Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXcellent book, for learning swahili and the way of life.
Not at all what I expected, much much better, I am in close contact with a Kenyan family so this book with all its details will prevent me making language and social mistakes. Since receiving book have learnt a little swahili to be able to translate. Excellent.
Published on 27 April 2009 by Mrs. Helen M. Tate

versus
49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This easy to use book facilitates learning Swahili.
This book provides an excellent background to the derevation of Swahili as a written language having been a spoken language for generations. There are some excellent phrases for everyday greetings, shopping and a detailed section on the grammatical intricacies for those who strive continuously to improve their swahili. However quite a lot of the phrases are irrelevant. If...
Published on 31 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This easy to use book facilitates learning Swahili., 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This book provides an excellent background to the derevation of Swahili as a written language having been a spoken language for generations. There are some excellent phrases for everyday greetings, shopping and a detailed section on the grammatical intricacies for those who strive continuously to improve their swahili. However quite a lot of the phrases are irrelevant. If one needs to ask for an air-conditioned room or car rental in Swahili, then it is likely that one is in a part of East Africa where these services are unavailable. There is an easy to use English-Swahili and Swahili-English dictionary. Finally this book includes some of the latest slang terms, which are good fun to use and really impress the locals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXcellent book, for learning swahili and the way of life., 27 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Not at all what I expected, much much better, I am in close contact with a Kenyan family so this book with all its details will prevent me making language and social mistakes. Since receiving book have learnt a little swahili to be able to translate. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful little book, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Compact and comprehensive phrase book which also contains interesting facts, cultural information and language guidance should you wish to advance your knowledge. A must for your rucksack if travelling in East Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dipping your toe in !, 10 Sep 2010
By 
L. WILLIAMS "LINDSAY WILLIAMS" (CHESHIRE, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
If you are taking a safari or beach hotel in East Africa this is a compact useful guide to allow you
a couple of local words/phrases to try out in Kiswahili. Don't expect grammar tables etc as it is aimed at the tourist
but it is accessible, lightweight and quite colourful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars making sense of swahili, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
This was an amazingly useful little book which helped to make sense of swahili and I would recommend it to anyone travelling into Kenya. You cannot beat being able to name animals in Swahili! and is amazing to be able to chat even if you pronounce things wrong with local people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swahili - Lonely Planet Phrasebook, 19 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
A great little book. Fitted easily into the side pocket of a rucksack (or handbag). Vital poiltenesses inside front cover made for quick and easy reference. Well set out with a wealth of info and detail that I wasn't in East africa long enough to get to grips with. We enjoyed speaking a few simple words and phrases and received a lot of appreciative smiles from Africans at the effort we made to speak a little of their language. All in all, I was very pleased that I took this little book along with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, quick delivery, 14 Sep 2009
By 
C. Malley (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Very useful and up to date phrase book - son going on 2month med student placement. Delivered quickly so he could learn some before he went.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful little book, 12 Jun 2009
By 
M. W. Toynbee "Bach lover" (St.Albans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
I work with a couple of Swahili speakers and got this book as a bit of a joke, so I could swap phrases with them. For a small book it's very comprehensive and current. The pronunciation guidance is excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of the phrases will raise blank looks in Swahili speaking countries though some of the vocabulary will be useful. I can't, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Absolute rubbish. Doesn't give you any idea of how what you are saying really translates. A lot of the phrases will raise blank looks in Swahili speaking countries though some of the vocabulary will be useful. I can't recommend this book to anyone that wants more than a few simple words in Swahili. Wilson's "Simplified Swahili" is a weightier text but really gives a good grounding in useful Swahili and provided me with the basis to advance to intermediate/conversational level within a matter of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Just what is needed. fast delivery too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook)
Lonely Planet Swahili Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) by Lonely Planet (Paperback - 18 July 2008)
4.99
Usually dispatched within 10 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews