Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it like it is.
I did most of the French side this summer and found it to be spot on. You could be travelling to a town/city by train and reading about your destination, when you get there its totally like the descriptions in the book. Theres lots of background info on Swiss soceity/culture which helps you to chat with the locals by knowing their frame of reference.
If you want a...
Published on 19 Aug 2004 by james peter wootton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this book
the writers never went to the places they wrote about. they just copied and pasted information. I went to join UN tour in Geneva, which was fantastic, but they just more or less had the address and opening time of the building and that was about it. other places are more of less the same. i went to a small town called morges, where audrey hepburn's last house and cemetry...
Published 23 months ago by sara


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it like it is., 19 Aug 2004
I did most of the French side this summer and found it to be spot on. You could be travelling to a town/city by train and reading about your destination, when you get there its totally like the descriptions in the book. Theres lots of background info on Swiss soceity/culture which helps you to chat with the locals by knowing their frame of reference.
If you want a good holiday in Switzerland you have to travel around and see the natural sights, this book is great for planning your itinery.
Only flaw I spotted was I was walking on a bridge in Bern that wasn't on the LP map and was lost for about 2 minutes.
If visiting, its best to buy this before you travel so you can do a day by day plan. I did and it ran very smoothly thanks to the LP guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Travel Guide, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
The book really ticks all of the boxes for us. For once we have a really excellent guide book that contains most of what a traveller needs, whether they be backpackers, families with young children, or well healed pleasure travellers. It is also up to date for 2010 and meticulously researched. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must" for English speaking travelers to Switzerland, 14 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I have used this superb guide for the last two weeks while travelling from Geneve to Zurich. I found the introductory chapters very interesting and the practical ones extremely useful. The town maps are accurate and we liked most of the recommendations we tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Good and standart product sent very quickly, with not so much time of waiting.So you can definitely trust this sellerThanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this book, 8 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
the writers never went to the places they wrote about. they just copied and pasted information. I went to join UN tour in Geneva, which was fantastic, but they just more or less had the address and opening time of the building and that was about it. other places are more of less the same. i went to a small town called morges, where audrey hepburn's last house and cemetry are, but the book has zero information of these either. please.. don't buy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travelling to Switzerland, 23 Oct 2011
By 
S. Dobson "Banksia" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
I used this book on a recent trip to Switzerland (Sept 2011) and found it to be well written and informative. A really useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book, 27 Mar 2011
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Book covers all areas of Switzerland. Includes history of areas and places to visit. Information on accommodation and eating/drinking places with all budgets in mind. Would be useful for anyone planning a trip to Switzerland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for trip planning, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
The guide was very useful to me when I was planning for my switzerland trip. The maps in the guide also help me a lot when I was choosing my accomodations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 11 April 2010
Like all Lonely Planets, this is a good guide to start with. But for a country-specific guide you think it would have more extensive sections on parts of the country and more off-the-beaten-track stuff that is not covered in a general Europe guide. Unless you're visiting Switzerland exclusively for a period of time, a general Europe guide would suffice to give you the info you need for a short stay in Switzerland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not much on Golden Pass line, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
Was looking for info on the Golden Pass Line which I thought was a very popular route in Switzerland. Was disappointed that there was very little info on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa655cd80)

This product

Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Switzerland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Kerry Walker (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews