Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good
I bought this book because it was cheap (50p) and it was definitely worth it. A few of the essays were from books I had already read but were worth another read because they were from good authors. The trouble with taking an extract from a book is that characters and settings can be out of context if you haven't got the bigger picture so it was helpful to have previously...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Kenneth

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring
This book is devastatingly boring. I had to read it for college, but it is so bad, i cannot emphasise it with words. Seriously, don't waste your money, i have no idea why they even made it.
Published on 6 May 2011 by RH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 6 May 2011
By 
RH (UK, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
This book is devastatingly boring. I had to read it for college, but it is so bad, i cannot emphasise it with words. Seriously, don't waste your money, i have no idea why they even made it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly good, 7 Dec. 2012
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
I bought this book because it was cheap (50p) and it was definitely worth it. A few of the essays were from books I had already read but were worth another read because they were from good authors. The trouble with taking an extract from a book is that characters and settings can be out of context if you haven't got the bigger picture so it was helpful to have previously read some of the authors. Without that background knowledge some of the events could have been confusing. What I did find irritating was that a couple of the essays were written in such a bad style that I just couldn't be bothered persevering with them and skipped them. Shame really as it was a waste of bookspace and also irritating that some people don't know how to communicate clearly in writing yet get published!

I found the book made me quite reflective on my own choice of house and whether I have any regrets about not travelling the world constantly like some of the contributors did before they decided to settle in a foreign country. It is also interesting to know what it is that makes people want to settle in a particular place. For some it is the smell of things or the beauty of the setting and for others it is the people they mix with but the house they decide to live in is central to their dream. This is another reason to gripe about the book because in some essays the 'house' hardly comes into it at all. Take Annie Hawes extract from 'Extra Virgin' for instance. In her book she describes her discovery of her house brilliantly and goes to some detail in explaining the anxiety and joy of making it her home yet the extract from her book is more or less about the lack of water she suffered in a freak year and the peculiar Italian behaviour she had to tolerate on family trips.

However these essays are fascinating accounts even if they don't follow the title of the book to the letter. Some of the essayists were the envy of their friends whilst others regretted making their home abroad it seems. The grass is always greener somewhere else isn't it? Or is it? Have you wasted your life living in just one place? Read the book and decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Jan. 2012
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
I'm studying this book for my A-level English course and I have to say I found it extremely dull. Most of the extracts are very hard to read and get in to. I like to read things where I get some feel for the characters but these extracts are purely about the country, culture or home. However I wouldn't slate this book completely, some of the extracts are somewhat interesting, but it's not my thing at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
I only bought this book because I had to study it for A2 English. The first 5 stories in the book are not great. The interesting stories start after the first 5 or so. I remembered some stories, but the rest are just a blur. Not worth it, unless you are studying English or you are interested in traveling ect ect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doesn't live up to the promise of its premise, 30 May 2012
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
I picked this book up in a local charity shop being excited by the premise of it - a collection of musings on living abroad. However after the initial essay by Jan Morris which is excellent, philosophical, poetical and moving too the rest moves into often dull personal rumblings. disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
I am studying this book for the A2 English Language and Literature. It is the most boring book I have EVER had to read, it makes me want to stop my A Level it is so mind-numbing and the hours of my life spent studying it are wasted hours of my life. If you don't HAVE to read this book then watch some paint dry instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book as stated, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
The book is as stated. The delivery time was good. The company selling these books do so at a very fair price so well pleased for a good all round transaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Level prescribed text, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
Okay - Language a bit stuffy, middle-class pretentions I thought. Not the text for our students, chose another to study
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
dont really remember this, but was cheap and cheerful. bought for a college course and did the job well for that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A House Somewhere, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys) (Paperback)
Needed it for a english topic and was a good price, good quality and exactly just what I needed :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A House Somewhere: Tales of Life Abroad (Lonely Planet Journeys)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews