Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide
This was a fantastic guide, well worth the 10 paid for it. We ate at a lot of the recommended restaurants, which were not only delicious but often would have gone unnoticed. We also stayed in one of the inexpensive hotels which was directly next to the cathedral in Rouen, and put us in an ideal location. I would absolutely recommend the book (and the region).
Published on 1 Sep 2010 by Jen G

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I'm a big fan of Lonely Planet (LP) guides and have relied on them for countless trips. I didn't even flick through this one before buying it for an upcoming trip. I am very disappointed. I found the organisation of the information confusing and annoying (accommodation section at the back so you have to flick back and forth to regional sections). It seemed both dumbed...
Published on 10 July 2010 by cem


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 10 July 2010
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Lonely Planet (LP) guides and have relied on them for countless trips. I didn't even flick through this one before buying it for an upcoming trip. I am very disappointed. I found the organisation of the information confusing and annoying (accommodation section at the back so you have to flick back and forth to regional sections). It seemed both dumbed down (in terms of the information) and overly complicated (in terms of organisation). Much less visually appealing than most of my LP collection - I don't like the apparently random use of red/black titles/subtitles or the fact that subtitles sometimes give necessary information but more often are lame/distracting bits of info. I'll have to look elsewhere for a good guide to Brittany, and I'll be looking more carefully before buying LPs in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This was a fantastic guide, well worth the 10 paid for it. We ate at a lot of the recommended restaurants, which were not only delicious but often would have gone unnoticed. We also stayed in one of the inexpensive hotels which was directly next to the cathedral in Rouen, and put us in an ideal location. I would absolutely recommend the book (and the region).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you'd expect from a Lonely Planet guide!, 30 April 2011
By 
M. Dunn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
For me a Lonely Planet guide is like a bible for travelling. Provided a good background and history of a number of places we wished to visit. Really enjoyed the stay in Normandy and made it down to Mont St Michel :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy guide, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Not had to use this yet, so still to see what happens when we get to Brittany. I've been a long time buyer of Lonely Planet guides but this one is a new format and seems to contain far less information eg only a few accommodation options in the larger towns. Finding accommodation in France isn't going to be beyond my wit, but having a few choices gives a good indication of prices. The pages are thicker paper and the information more spread out. If they were going to include less information then I'd have preferred they squashed it up and used thin pages so that the guide itself weighed less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide - would have liked more visuals, 22 July 2013
By 
WesleyM (Laois, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As you would expect from Lonely Planet, this was a good guide. A couple of things might have been helpful. I would have liked more pictures and a bit of colour as it's mainly monochrome bar the opening pages. It really would help bring life to the guide. Also, would like even more itineraries. Generally though, a very good efficient guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless guidebook, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
THis is useless as a guidebook because it doesn't contain practical information.
I returned it as soon as I received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing, 7 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
What do you want from a guidebook?
Something that makes planning your trip easier. Provides reliable and accessible information. Is well indexed. Handy size and easy to carry. Allows you to get the most out of you visits.
It should contain the sort of information you would want to pass onto a friend who was planning to do the same trip as you after you come back.....
I found this book difficult to use. The maps are disconnected from the content. The paper used is thick with lots of colour pictures making it heavy (we were cycling). There are very few listings of hotels and restaurants. The descriptions of sites to visit are very briefly described.
Having used Lonely Planet guides elsewhere I was disappointed. This one seems to have gone for pictures over content and combined two areas you are unlikely to visit on the same trip.
I didn't get the sense that my friend was giving me useful inside information after his trip....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brittany & Normandy, 15 Mar 2010
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my wife who wishes to go to France to see the Normandy beaches where her father died on D-Day. She found a lot of useful information and also help with visiting other local places during her stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't rate what you can't see, 27 Sep 2013
By 
A. Birchall (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The book never arrived, so I can't give it a rating. I got a refund on the purchase and got another guide from a shop in town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enhanced experience, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Bought prior to visiting Normandy. Full of very useful information particularly the tourist routes via D roads. Historical contexts also enhanced my visit. Would recommemd the series to anyone planning a driving holiday in regional areas of France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Brittany & Normandy (Travel Guide) by Dragicevich (Paperback - 22 Jan 2010)
Used & New from: 20.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews