Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just a clarification
hello there,

i would like to point out to all these people who are seeking for a travel guide - like i do - that most of the comments are from 2002-2003 and obviously refer to older editions of the book, not the one being sold here which is of 2010!!!

cheers
Published on 2 May 2011 by giorgos

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of Date
After buying 14 Lonely Planet guides in as many years, I would have to say that the guide to Peru is by far the most inferior one that I have bought.
The book can only be used as a "very rough guide". The sections dealing with costs, transport and a number of hotels is well out of date and in need of urgent updating. Even though the book does mention that things...
Published on 3 May 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just a clarification, 2 May 2011
hello there,

i would like to point out to all these people who are seeking for a travel guide - like i do - that most of the comments are from 2002-2003 and obviously refer to older editions of the book, not the one being sold here which is of 2010!!!

cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peru was fantastic!, 23 Nov 2011
What a great book, well worth the purchase. Covers everything you need to know about all the cities. Gave a great insight into the culture and history of the Incas as well.

Only suggestion is for a separate and more detailed section on Maccu Picu, after all, this is not only the crowning glory of Peru, but the whole of South America (perhaps Iguassu comes close though!).

Great book in the series, I will definitely buy my next destination from LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of Date, 3 May 2003
After buying 14 Lonely Planet guides in as many years, I would have to say that the guide to Peru is by far the most inferior one that I have bought.
The book can only be used as a "very rough guide". The sections dealing with costs, transport and a number of hotels is well out of date and in need of urgent updating. Even though the book does mention that things change, the book is not up to the standard one expects from Lonely Planet.
The book's strong points are that it does act as a guide book, it does tell of interesting places that may not be on the usual tourist trails as well as those which are more commonly visited.
However, much of the writing is very self-opinionated and would be improved by having a different style of writing or at least more contributors making serious contributions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review from someone living in Peru, 7 Jun 2003
Disappointing when compared to the Lonely Planet Guide to Bolivia where I have also lived (that guide was excellent and warrants 5*). Has all the main tourist attractions but misses out on some of the smaller places which are essential for anyone here for a longer time and looking for places to visit outside Lima which you can get to in a weekend. That said, I haven't read all the other guides so others may be similiar in content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Information, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all Lonely PLanet books, this offers lots of useful information from treks, to lodgings and places to eat. Recommend this for a long trakking trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect - exactly what you would expect from Lonely Planet, 22 Mar 2013
By 
F van Rijn (Santiago, Chile) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contains all the information you need and, in true Lonely Planet style, awakens your desire to go and visit this beautiful country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peru travel, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything you need to know to plan a trip to Peru

recommended for those travelling there, lacks niformation on how inca trail tour operators work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These guides always help when you go off to unchartered territories, this is not the first guide I have used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date in 2012 - don't buy!, 10 Sep 2012
We normally use the Lonely Planet's main competitor, but given that this book is more recent we decided to give it a try. We bought this book in early 2012 for our trip to Peru in August 2012. We used it extensively during our trip. Non-changeable facts and historical reviews are good, although we prefer the style of LP's main competitor.

However, we consistently found out that many recommendations (opening hours, prices and hotel/restaurants) are out of date or simply wrong - there are so many differences between the book and reality that we wonder if the writers actually checked and updated the information. Don't buy this book as it is now out of date - or at least don't rely on it for prices, opening hours, and hotel/restaurants recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, but misses out a lot of key information, 24 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This book is not bad on the main destinations, such as Cusco, but if you want to go off the beaten track then it misses out too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peru (Lonely Planet Regional Guides)
Peru (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) by Charlotte Beech (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews