Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much to do...
This book proved a useful ally while travelling around Australia (From Northern Victoria, up to Alice Springs, Ayers Rock and Kings Canyon, across the Northern Territory to Cairns, down the east coast to Sydney and finally to Melbourne). It consistently recommended reliable hostel accommodation, cheap places to dine out and insightful information about all of the areas...
Published on 26 Jan. 2004 by chrisjparr

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visiting Australia?
We bought this book on recommendation from friends. It's ok as long as you don't take TOO much notice of the advice and 'go with the flow' when you're actually in Oz! Some of the writers who have written in this book actually do live in the Australian cities they're writing about - so it can be a little biased to say the least! The section about Melbourne in...
Published on 5 Dec. 2008 by "Have Family will Travel"


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So much to do..., 26 Jan. 2004
This book proved a useful ally while travelling around Australia (From Northern Victoria, up to Alice Springs, Ayers Rock and Kings Canyon, across the Northern Territory to Cairns, down the east coast to Sydney and finally to Melbourne). It consistently recommended reliable hostel accommodation, cheap places to dine out and insightful information about all of the areas visited.
If there is one criticism, it would be the concept of the book itself- that is an attempt to condense all the useful information about a country the size of North America in to one volume. The enormity of this task means that the book treats some subjects a little briefly, although it is a small criticism, as this single volume did seem to contain information on even the smallest towns and villages I encountered in the Northern Territories, for example.
All in all, a useful book. Ideal for anyone considering travelling the country over a large period of time, although not ideal for anyone only visiting one or two places- but if you take my advice, you'll want to spend a few months out there, and take in as much of the country as it is possible to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Direction for Lonely Planet, 3 Feb. 2004
This new ed. marks a change in style for Lonely Planet and a new direction for their guides. Crammed with a new colour photo section, more detailed maps and a fantastic 'itineraries' section, this guide is by far the best book about Australia on the market. It has extended entires on places to stay/eat/socialise and more on what to do- including tours/sports/culture/festivals etc. It also includes much more detail on travel specifics, like rail/bus/boat times, and gives advice on the best ways/times to go- essential for anyone planning to backpack or do their own thing. Even the most remote areas have some coverage and though there's a lot to fit in one book, this guide does it with style! The book is easy to read and the information is accessable yet it is still interesting, and at times amusing,- the perfect travelling companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting Point, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
J. R. Weir "John" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Australia (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
No single guide to an entire continent could ever be comprehensive, but the Lonely Planet guide has a good stab at it.

The guide is well presented and well organised, being divided up by state. City and Town sections are presented in the standard Lonely Planet way, with an introduction, maps, lists of places to sleep, shop, eat, drink etc. For me the standout feature is that the guide supplies a web address (where there is one) for every listed establishment, museum, tour company etc. This provides a great starting point to find out if what they suggest might really be for you or not, and to plan your trip. Crucially all of the information that I have relied on is up to date.

Having also looked at the Lonely Planet East Coast, Queensland and Sydney guidebooks I would say that there is enough information in the Australia guide book to preclude purchasing a more specific one.

The only major problem, as I believe with all Lonely Planet books, are the awful town and city maps. While they are just suitable for establishing if a bar you're interested in is anywhere near your hostel, they don't really provide a means of getting you there with much chance of success. The tiny versions of the public transport networks for Sydney and Melbourne are a nice idea, but not practical unless you were to go to the effort of making an enlarged photocopy version. In contrast however, the larger scale maps are quite deceent and fairly useful.

In conculsion I was extremely pleased with this guide, which made an excellent starting point for deciding what to see do and experience in Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide if you're seeing a lot of Oz..., 18 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
I found this book very useful. It's most useful for planning a trip. I brought it before starting a round the world trip and it was useful to work out what are the must sees, how to get around and when's the best time to go.
Of course as a guide to the whole of Australia it doesn't go into to great detail but it tells you more than enough to give you an idea of where you should stop off on a tour of the country. The popular spots, e.g. sydney have more detail. One of the best things about the lonely planet books is that if you've read one before then the rest follow the same organisation, i.e. you know exactly where to look if you need to know about currency or transport etc etc. Hostel descriptions were good, though the prices fo things change and hence can be a couple of dollars more expensive than quoted in the book but other than that we didn't find any problems.
Overall - good quality, well written, concise guid to Australia, great to plan a trip and great to show you around when you're there! 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for planning your trip to Oz, 22 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
I bought this book before I left for my trip to Oz so that I could plan where I should go and what I should see. I found it very helpful for this purpose and enjoyed reading it as I progressed round this huge continent. It certainly gave me plenty of ideas. However, it was not good on the cost of things from a cup of coffee, to entrance fees and hotel accommodation so my budget for the trip was greatly exceeded. It has not been updated since the beginning of 2002 and bearing in mind the number of persons travelling around Australia, I would have thought it should be updated at least annually. Also, it was not good on accommodation options unless you are a backpacker and want hostels. I found the tourist information offices useful for this purpose. Having said all this, I would not have got as much out of my trip if I had not had this guide with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly more budget orientated than previous editions, 23 Jan. 2008
By 
Previous editions of this book have been criticised for focusing too much on mid range and expensive places to sleep and eat whilst leaving out cheaper, more budget-orientated options. This edition (14th) is aimed at restoring the balance slightly, and from what I can see it appears to be an improvement. There are a lot of guidebooks for Australia on the market so it is just a matter of finding one that is to your taste, but this one is definitely full of comprehensive information for your trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet: Australia, 11 Jun. 2003
By 
Ms. B. Hufton "Beverley" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would like to say that I have read this book over and over again. I found that it was my lifesaver whilst I was visiting Oz. Although, I agree lots of people read the book, even if the most popular hostels are busy (depending on time of year) there are always plenty of alternative accomodation to refer to. I certainly used it like a bible. The information is accurate and up to date, allowing the more dangerous of places to be avoided (especially when travelling alone) and giving the best reviews on where lots of back-packers hang out!!
I have loaned my book to several friends also visiting oz on a budget and they too have said it was a godsend!!!
Love it and wouldn't be without it!! Accurate and precise information with lots of extra tips and advice..
Loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the way to travel, 10 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Australia (Lonely Planet Country Guides) (Paperback)
This book is the de-facto book.

I travelled Oz and Tas on it, as do most other travellers.

If you want a guide book, go get one, this will tell you everything in a concise way - as this is what a traveller needs.

There are many other books out there, rough guides etc, but trust me everyone who is anyone uses lonly planet. They are far from perfect, but it has everything u need in it, prices, phone numbers, how to get around, itineries etc. For the reviwer who said it doesnt have iteneries, did most definatly does - near beginning. but you do have to cross reference each point to other points in the book, there isnt space to repeat stuff!!

You would do well getting this book way before travelling, and planning it using a big map, looking at points of interest in the book, and using the net etc, travelling forums etc.

So get this book, whip out a map, and a highlighter. Travel light, go hard.!!!

Matt

(Travelled Oz and Tasmania for one year in 2005-06)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visiting Australia?, 5 Dec. 2008
We bought this book on recommendation from friends. It's ok as long as you don't take TOO much notice of the advice and 'go with the flow' when you're actually in Oz! Some of the writers who have written in this book actually do live in the Australian cities they're writing about - so it can be a little biased to say the least! The section about Melbourne in particular, goes on 'forever' about the city and says very little about some of the beautiful areas around Melbourne (Yarra Valley and the Dandenong region - both of which are about an hours drive from Melbourne get hardly any mention yet there are loads to see and do there! Luckily both have excellent Tourist Information Centres which are far more helpful!). There's also little information in this book about the road tolls. It's probably worth going online and looking this up before you go if you intend on doing a lot of driving, as information in Australia itself is also quite confusing and contradicting (in some cities you pay at a booth, in others it's done by 'licence plate tagging' - so you have to purchase via a setup account before you use the tolls). There could be a lot more information for young families visiting Australia in this book. Overall, it's worth buying and I would recommend it for first time visitors/backpackers to Australia but I think the information we found on the web and at Visitor Information Centres in Australia was far more useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best guide for travellers, 28 Feb. 2010
I'm a big fan of Lonely Planet guidebooks, and this one made my travelling round Australia enjoyable and easy. It's always hard when you get one book to cover the whole country, as inevitably you wont get the detail you get from regional or city guides, but if you only want to carry one book round with you that's the price you pay. And really, you get plenty good enough detail from this to set you on the right path and plan your routes. With the usual maps, descriptions, highlights, etc. you'll find all you need in this for what's probably going to be the trip of a lifetime round this gorgeous country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Australia (Lonely Planet Country Guides)
Australia (Lonely Planet Country Guides) by Meg Worby (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews