Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for general travels in East Africa, 25 Feb 2004
This book was invaluable when travelling in East Africa. The layout is easy to understand and it has basic country history, language and local information, as well as information about East Africa in general.
There is not as much detain in the single East Africa book as in each individual country book, and although this was in some ways irritating it was useful when making last minute travel plans. Guide books are not widely available in east Africa, but it was easy to change plans to suit our requirements with the book covering the whole area.
I would recommend a more specialised book for exploring one country in more depth, or to accompany this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, comprehensive regional guide, 19 July 2009
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
One of Lonely Planet's best efforts, this guidebook is comprehensive and accurate, with good photos and lots of helpful information. It covers Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi, plus a small segment of the DR Congo.

There is the usual information about sights and activities, full of addresses, prices, and everything you need to know. The full colour wildlife guide is handy (especially for distinguishing between antelopes) and there is a whole section devoted to safaris and gorilla trekking. The history sections for each country and for the region in general are easy to read and informative.

The 'directory' section includes useful information on everything under the sun, plus there are chapters devoted to health, transport, and language. The introductory information at the start of the book covers culture, art, food, history, etc. The maps are clear and reasonably easy to read.

I looked through both this guide and specific country guides for those I was visiting in the region, and decided this one covered pretty much everything you need but in one volume, making it a much better bet for travelling with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LP does it again, 17 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
As with all other Lonely Planets, their East Africa addition is a travellers' bible.
If you haven't liked previous LPs then this is not for you - I know Rough Guide are better on the history and culture stuff, whereas LP focuses on where to stay and eat for the least amount of money - but if you're a fan of the Lonely Planets then this wont disappoint.
... could have had a little bit more in the history section for each country, but that's my only criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for any traveller to the region., 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
While sometimes flawed and annoyingly out of date, LP's East Africa remains one of the best guides to the region. Travel info is mostly reliable, and the hotel/hostel write ups make finding somewhere to crash far easier. Unfortunately this guide was published in 1997, and much of the information was stale and out of date then. As LP says itself: "Prices change, good places go bad and bad places go bankrupt." Aside from this, the LP East Africa is packed with reletively accurate maps, cultural information and helpful language sections, all of which have stood up well to the test of time. One thing to be wary of is that the LP marks you as a "green" traveller. Read it in your hostel, read it on the train, the bus, the toilet - but try not to read it in a crowded city street. You're just asking for trouble. In terms of content the LP beats its competition hands down. It offers more photos and detail than th Rough Guide, allowing you to get a feel for the place before you go, and isn't irritatingly large like the Bradt. The style is crisp and structured, and the advice in the Dangers and Annoyances section is useful, if a little paranoid. First-time travellers may find the out-dated info annoying, but it all adds to the fun, doesn't it? In all the LP East Africa is an excellent book, if it is treated as a starting point and general guide only, not as a Bible. (According to the publishers a new edition will be released sometime around June/July 2000 - keep your eyes peeled.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes a big region manageable..., 11 Aug 2009
By 
Chris Bell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
As always with a lonely planet book, it's well constructed, informative and interesting. Because it's a regional book the authors and editors have clearly had to make some tough choices in terms of what to include and what to bin but, despite this, they have managed to cram a whole lot of valuable information into quite a small space.

My only gripe is that they have seriously cut back on the photos and wildlife guide from the previous edition.

However, in my opinion, this is still the best guide to the region available. If you want more you should get a book on each country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 20 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is up to the best Lonely Planet standards, providing useful information for when you get there, a good read for in between bits and a bit of inspiration before you leave. Well laid out, good information and easily accessible. If you're going to East Africa, this is very handy.
Could do with a few more pictures of 'real' Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uganda, 4 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Even though it is 2 years old it had everything you need to know about Uganda. The value of the currency has changed a lot, but in favor of the tourist. The companies that charge in USD haven't changed their prices though. Good book. Will use it for the rest of the countries in the next year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Backpackers bible, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Cookie (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
I picked up a copy when I went for an internship stint in Uganda, and for two months it was my ultimate travel bible in the region. I planned to do a fair bit of independent travelling in Uganda, and also ended up going for a week-long visit to Rwanda and the book served me well on both occasions.

While at first I was a bit disappointed with the bleak innards, and tightly-packed text, but I guess if you have a travel book it is better if pretty pictures and flashy design are replaced by a wealth of information. And yes, even if the book contained sections on Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Congo, Rwanda and Burundi, there was plenty of useful information, including short sections on history, culture and customs. In fact, for those two months I spent in the region I didn't need another travel book at all.

The information contained was extremely useful, particularly for an independent backpacker. Information on local events, places of interest and hostels/hotels was particularly good, and how to travel with public transport to various places was invaluable. They pack a lot of stuff in, and had I not had this book I would have missed out on so many things! On the basis of the books recommendations I even took some local Ugandan friends to cool places they had never heard of!

I also particularly liked that they included a section for lone female travellers with hints and tips on how to make the journey safer, and mentioned in the hostel-descriptions if the hostel wasn't recommended for lone females. As I only used Uganda and Rwanda I don't know much about sections on Kenya or Tanzania, but a friend of mine used Congo section and him too found the book very useful.

My copy is in absolute tatters now, as I used it so much, but I still like to occasionally flip through some pages to remind myself of the places I visited. It is a great book, and everyone travelling in the region should get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Guide, 24 Aug 2010
By 
C. Stevens "C. Stevens" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this guide for a trip to Uganda and it has a wide range of accurate information. Very useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid presentation from Lonely Planet, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
As a big fan of Lonely Planet books this again hits the spot. I have travelled to over 40 countries now and always make sure I have a Lonely Planet with me. The reason is because it is an excellent tool to orientate yourself in the local environment. Travelling is about exploring the unknown, but everyone needs to start somewhere. This book provides the information you need to find the basics in East Africa and gives you the time to focus on actually building the more exciting details of your own adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides)
East Africa (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) by Mary Fitzpatrick (Paperback - 1 Jun 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews