Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy
You want to chat someone up in Hungarian? This little book has select phrases. More still, little boxes provide a note of caution: mi ujsag means what's up, not a caveman's invitation for 'me-you-shag'. It's not all fun and games, though: serious phrases and words are included, for use at the doctors, shops, at dinner with Hungarians, and general travelling. There is also...
Published 13 months ago by Beszelek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
struggled
Published 1 month ago by John Coleman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
You want to chat someone up in Hungarian? This little book has select phrases. More still, little boxes provide a note of caution: mi ujsag means what's up, not a caveman's invitation for 'me-you-shag'. It's not all fun and games, though: serious phrases and words are included, for use at the doctors, shops, at dinner with Hungarians, and general travelling. There is also a very useful dictionary at the back, including some wayward words and phrases, such as blocked nose; the front few pages also provide extra information, on the language and very basic grammar. A grand book to take with you to Hungary, although, if you wish to make your sentences more flexible, you will need to take a grammar book!
If you wish to take your Hungarian to another level, the next stop is 'Dirty Hungarian' which makes this book's phrases, such as, 'let's go to bed', seem tame, and actually provides very colloquial phrases, from meeting people to other situations. And if you want get serious about Hungarian grammar (a bold plan), try Hungarian Verbs and Essentials of Grammar, or for the more ambitious, Routledge's Descriptive Grammar, or Carol Round's Hungarian Grammar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
I am Hungarian. Trying to help my husband to learn the language. This book is much better then I expected. It is small and light. Easy to carry around. The colour coded sections help to find quickly what you need. The words are also written the way they are pronounced. Huge help. I do recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eger, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
This little book was very useful when I visited Hungary and it was easy to find the words I wanted in the various categories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpfull little book, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
Pocket sized so easy to take with you when shopping etc.
Good fun to read and easy to read and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
Easy to use. Lovely layout. Really like the 'how to say it' in phonic English. would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good starter for complete beginners, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
on the plane to Hungary I started reading the guide, I was surprised how complicated the language is and got real good help to learn the basics in a short time during the flight to be able to say please/thank you hello and good-bye and learn about the context.

While a good book and guide, it could be made easier to find the basics at the front instead of having to look for them somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
If like me - you have never spoken a word of hungarian in your life and now need to - then this little guide is just the thing! It has easy phrases that are spelled out phonetically so you can use them when you have to. It also has a handy dictionary in the back both in english and in hungarian - so when you need to look up words it's pretty handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
Quite essential to learn how to pronounce and the alphabets. I will even order another one. Thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. P. W. Bate "Paul" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
Good purchase but oh how hard it is to learn Hungarian. I was so glad that most of them spoke some English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful little book, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian) (Paperback)
This book has everything you need to get by on a holiday or to take your Hungarian a bit further. It has all the essentials and gives an easy pronunciation guide. It even includes 'My hovercraft is full of eels' from the Monty Python Hungarian phrasebook, which made me laugh. Strangely, I never needed to use this phrase on holiday. It has lots of brilliant info boxes throughout, giving information about Hungary, Hungarians, way of life, attitudes, manners, things to look out for, things to listen for (easier said than done - they speak so quickly). A very useful little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Hungarian Phrasebook & Dictionary (Lonely Planet Phrasebook: Hungarian)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews