Customer Reviews


18 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best French cooking book ever, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
Catherine Laz (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
I am French and this book offered me both a nostalgic trip into my childhood and a staple of traditional recipes. I highly recommend it because it contains everything you need to know about French cooking without the fuss of what is percieved as French cooking by restaurateurs. This is authentic and simpler than what French cooking is made out to be. Well done to the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cookery book for real cooking, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
Kevin Walters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
I found my hardbook copy of this in a bookshop sometime ago. I took some time to browse through it and was impressed by the quantity, quality and detail of the photography and the interesting mix of recipes plus background information about the food of France. In an era that's become dominated by the celebrity chef's book, it's often worth making a more informed choice on cookery books to avoid another dust gathering book with the author's mugshot on the front.

The recipe layout is neat, the instructions are clearly written with many of the classic caveats of cooking covered, so the end product often meets the picture perfect results on the opposite page. I know there are mixed views on photography in cookery books but I am firmly of the opinion that you need to know what you are aiming for - the images often convey useful visual hints about degree of browning, sauce viscosity, icing sugar dusting, etc.

There's a good mix of dishes, many will be familiar to a UK audience as typically French others more obscure, some with echoes of British food. There are dishes that are easy to make, others are more lengthy recipes and there are many classic (and great) desserts which are infinitely better than pre-prepared supermarket low-fat, strange ingredients nonsense. There's also very little that I would not be prepared to try to cook (and eat!). This makes it a good book to work through as an exercise in improving your cooking skills.

I have had very positive feedback from friends on the courgette souffle, pithiviers, venison with blackberry sauce, boeuf en croute, tarte au citron, pear and almond tart, duck confit. The chicken consomme is good too if you've got the time.

This paperback edition is the same as the hardback, afaik, so i am not sure why amazon has not linked the reviews (different publishers?). Hardbacks, in general, are nice for cooking as they tend to lay flat easily, but i purchased the paperback version as a gift and it seems fine.

Finally, the photography and writing in the book make it an inspiring and educational book to browse in those odd moments between cooking. This book will gather no dust!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 26 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
This is a book of lovely French dishes. The instructions are easy to follow. The pictures are gorgeous. This is everything that good French food should be - simple, flavourful and attractive.

Following this book is a real pleasure. For anyone who has an interest in cooking, this is a book is a positive joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward yet sophisticated book., 26 Sept. 2009
By 
J. Thwaites (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
I have owned the hard back version of this book for some time now, and it is certainly my favourite cookbook. Have just bought the paperback version as I am kitting out a kitchen in a house in France, and this book just has to be the most important in the kitchen there too! So many fantastic and authentic recipes, it just has to be tried and tested!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Food of France, 7 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
A superb book with a variety of meals within the capabilities of both biginners and the more experienced cook. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Antibes, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
I came across this book in a house in old Antibes and fell in love with everything

about it. The pictures are delicious and the whole layout is good. I tried the coq au vin recipe first and it's a winner. If you want to impress with your cooking go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most used cookery book, 31 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
My husband does all the cooking so for a reward now and again I buy him a cookery book. The Food of France has been the most used book so far. It is definitely his favourite. I have had some lovely meals!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good classic French recipies, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
Used this book while on holidays in France and recommend it as a good introduction to classic French food. Any recipie I tried turned out really well. So I had to buy it for my own collection.The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those who like France and its food, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
Although a little dated, it still has some nice photos of France and French food. It has the well known recipes and nothing out of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good honest food!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World) (Paperback)
Love this book. Ordered it at the dining table 5 minutes after flicking through a friends copy, it arrived at home the day after we did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Food of France: A Journey for Food Lovers (Food of the World)
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews