Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southwest is best
An amazing part of the world, three weeks was not enough. A pretty good guide as well. The main problem with it is the maps, which come in shades of grey and are virtually useless, its impossible to tell paved roads from gravel and 4WD roads. Pretty important in this part of the world! So if you are driving, don't rely on it for you maps.
Published on 10 Aug 2009 by P. Gosling

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, poor maps
What made me buy this specific book was that it was (at the time, early summer 2009) the newest edition available. However, for our 2 week road trip of the area it proved to be disappointing, and not the best guide of the area.

The style of the writing is chattering, in parts even naive, and the maps are totally useless. Not worthwhile, at least as the sole...
Published on 20 Oct 2009 by tommi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Superficial, poor maps, 20 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
What made me buy this specific book was that it was (at the time, early summer 2009) the newest edition available. However, for our 2 week road trip of the area it proved to be disappointing, and not the best guide of the area.

The style of the writing is chattering, in parts even naive, and the maps are totally useless. Not worthwhile, at least as the sole source of information during a trip.

We also reviewed The Rough Guide to Southwest USA (Rough Guide to Southwest USA: Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico and Utah). Unfortunately it was a library book that I couldn't take with us, but looking back I would certainly recommend it over this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Southwest is best, 10 Aug 2009
By 
P. Gosling - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
An amazing part of the world, three weeks was not enough. A pretty good guide as well. The main problem with it is the maps, which come in shades of grey and are virtually useless, its impossible to tell paved roads from gravel and 4WD roads. Pretty important in this part of the world! So if you are driving, don't rely on it for you maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous guidebook, 27 April 2009
By 
Paul "paullatham" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Took this on my trip to Arizona and found it absolutely essential. Amazing level of detail with excellent recommendations. I've found Lonely Planet guides a bit variable in the past but this is the best I've encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential travel companion, 14 May 2011
By 
S. Clark "cycle girl" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
We went on a touring break to Arizona and Utah last summer and were very glad to take this practical guide with us. Full of fairly up to date information and great suggestions. It was useful for planning our holiday and for checking while we were traveling around. You don't need lots of pretty pictures - this guide shows you how to make the most of going to see the real things!
The authors are very honest as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet?, 15 Mar 2010
Not sure this part of the planet will be lonely! Really useful for finding accommodation and planning routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, speedy and no problems!, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. J. K. Wootten (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Not much to report apart from the book came on time and in pristine condition - nothing more you could ask for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides)
Southwest USA (Lonely Planet Country & Regional Guides) by Andrea Schulte-Peevers (Paperback - 1 Oct 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews