Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Korea
To explore Korea with this book is wonderful. It gives you more than the touristic places, and pushes you to see more of the country. Like every Lonely Planet Book it is a book you will be consulting when you are traveling around.
Published 17 months ago by Vera Dewit

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Pesimistic
The introduction to Seoul is incredibly pesimistic and I don't think it really captures Korea at all. Plus there are very few pictures to inspire you to visit the many beautiful sights of Korea.

Best advice is to find a local and get them to either show you round or at least suggest the many places (especially in the Southwest) that you should visit.
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by Dr Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Pesimistic, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The introduction to Seoul is incredibly pesimistic and I don't think it really captures Korea at all. Plus there are very few pictures to inspire you to visit the many beautiful sights of Korea.

Best advice is to find a local and get them to either show you round or at least suggest the many places (especially in the Southwest) that you should visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull and uninspiring, 15 Sep 2005
While covering the major sights that most tourists see, and having decent maps, far too much of this book is involved in endless listing of accomodation and restaurant options.Most sights are only covered in the most perfunctory way and very little attempt is made to convey the character of this exciting vibrant country. If you want a more detail and interesting read aimed at cheaper travel and seeing unusual sights then Moon Handbooks is a much better option.
Although usable this lacklustre book is typicall of the increasingly monotonous lonely planet brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Korea, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
To explore Korea with this book is wonderful. It gives you more than the touristic places, and pushes you to see more of the country. Like every Lonely Planet Book it is a book you will be consulting when you are traveling around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful guide, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This book was useful when planning my trip to Korea. Some info was a little dated but there is a new issue due. For planning and on road help it was perfect for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The most useful guidebook I came across, 4 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a number of e-books on a recent 10-day trip to Seoul. Only this one and the Frommer's guide were of any significant use at all.

I generally avoid Lonely Planet because I hate their writing style and find their maps utterly useless but this one was an exception to the genre and was well written, helpful and informative. The maps on the Kindle version are of course far too small to read and bundled together page after page meaning lots of useless flicking around, so instead pick up a free printed map from any of the many tourist information places around Seaoul and use that.

The information about the top sights and the fact that they'd included the Korean script names of everywhere was useful. As always, LP doesn't go into too much depth in its explanations but it's enough to get the basics and understand what you're looking at.

Overall it gave good information and was reasonably updated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet: good as always!, 18 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Lonely Planet, as always, does not disappoint.
The book is good, the writing is clear and it provides the reader with all the necessary information for a good travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, with some flaws, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Travelled around S.Korea for three weeks, the book was extremely helpful in doing research on the place before we travelled and finding out the major attractions.
The maps are extremely poor and although tourist maps are available in all major places, I felt this should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Adequate and fairly thorough, but need more pictures and better maps, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I usually buy the DK Eyewitness books or Time Out books when travelling, but this time neither covered Korea so went with Lonely Planet. The book is fairly thorough in that it covers most cities and towns that a western traveller would want to visit as well as some off the beaten track locations. The book covers accommodation, travel, best sights, restaurants for each of the cities and towns, and because it was revised in 2010, is fairly up to date. My main criticism is that there aren't enough photos to give a visual flavour of the country, and maps (especially for smaller towns like Gyeongju and Busan) could be better. I'd personally prefer a 'top 10 sights to see' approach to the towns with some pictorial accompaniments rather than a grey list. Also, it doesn't always explain how to get to some of the less urban places like mountain parks, e.g. Haeinsa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet - Korea, 13 July 2010
By 
K. M. Fallon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Just got back from travelling around Korea for 2 weeks, this book was a godsend, we consulted it every step of the way and it never let us down, we are widely travelled and have found other Lonely Planet books a little patronising, not this one, every direction was spot on, the recommendations excellent and it was well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 9 Sep 2009
I have used the LP guidebooks as long as I have travelled and always found then very useful, with lots of great information in a well thought out and easy to use book.

This LP Korea (and Seoul guide - 2006 edition Seoul (Lonely Planet City Guide)) are terrible. I got the book after deciding to move to Seoul. While it helped in getting an initial overview of the city (hence the reason for two stars), its usefulness quickly falls away due to bad organisation of neighbourhoods, poor directions, and terrible maps. It is not well researched organising Seoul neighbourhoods in an erratic manner.

Using it for planning travel around Korea was equally uninspiring. I did wonder if the authors had visited some of the places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Korea (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Simon Richmond (Paperback - 1 April 2010)
14.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews