Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2003
This is the BEST Egyptian Arabic phrasebook you can buy. This little book is crammed full of useful words, phrases, grammar and a very useful two-way dictionary. I have The Rough Guide's Egyptian Arabic Phrasebook as well and THIS ONE is far better by miles. This book is ideal for beginners as well as intermediate learners of Egyptian Arabic. This book is a must and at such a small price is DEFINITELY WORTH THE MONEY!
0Comment|92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2006
This is an excellent little book. Don't be misled by its diminuitive size it is a 'Tardis' of information, words and phrases. Instantly usable by beginners and the more experienced foreigner to Arabic alike. Very good value for money.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
This is a really useful little book. It's a very handy size, fits in a small bag on a night out. It has some interesting (if a little odd) topics, and has a useful section on pronunciation at the front. I would say that there isn't much in the way of informal 'local' language. I just moved to Cairo and finding that many of the expressions in the book are quite formal for normal conversations. Definitely a good book to bring on holiday, or as a starter for if you move to Egypt.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
People always like listening to some sentences talked in their language by tourist.
It shows really interest in the culture of the country being visited.

If you want to impress egyptians, you just need to ask them your questions in egyptian :)

This book is really useful! You have a lot of sentences separated in some topics accompanied by their phonetical sound and the arabic written form. All of them are written in colloquial egyptian, used in the street and near to all people.

In the same little book, you have a two-way dictionary and explanations of the use of egyptian.

Really RECOMMENDABLE in your trip to Egypt!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
I took this on my holiday to Egypt and it was very handy especially when using the taxis. A lot cheaper then I've seen in big book shops. It was just really great! Thank You.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Very good value for money. Most of words and expressions are transliterated which is very helpful, especially that some words in Egyptian are written the same as standard Arabic but pronounced differently. Lots of useful everyday expressions, two-way dictionary, and also cultural information about Egypt. One thing I noticed is that both sides of cover have Arabic words spelled from left to right as you can see from the way letters are connected (which i suppose is a technical error) but still the transliteration is ok. I haven't noticed that error anywhere else in the book, so it shouldn't put you off. I would definitely recommend it, also because unlike some phrase books that don't use Arabic script at all, only transliteration, this one uses both: English transliteration and Arabic (Egyptian Arabic is used in speaking only, very rarely in writing, but from an Arabic learner point of view it's really helpful to see Arabic script, especially that every book uses a bit different transliteration code, which can be confusing).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
My father is Egyptian and really enjoyed flicking through this book...

This is Egyptian Arabic, will get you around anywhere in the Mid-East (mostly) but people will definitely know you are speaking Egyptian dialect.

For Egypt it is perfect...try to use this along with real convo though!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
In all an impressive lot of useful words and expressions regarding the small size of the book. I had however one issue: the apostrophes in the romanisation, indicating the sounds "'ayn" and "hamza" (glottal stop) are just the opposite of the common usage so it's a bit confusing. I had to check it all the time in the Arabic script. There is one amazing thing in the book: the essential phrases, emergencies and signs in the inside cover are written in Arabic script FROM LEFT TO RIGHT (!) which of course is utter nonsense. It's like seeing the sign STELIOT on the door of a toilet. It gives an impression of incredible sloppiness. In spite of this I gave fours stars because the book itself well deserves it. Apart from this flaw, inside the book I only found a few minor misspellings in the transcription.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2009
I was very happy with this guide as it covered all the necessary whilst also giving handy hints and tips on things like customs and manners, which are different to ours. Small enough to carry about but it covers everything you would need. I like the fact if you where totally stuck you can just show them what you mean as they have it written in Arabic to.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Wanted to expand on my arabic language.....Having lived in Cairo for a few years I never had enough words to really explain what I wanted to say. This book has helped so much. Not only giving everyday words but how to pronounce them and if all else fail you can point to the words in the arabic type for the other person to read for themselves. Which is also a help for you to be saying it correctly (have had a few the wrong words which had the Egyptians in fits of laughter).....Highly recommended travelling companion to pop into your pocket
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)