Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Very interesting and highly informative. I would recommend this book to anyone who is traveling to the Ionian Islands. Thanks a lot.
Published 6 months ago by Nicholas

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better to go it alone
Having just spent a week in Corfu, I found this book inaccurate, out-of-date, and even worse, downright snobbish. For example, the restaurant reviews for Corfu town were badly researched and we found it payed to follow your instinct and explore the old town for hidden restaurants. Its description of entire the east coast as 'not worth visiting' was entirely unfair, as you...
Published on 28 Jun 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better to go it alone, 28 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Having just spent a week in Corfu, I found this book inaccurate, out-of-date, and even worse, downright snobbish. For example, the restaurant reviews for Corfu town were badly researched and we found it payed to follow your instinct and explore the old town for hidden restaurants. Its description of entire the east coast as 'not worth visiting' was entirely unfair, as you are ideally placed to roam the entire island. Take my advice, no matter where you stay you can always hire a bike or car and move about, it's a very small island!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good intro to the Greek islands, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Going to the Greek islands for the first time next month so this guide will be invaluable. Anyone wanting info in greater depth might need to look elsewhere but this little guide is adequate for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) (Paperback)
Very interesting and highly informative. I would recommend this book to anyone who is traveling to the Ionian Islands. Thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Patchy coverage and not particularly up to date, 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) (Paperback)
When travelling to Corfu with a young child we found this book next to useless. It's very keen on telling you how everywhere developed is spoilt. This smug attitude is rather offputting particularly as the locals in those 'overdeveloped' resorts were some of the most friendly and helpful people we met. The 'unspoilt' beaches mentioned were so out of the way as to have no amenities at all (not even a shop!) which may be fine for backpackers but not so helpful for families.
The guide mentioned a small local supermarket chain which stocked very little in the way of items we needed like disposable nappies and baby food. It didn't even mention the large multinational supermarkets north of Corfu Town so we didn't find out until towards the end of our stay where to buy nappies! I guess multinationals are not Lonely Planet's style but it would have been useful to know about them.
Our patience with the guidebook finally ran out one hot day as we trudged for what seemed like miles from the carpark around the back streets of Corfu Town lugging a large back of laundry only to find the sole self-service laundrette listed had turned into a drycleaner who offered (after some discussion) to do our laundry for an extortionate price if we were prepared to wait long enough.
Don't be put off Corfu though - we had a great time and the attractive architecture in Corfu Town was an unexpected treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Corfu hand book, 7 Feb 2009
By 
D. Brash (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) (Paperback)
This book has been read cover to cover and I will now be able to enjoy my trip to Corfu more with the information gleaned from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides)
Corfu and the Ionians (Lonely Planet Regional Guides) by Carolyn Bain (Paperback - 1 Feb 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews