Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide if you have a car
As usual with Lonely Planet guides, this book covers all the key places and sights, with a good potted history and language crib-sheet. However, it does seem to assume that you will be travelling around in your own car, and doesn't give a lot of information about managing on local transport, which is a shame because help really will be needed with that. I still don't...
Published 19 months ago by John Bullinaria

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst Lonely Planet guide ever?
I've used the Lonely Planet Guides to India, Southeast Asia and Indonesia and each was full of balanced views on what was worth seeing and what was not, places to stay, places to eat, places to catch buses, places to catch trains and so on. They were indispensible, and every traveller clutched their copy close, treating them in the end like old friends. Now I've not read...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by K. S. Clements


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst Lonely Planet guide ever?, 5 Sep 2011
By 
K. S. Clements "tkclements" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I've used the Lonely Planet Guides to India, Southeast Asia and Indonesia and each was full of balanced views on what was worth seeing and what was not, places to stay, places to eat, places to catch buses, places to catch trains and so on. They were indispensible, and every traveller clutched their copy close, treating them in the end like old friends. Now I've not read all the Lonely Planet Guides (which is why I've couched this review's title as a question) but this Lonely Planet guide to Corsica is comletely different. It is not wholly useless, since it does tell you the names of the towns and so on, but it contains very little hard information such as telephone numbers or adresses, nor any sense that the authors have been to the places they describe. It is written in repellent travel brochure-ese, "sun lovers will savour the gorgeous sweep of white sand", kind of thing, and it has none of the honest authority of the other LP guides. Corsica is a beautiful island and if you get the chance to go, you should, but if you do, don't take this. By the end I was very happy to leave this book in the bin, and wished I'd never bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide if you have a car, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
As usual with Lonely Planet guides, this book covers all the key places and sights, with a good potted history and language crib-sheet. However, it does seem to assume that you will be travelling around in your own car, and doesn't give a lot of information about managing on local transport, which is a shame because help really will be needed with that. I still don't like their "new format" as much as the old one, but I guess that's just a matter of personal preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good information, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Great information on all the areas and plenty of recommendations on things to do. Would have enjoyed more photos though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars poor recommendations, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The guide was okay for some of the geography and historical sites, but had a very limited selection of places to stay and eat. In a large city like Ajaccio it recommended only one hotel... the guide enthused about a restaurant in Piana which turned out to be particularly poor and over priced. Try one of the other guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of information, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
I've used the book on my holidays in Corsica and I found it very useful. Lacks a bit of walking detailed information in my view. I got it quickly and in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New format not as good, 9 July 2011
By 
C .M. C. MCGURK (Richmond, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
Lonely planet have changed their long established, easy-to-find-your-way-around formula. The book still contains the excellent info, but one has to hunt around to find it now.
Their maps are still the same excellent quality, particularly the city maps which are more accurate than any others, especially when it comes to narrow windy streets in ancient towns. Be it Calvi's citadel, or Stonetown in Zanibar, I will continue to buy Lonely Planets for at least this reason alone! I guess I will just have to get used to the new format..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars much food and little history, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Per Goller (oslo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
The guide gives you a lot of information about places to stay and places to eat. However it seems like the authors are constantly visiting old friends in these businesses, and not willing to go to or try new places. If you are interested in history and walks, other guides may be better.

Per Goller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A guide book with almost no photos, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
How on earth can you create a guide book where there are only photos the first 24 pages?
Ok you want to save money in print, try black white photos and or drawings.
Utterly uninspiring.

Also there is no detailed map of the entire Corsica.
Some few of cities and small routes by car.

I am pleased we have ordered more guidebooks to inspire us.
Then perhaps I will use this one as a backup.

The new price is almost 22 usd and 14 gbp so not a cheap guide book.

Better luck next edition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great up to date information, 13 Jun 2010
By 
K. Best - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
A really good informative book at a great price. Recommended for anyone who is travelling to this beautiful island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very informative, but photos..., 29 May 2010
By 
R. G. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) (Paperback)
xcellent informative book but if you want to see lots of photos,suggest you buy a different guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b2387c)

This product

Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide)
Lonely Planet Corsica (Travel Guide) by Wilson (Paperback - 22 Jan 2010)
9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews