Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great bicycle routes through France
Used the LP to bike from Nimes to Carcassonne. LP did a great job of outlining the trip. Each day there was a map that showed the elevation of the ride, detailed directions, and what to expect. Unfortunately, in the trip we took, some of the descriptions were vague on what to see or how to get around, so I would have liked to see more details on this. Also, a few new...
Published on 20 Aug 2001

versus
33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No entry for Calais?
This book is probably great if you're at the planning stages of a trip. If you're after general information about getting to France and cycling, then it's a bit vague. I expect that the majority of English speaking cyclists arriving in France will be coming via Calais or Boulogne, or perhaps over-land through Belgium. This book contains no entry for either French city,...
Published on 22 Aug 2006 by Hannah Dee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good general guide, 30 Nov 2006
I cycled extensively in France (mostly central and eastern districts) in the summer of 2006 and found this book still useful and generally up-to-date. As it covers pretty much the whole of France sometimes some detail is lacking (you must take proper detailed maps - don't rely on the maps in the book), but the lists of accomodation & restaurants, ideas for routes, and general arae guides are very good. I did the Alsatian Wine Route pretty much as described in the book, and found the description, Things-to-see section, etc pretty much spot-on. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Overview, 2 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I bought this in the full knowledge that my planned route was not included among those described. I was after the meat.

Essentially, I needed to know some of the things a complete novice to cycle tourism should be prepared for, what they could expect along the road and how that gelled with France and her ways. That is exactly what you will find here quite apart from some wonderfully thought out and varied routes.

Advice on transporting bicycles, packing panniers and general bike maintenance, while perhaps unnesessary for the experienced, was more than welcome and helps to make Cycling France (Lonely Planet Cycling Guide)essential to anyone planning a Gallic campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Cycling book for France, 22 Dec 2009
By 
L. Gibson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Absolutely perfect book for anyone who would like to cycle in France. Exhaustive in scope, the book covers a variety of difficulties, and would be suitable for cyclists of all abilities. Added to that is the Lonely Planet insights into the specific areas that bring another dimension to your journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We used this book to cycle in Normandy, appreciate many other routes, but we didn't find the information easy to follow or all that accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Jun 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Bought this book with a view to spending a week cycling in France. Wanted some ideas on places to stay etc as didn't fancy a big organised tour. The book contains all sorts of usefull info that I think will be invaluable for my trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars antastic, 26 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Excellent book as a starting point for route ideas - but essential use it with a road map for extra detail and alternative routes/extensions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable and easy to use, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
We first used the guide to cycle round the champagne region (from Epernay round the Vallee de la Marne). The instructions are extremely clear, even if you do not have a GPS. When in doubt over a road sign, we always followed the book's instructions, and they never lead us astray. Great book, you can set out to explore with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 5 Sep 2011
By 
F. Readhead (cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A great book for the money and essential for those contemplating these cycle routes - go for it. I ma now planning in an informed manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Put Together, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
This is a typical Lonely Planet guide; it gives clear advice but is intended to give you set routes. If you're making your own way it's best to treat it more generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling France Lonely Planet Guide, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Very useful and detailed book. Routes were easy to follow. Would recommend to anyone going cycling in France. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Cycling France (Travel Guide) by Ethan Gelber (Paperback - 21 Aug 2009)
£10.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews