Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
We bought the new edition of the Valencia guide hot off the press just in time for 2010 fallas. It is bang up to date now, with information about all the new developments and attractions. The information given is both practical and inspiring - we left the city after a week knowing that we must go back because there is still so much more to see and do. The pull out map is...
Published on 16 April 2010 by Janine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars out of date and not for the young
I found this book great for arts and museums, less so for eating and drinking - one reason being it is 3 years old and a lot of the places had closed down. Also the map is not great and not up to date of course. Either get a new one written or put a disclaimer on the front saying that it is not up to par
Published 10 months ago by katy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 16 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We bought the new edition of the Valencia guide hot off the press just in time for 2010 fallas. It is bang up to date now, with information about all the new developments and attractions. The information given is both practical and inspiring - we left the city after a week knowing that we must go back because there is still so much more to see and do. The pull out map is very useful and it is not necessary to buy another unless you want to travel outside the city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to find the right nightlife., 22 July 2010
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Valencia centre is quite compact but split in to distinct areas and this guide book provides succinct detail on the main tourist spots and top 10 etc but was particularly useful in describing all the bars, tapas bars and restaurants in each area. Quite simply without this guidebook we would have walked past many a good bar which made the weekend quite memorable. A useful map included in the guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valencia (Lonely Planet Encounter Guide), 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very useful pocket guide for a 4-5 day stay. Maps could have been better but they can be grabbed from airport or Tourist Info on arrival. Metro detail is handy, this is the best way of getting around along with walking. Bioparc was excellent, even for those who are not great fans of zoos. Oceanographic was less impressive, but worth a day out (why no metro station near by!?!). Good sized city with plenty of areas to explore and contrasts between traditional and modern. The book help guide you through the differenet areas. Amke sure you visit the indoor market .... fabulous photo opportunities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket guide, 22 Jan 2011
By 
S. Schifferes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I used this guide on a recent four day trip to Valencia. We tried lots of different places recommended by the guide and navigated using the handy maps of each area. Only one of the places we tried to go to was closed (fastgood restaurant).

Well layed out guide
Concise and fun

Only annoyance is they use the phrase 'lipsmacking' way too much in lonely planet guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent for making my itinerary for a couple of days sightseeing in Valencia. Will save me time having all the information before I go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valencia guide book review, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very small pocket size book. Nicely laid out. Map not much good - scale too small to be useful. We lost this book after three days (probably because it was so small!) but had found it really helpful for finding the "must sees" of Valencia and surrounding area. We subsequently used a Berlitz guide to Valencia which we found in our apartment. The Berlitz guide seemed old fashioned in comparison and was nowhere near as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars out of date and not for the young, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I found this book great for arts and museums, less so for eating and drinking - one reason being it is 3 years old and a lot of the places had closed down. Also the map is not great and not up to date of course. Either get a new one written or put a disclaimer on the front saying that it is not up to par
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Fits in your pocket, not overpacked with irrelevant information. Lists the best attractions, places to eat and comes with a good map. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for History and Info but..., 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great for history and info on city, but rubbish for map and restaurant/bar recommendations. But if you get the Lonely Planet one too, then all areas sorted as has great map and reviews on restaurants and bars that you might not find if you didn't know where you were looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Used it frequently on a short trip to Valencia and going back again this year so will definitely use it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Valencia Encounter (Travel Guide) by Roddis (Paperback - 22 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: £15.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews