Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and fairly comprehensive
Used this book on a fortnight's trip round Iceland. Overall the information is good and accurate, and gives the visitor a good 'feel' for the country both before you go and when you're travelling around. However, the main colour map could have had more places on it without becoming cluttered, and the detailed maps throughout the book were rather unclear compared with...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Green Day

versus
173 of 187 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Spins out of Orbit!
There was a time when Lonely Planet was written by people who had actually been to all the places in their books, and could talk from first hand experience of the locations. However, this is clearly not the case with this latest edition. After waiting eagerly for the latest edition to be published in mid-May before my camping trip in June 2004, it was with some...
Published on 8 July 2004 by Andy M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and fairly comprehensive, 7 Aug 2011
Used this book on a fortnight's trip round Iceland. Overall the information is good and accurate, and gives the visitor a good 'feel' for the country both before you go and when you're travelling around. However, the main colour map could have had more places on it without becoming cluttered, and the detailed maps throughout the book were rather unclear compared with other Lonely Planet books I have used. The section on The Highlands is a bit thin which is disappointing as that is the best part of Iceland! The other sections are well-balanced and informative, so overall it's good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


173 of 187 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Spins out of Orbit!, 8 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Iceland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
There was a time when Lonely Planet was written by people who had actually been to all the places in their books, and could talk from first hand experience of the locations. However, this is clearly not the case with this latest edition. After waiting eagerly for the latest edition to be published in mid-May before my camping trip in June 2004, it was with some astonishment to see one of the authors' main travelling credentials was attending the "runtur", the weekly pub-crawl in Reykjavik! That aside, the architectural walking tour of Reykjavik is a disappointment as it takes one through all the most dismal streets, whilst information on locations outside of the capital is sparce and quite vague; indeed in some places it is very inaccurate and in a couple of instances, totally wrong, giving the impression that the authors have probably never ventured further than Reykjavik and not experienced what they are writing about. The overall effect of this edition is that the authors have gone through a pile of slightly out of date tourist information leaflets and written a few lines on the key places, but do not appear to be keeping alive the spirit of other editions of Lonely Planet and actually writing from first hand experience. I have used Lonely Planet for many years and many countries, but this is certainly not up to the usual high standard and quite a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iceland Lonely Planet, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We were first time travellers to Iceland this year, end of October 2011 and planned to travel from the west to the glaciers in the east, we had only three nights. Trawling the Internet before we left, enabled us to book up hotels and farms. It all looked rather bleak with iron clab buildings, all utlilitarian in style. The Lonely Planet Guide was ordered to assist the trip with lunch time venues. The guide was invaluable and contined relaiable information. the relaity about Iceland is that all hotels and places to stay look grim from the outside, there are almost no places to stop and have a decent lunch unless in a very main town of which, there are probably two in the south. The guide is useful and nexessary if you're going which I certainly encourage you to do. There is nowhere like it- very vast very beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not user friendly, 28 Jan 2013
By 
J.H.Barnard (Abergavenny, Monmouthshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to navigate, just not as good as the lonely planet guides that i already have. I am going to have to get another guide and that should not be necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book was fully informative, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It guided me and my friends well in Iceland. As other Lonely Planet series, the downside of this book is lack of pictures. However, the maps inside the book and explanations were very helpful. We didn't try any of the recommended hotels or restaurants and cannot have any opinion of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Iceland, 4 Sep 2011
Stunning country, make sure you hire a car and read up on this book as it will tell you lots of where to go and where to stay!great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet is not so lonely!, 16 Jan 2011
By 
Emma Bryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are planning on visiting Iceland in the summer which is the tourist season (June - August), this guide book will be more than sufficient. However, if like me, you are travelling independently during their winter, you will find that whilst it is a helpful and handy guide to have about you it is very limited/lacking in detail/information for this time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iceland for the avid traveller, 9 Sep 2013
By 
John Maclennan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As before this Lonely Planet Guide was essential for a successful break in Iceland. Lots of valid information and worthwhile bedtime reading before going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough but layout could be improved, 25 July 2013
By 
A. Shepherd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very informative guide to Iceland. Detailed and thorough about places to visit in every region and a good section on history and other informaation. Had I purchsed the paper version, I probably would not have any complaints. However, I bought the e book version and I found trying to find things, flicking back to pages etc quite a labourious process and I found the maps so small that they were effectively useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was useful during our trip to Iceland. Shame it doesn't forecast the northern lights but likely there is a website for that!
Would def recommend the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6498d08)

This product

Iceland (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Iceland (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Jo Bindloss (Paperback - 1 May 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews