Even if you're not into drinking, some of these places are worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor and not up to date, with awful maps, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
Have been buying Lonely Planet guides for years, and we all know that the quality of the maps is far from decent, especially in this kind of weekend away mini travel guide. But in this case I must say that on top of the quality of the map, the information was inaccurate. Come on LP, spend a bit more time and efforts on decent maps! Also, I am not quite sure what "food in a budget" is anymore! Went to a few of the recommended places listed as such, and the bill came to 20 euros per person in most of them, without starter. ALthough not expensive, I would not list it as budget at all! Also, we had an awful experience (food, staff, price) at some of the most recommended portuguese restaurants (Cervejaria Trindade), so ignore all the notes on that place and save your money. Also, by reading the book you may think that Lisbon is quite dodgy in some areas, which we entirely disagree with...probably just as any other major european city you gotta be cautious in the usual situations (nightime etc). OPening times for some places were also inaccurate.

Overall, you would be better off not buying this kind of guide, doing some research online in forums etc and acquiring a map once in Lisbon. Frommer's guide was similar, although their maps are always better than LP's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide and Map, 1 May 2010
By 
Cheshire Cat (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
A well written and useful guide. It has answered most of my questions and it offers good advice on making the most of a visit to a city I have not been to before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If I hear retro-wrapping once more, I am going to scream!, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
The author of this book seems to be obsessed with sardine can wrappers, as they appear on at least five places in the book. And there is a lot of "retro-wrapping", whatever that may be. Yes, if you are under 25 years old, obsessed with retro and vintage shops, and have never seen an old-school sardine can, this book might be new and exciting, and actually tell you something new, but other than that - it's too small, not detailed on the sights, the maps are piss-poor and there's too heavy an emphasis on shopping and eating, with at least half of the listings comepletely out of date.

We took this to Lisbon along with my 2007 "Time Out" which I bought on ebay for pennies, and the Time Out proved far superior, although some restaurants in tehre appeared to have closed.

The Encounter has no accommodation in it, relying on you to book one online before you arrive. The Arrival Information is totally wrong. It appears that the Airport Bus ticket at 3.90 EURO is the best option on Public Transport, allowing you unlimited free trips for 24 hours. Likewise, the Prepaid Cards don;t get accepted on the Airport Bus, so if your trip is a short one, just buy subsequent airport bus tickets (provided you don't use the Metro). A local at the bus stop told us this - no word int eh guide. This is the kind of thing I used to buy Lonely Planet Guides for, but this one is poor on everyhting - barely two lines for the city's biggest sights, outdated information, lots of trendy talk.

Perfectly useless and insubstantial. I would not waste my money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing LP Guide, 7 Nov 2011
By 
J. Buggle (Dublin , Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
What an incredibly disappointing guide! It is so irritatingly written - gratingly "hip" and "cool" throughout. I bought the guide expecting the usual Lonely Planet high standard of facts which this did not deliver. As another reviewer has said, the maps are very poor. Rather than give an unbiased overview, there are many advertisements throughout. The Time Out guide is far superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much information on it, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
This book hasn't got much information on it apart from some places for drinks and dine outs.
The map is not good. It comes in good size but it doesn't cover as big as many parts. I would never associate this with a proper lonely planet book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful guide, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
I took this book with me to Lisbon as a guide I could easily carry around with me and it was exactly that. It had all the info I needed on a daily basis and I did all the suggested walks around the various neighbourhoods which enabled me to take in the best sites. It doesn't have a lot of info about Sintra but I just printed off a guide from the internet to fill that gap! I would definately recommend this guide for a short city break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LIsboa visit, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
Have preferred Lonely Planet to Rough Guide for holiday trip use over last few years - but this one did not meet the standard. It was not as easy to use as the Rough Guide volume on Lisbon, and although supposedly more up to date, I relied on the Rough Guide for more reliable descriptions of attractions and how to get around - Visit in June 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
I found this an excellent book. It differed from the format that I'm used to in the Lonely Planet. We did 3 of the city walks that were well worth doing. One word of warning - I'd check out the current prices on restaurants like Eleven before making a booking as we had a bit of a shock. The book was well worth having and the size is brilliant as it even fits in a smallish handbag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful pocket guide, 1 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) (Paperback)
Very good information crammed in such small book. As usual with such guides prices are not quite up-to-date. Lisboa Card, recommended by all guides, is NOT good value for pensioners- much better to buy the very much cheaper one day Travel Pass from metro stations, and the get concessionary entry to museum/sights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

Lisbon: The Ultimate Pocket Guide & Map (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides)
Used & New from: 0.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews