Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Absolutely adore it
This is probably the best Lonely Planet book you will ever get. Individual country sections, costs, tips for women, and recommended itineraries. Composed by nearly 15 authors, it offers comprehensive coverage of this mind blowing region. The pictures are quite simply stunning (especially Vanuatu's active volcanoes) and the lagoon shots are Awesome. It goes further than...
Published on 6 Nov. 2006 by Sean Flynn

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous edition
If you are planning a South Pacific Adventure which strays beyond the stalwart countries such as Fiji, Samoa, Cook Islands etc then I recommend you buy a second hand copy of the previous edition of this book (ISBN 1-74104-304-2) because it is much more comprehensive in its coverage of the region. The new edition does not include any of Micronesia and whole smaller...
Published on 17 Nov. 2010 by DF


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous edition, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
DF (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
If you are planning a South Pacific Adventure which strays beyond the stalwart countries such as Fiji, Samoa, Cook Islands etc then I recommend you buy a second hand copy of the previous edition of this book (ISBN 1-74104-304-2) because it is much more comprehensive in its coverage of the region. The new edition does not include any of Micronesia and whole smaller countries such as Kiribati have been excluded. Whilst I realise that not so many people want to go there it does detract from the nature of the book being a comprehensive guide to the Pacific.

I would also strongly recommend that you get David Stanley's Moon guide to the South Pacific, he is the most knowledgable travel writer on the Pacific in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book - not for me, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
This book is aimed at people travelling around the South Pacific over a number of months which does not really suit me or the travels i am planning. Nicely laid out, but a very typical Lonely Planet backpacker manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Travel planner for your dreams, 4 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
I'm in the process of planning a journey to South Pacific. This is a book have kicked start the planning, but as I have read this book and compared it with other books - I'm a bit uncertain about the quality of the book. The book is packed with info., but there are some important information which is ommited. In Independent Samoa - it's not possible to bring a hired car from Upolu to Savai'i. This is not mentioned in this book, but in the book on Samoa published by the Moon company.
Theese kind of things seems to be throughout this Lonely P. book. I rather stick to Moon's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. Absolutely adore it, 6 Nov. 2006
By 
Sean Flynn (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the best Lonely Planet book you will ever get. Individual country sections, costs, tips for women, and recommended itineraries. Composed by nearly 15 authors, it offers comprehensive coverage of this mind blowing region. The pictures are quite simply stunning (especially Vanuatu's active volcanoes) and the lagoon shots are Awesome. It goes further than the usual backpacker destination of Fiji and the Cook Islands and provides an insight into the lives of people in the remotest region in the world. Really opens your eyes. I didn't even know Vanuatu, Nuie and French Polynesia existed before i read this

The front cover sums up the apparent pace of life on these islands. Without this book i wouldn't be embarking on gap year travel to the south pacific and new zealand. What a great book. Fascinating. you cant read this without wanting to travel there. Impossible. A must-buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super quick, 21 Sept. 2011
Cheap and very good quality. Very happy with the service.
Good condition of item, nicely packed. will buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Pacific (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides)
South Pacific (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) by Rowan McKinnon (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews