Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could need for the basics
I brought this book along with another book and set of tapes that was really expensive, the lonely planet phrasebook has turned out so much more usefull, I have been writing to a nepalese person with the books help. It is cheep, full of usefull info and set out really well with loads of tips on culture and stuff too. A MUST.
Published on 3 Sept. 2002 by Lisa Curry

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to fit in your pocket, but not so easy to use.
The book gives an interesting introduction to what you should expect in Nepal. It also has a section on the grammer of the language. However, there is a lack of phonectic translations to aid pronounciation, so this doesn't help someone who speaks no Nepali at all. The sections are not labelled in a way that makes the book easy to use. It is difficult to find particular...
Published on 8 Aug. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you could need for the basics, 3 Sept. 2002
By 
Lisa Curry (Stroud, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I brought this book along with another book and set of tapes that was really expensive, the lonely planet phrasebook has turned out so much more usefull, I have been writing to a nepalese person with the books help. It is cheep, full of usefull info and set out really well with loads of tips on culture and stuff too. A MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to fit in your pocket, but not so easy to use., 8 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
The book gives an interesting introduction to what you should expect in Nepal. It also has a section on the grammer of the language. However, there is a lack of phonectic translations to aid pronounciation, so this doesn't help someone who speaks no Nepali at all. The sections are not labelled in a way that makes the book easy to use. It is difficult to find particular words, even though the book itself suggests pointing to words if you are stuck when talking to someone. The size however is ideal, and hints are given within each section about how to behave in certain situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, very usefull and easy to read, 24 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
I brought quite a few books to learn nepali and found this tiny book to be crammed full of info, easy to thumb through with a dictionary in the back, fits in any pocket, this book is a must for... (the price)...you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The size is handy and the grammar chapter is quite a good overview to help you construct your own sentences rather ..., 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
The book is OK. The size is handy and the grammar chapter is quite a good overview to help you construct your own sentences rather than rely on the ones provided. The phrases and words given are pretty useful. The major problem for me is that, being aimed at spoken Nepali, it provides the Devanagari script and a phonetic pronunciation guide, but not a Romanized Nepali equivalent (yes, I know there's no standard Romanization ...) It's therefore of limited use for reading or writing Romanized Nepali in emails, signs and so on, and it's surprising how often you need to do this. It would have been so helpful to have had both. Still good value for the price though, even with this criticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value for money, 30 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
I gave this to my girlfriend as a present and she absolutely loves it. I am Nepali so my girlfriend wanted to learn my language. I got it for her to help her with that. I realised after I bought it that it is designed for prospective tourists who are going to Nepal. So it mostly contains touristy phrases like "where's the taxi stand?" etc. But nevertheless it has a lot of useful stuff for people who are looking to learn Nepali for other purposes as well. Can't go wrong esp. at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good phrasebook, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
I liked this book. I bought it originally for my friend who went to Nepal for a month, but I also had a look at it. His experience was that the book was very useful and because it fits into your pocket you can take it everywhere with you. So whenever you need it you just take it out of your pocketand use it. The content was also good and useful. I recommend this book if you want to travel there and need a small book with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ok, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
this book is ok if you want the basics like greetings,shopping and asking simple directions on the trail.i had fun trying it out in nepal where english is almost universally understood on the tourist trail. however it was kinda nice asking for dwee karlo chia hoina chinnee two black teas no sugar and getting what you asked for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nepalese Guide Book, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
I have several nepalese friends and so I decided it was time to make an effort to learn real nepalese and not just the odd word, this book enabled me to do this and was small enough to be portable. Although some of the cultural references seem inaccurate the language teaching skills are invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Here we go Nepal, 14 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
Good value for money, a handy little book that has most common words like "hello, thank you, etc" right at the front and more of most used phrases and explanations in sections throughout the book. Also explains a little about the cultural differences in some of the sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LT Nepal, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) (Paperback)
I can only say, this book is up to the usual standard of Lonely Planet excellent, informative and a good read. My companion for future weeks. I only wish they also had it in kindle form, I then would have belt and braces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook)
Lonely Planet Nepali Phrasebook (Lonely Planet Phrasebook) by Lonely Planet (Paperback - 18 July 2008)
Used & New from: £6.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews