Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2007 Edition: Well Updated & Comprehensive!
Not all Lonely Planet guides are equal, but I found this one to be very good!

It covers pretty much all the former socialist countries westwards from Russia, including the Baltic states, Central Europe, the Balkans, Ukraine, and even obscure, very rarely visited Belarus and Moldova.

It already has a separate country chapter for Montenegro, which only...
Published on 27 Mar 2007 by Laszlo Wagner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail, but then you should buy books for individual countries
Better to just get a book per country. Too sparse info. Out of date too 2007 ed. Info on Poland and Budapest haven't moved fast enough with the progress in the actual countries. Not really worth the money. 3 stars because I bought it and had to commend the info inside, but wouldn't recommend purchase. Too muc expectation.
Published on 12 July 2009 by K-Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2007 Edition: Well Updated & Comprehensive!, 27 Mar 2007
By 
Laszlo Wagner (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Not all Lonely Planet guides are equal, but I found this one to be very good!

It covers pretty much all the former socialist countries westwards from Russia, including the Baltic states, Central Europe, the Balkans, Ukraine, and even obscure, very rarely visited Belarus and Moldova.

It already has a separate country chapter for Montenegro, which only became independent in the summer of 2006!

Inside, you will find all the usual details that can be expected from this series: in addition to the usual background info on history and culture as well as listings of recommended sights and activities, LP does provide useful practical details like prices and contact details of accomodation options as well as fares and journey times for public transport. These seemed pretty accurate to me, though are bound to change within the lifespan of this book.

The detail provided about each country described of course can't compete with single-country guides, but is probably sufficient for most people planning to visit several countries in one trip. As a rule, there are enough places described to fill at least 2 weeks in each country. In comparision to LP's "Europe on a Shoestring" guide which covers the whole continent but is more detailed about the more visited Western European countries, this one has about 3 times more info on Eastern European ones.

I would highly recommend this book for both thoe who are still in the planning stages and need info to decide which countries in the region to visit, and for actual use on the road to those planning to visit several countries on one trip.

Of course, if you only want to concentrate on 2-3 countries only, you may find individual country guides more detailed - though right now quite possibly less up to date! LP and Rough Guides both publish such guides to the more popular countries in this region, while Bradt covers even the more obscure ones like Albania, Belarus, Serbia or Slovakia as separate titles.

For the region as a whole, this book is the one to get for sure though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great travel companion, 27 Jun 2007
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Having just spent 3 weeks in Romania, Macedonia & Albania - this guide was a true travel companion.

Having used the 2005 version of this guide to travel around Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia & Croatia in March 2006 - this one was much more useful and the writers had gone to great pains to make everything accurate (unlike their Western Balkans guide which was awash with misinformation and inaccuracies, normally regarding telephone numbers etc)

Having also brought the Bradt Albania guide with us (thank god we never relied on this as their pricing information for accommodation was grossly out of date & there was a real laziness in updating vital information) the Lonely Planet was the one that got grubbiest from continual use.

However we did have a few gripes. Having compared the 2005 & 2007 version; the writers appeared to have ommitted certain places to eat in Bucharest for example - this amazing ornate & opulent beer hall didn't appear in the 2007 guide...why not?

Also in Tirana some of the restaurants they recommended as great "sublime experiences" were just plain average with slovenly service.

All in all we felt that this guide provided us with the most accurate information & great cultural & historical context to te region.

They did well in preparing female travellers for the local's reaction to female foreign travellers. It did well in outlining that staring at women travellers for inordinently long periods of time (how they crane their neck round that far is amazing) is the national pastime in Albania and there is nothing you can do to avert their gaze - just get used to it -which was so true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy guide, 4 Aug 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Handy book to have whilst travelling through eastern Europe. Great service and fantastic delivery time. Would definitely recommend to others. Thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary, 18 July 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
I did a three week tour around Serbia, Bosnia, Hungary, Croatia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Macedonia and have done other trips to Kiev, Moscow and St Petersburg and found this book really helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it did what we needed it too and pretty well, 25 Aug 2009
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
We have just returned from a 'tour of the Adriatic' visiting Slovenia, Croatia, a slide to Mostar, and Monetenegro.

There was enough to give us confidence and a flavour of the places we were visiting - though occasionally we could have used a bit more guidance.

As camping car travellers we felt that there was stuff missing on the state of the roads (ie the road from Dubrovnik to Kotor is very slow) and in general driving from N.Croatia south wards takes 2-3 times the time that a comparable journey in the UK takes.

We still don't know if we should have registered with the Police in Montenegro, but we did what we could to make it happen if needed.

We didn't want single country guides because we were moving so much and this fitted the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail, but then you should buy books for individual countries, 12 July 2009
Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Better to just get a book per country. Too sparse info. Out of date too 2007 ed. Info on Poland and Budapest haven't moved fast enough with the progress in the actual countries. Not really worth the money. 3 stars because I bought it and had to commend the info inside, but wouldn't recommend purchase. Too muc expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible for the Casual Traveller, 19 Feb 2009
By 
Monkeyman (Hartlepool UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
If, like me, you like flitting about from country to country for a few days here and there - this book is the one for you. Essential information about what to see, what to eat, where to sleep and more importantly how to get there make this book both informative and almost indispensble for the casual traveler - get there, sit down with a coffee / beer and have a quick read for 5 minutes and you have most of the essential information required for your quick visit especially if you are on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No service, 4 Jun 2009
By 
A. Macintyre - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) (Paperback)
Book was never delivered within the time frame mentioned, e mails were ignored, left without a guide book while traveling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef45954)

This product

Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides)
Eastern Europe (Lonely Planet Multi Country Guides) by Tom Masters (Paperback - 1 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews