Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife and Travel Photography in one book - GREAT, 14 Aug 2006
By 
Tony Hobbs (Bristol, S Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
This is a terrific book, the pictures are superb, and the included advice which includes technical data, is a real bonus! The book is very compact, so will easily fit in a (large!) pocket!

It contains information of use to ALL travel photographers, it just illustrates the point with shots of wildlife!

It doesn't show any examples of histograms, but as a travel book and not an exposure book it has no need to, but it does at least mention them!

The 1st 40 pages or Part 1 (after introduction etc!) is about the gear and how to look after it!

Part 2, another 40 pages, is about Technical Elements, Exposure, Composition and light.

Part 3, 30 pages, is entitled Being Prepared, Planning and Research, At Your Destination, which includes tips on clothing and climates.

Part 4, about 50 pages, is about the different subjects, entitles On The Road, and suggests lots of lovely destinations from the local zoo to a safari in Africa!

All this is fitted into a small book but it is well laid out around great photos!

Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 7 Oct 2006
By 
Darren - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this ready for a trip to Yellowstone National Park this year and hoped it would help me get some great shots.

I have to say I wasn't disppointed by this book, although my pics never matched up to Andy's.....

It is clearly laid out with sections covering equipment, setting, techniques and where/when to go. None of it is patronising and there is an element of humour in it too.

I would recommend this to anyone planning on photographing wildlife either on Safari or their back garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb practical guide to Wildlife Photography, 4 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
Having read many of Andy's other books, and having followed his work for several years, I had high expectations for his next publication. This latest book did not disappoint.

Published in the conventional Lonely Planet format, the guide is perfect sized for a pocket or rucksack. The printing and repro is to a high quality, unlike that found in many other travel guides.

Personally I am not new to wildlife photography, but still have an awful lot to learn. I found the book was pitched perfectly, and skillfully addressed both novice and more experienced users alike. The tone of narrative is such that being educated by it is a joy, and makes it difficult to put the book down.

The book is packed with stacks of practical, real-world advice - leaving the tedious babble about "rule of thirds" (and the like) to the academics.

There are a vast number of photographs in the book. Each is associated with its shooting data, which I personally always like to see in photography books. The quality of the photography really does go to backup the author's credentials, and are truly inspiring.

For those of any level wanting to get involved with, or improve their wildlife photography, I do not think I have found a better book. An absolute bargain price for what you get and, in case you haven't gathered, I can't recommend it highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly recommended, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Andrew W (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
An excellent book that does what it says on the cover! Lots of advice on photography technique, and great photos to illustrate the advice given. It is small and light enough to fit in a larger size coat or rucksac pocket, to take with you on your travels, for advice or inspiration. Well worth getting.

95% of the book is also useful for wildlife photography near to home. You don't need to be travelling abroad (or really travelling anywhere!) in order to benefit from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What the Doctor Ordered!, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
Unlike the majority of photography authors Andy Rouse goes to great trouble to explain the way each shot was set up together all the camera settings. Others authors use their book to display their prowess but not how to even remotely try to achieve the same degree of skill.

I have been photographing wildlife for many years and have learned considerably from Andy's book. It is an absolute mine of information and well-worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wildlife photography by andy rouse., 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
Although this was written by Andy several years ago when Digital photography was not as advanced as today, this book still gives essential advice to anyone intending to concentrate on wildlife photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars s described and arrived on the anticipated dateI I am well pleased. Mike, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
.
s described and arrived on the anticipated dateI I am well pleased. Mike Hudson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great contents dubious binding quality, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book from Amazon and started reading it immediately, it took me about 2 weeks to read and was treated very gently (I don't abuse my books by bending the spine back or anything). By the time I'd got to the end the cover had come away from the spine and the pages were starting to come loose at the back. I contacted Amazon about the problem and they immediately sent out a replacement and requested the original back. This is a good book in terms of subject matter, I'm not sure about the longevity of the binding though. I haven't really used the new copy so I'm not sure if my problem was a one off or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides)
Wildlife Photography (Lonely Planet How to Guides) by Andy Rouse (Paperback - 1 Jun 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews