Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by 'A little taste'......
.....this is a BIG book, bursting with 256 pages just waiting to be read and put to good use in the kitchen!

In paperback format, with cover extension flaps, this colourful little book opens to 256 high quality shiny pages, split over main chapters:

1. bistro
2. farmhouse inn
3. restaurant
4. the market
5. pâtisserie...
Published on 11 Aug 2003 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this book.
I live in France but thought I would try this book. However the menus are mainly not authentic and I was disappointed.
Published on 19 Aug 2011 by Sylvie h.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled by 'A little taste'......, 11 Aug 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
.....this is a BIG book, bursting with 256 pages just waiting to be read and put to good use in the kitchen!

In paperback format, with cover extension flaps, this colourful little book opens to 256 high quality shiny pages, split over main chapters:

1. bistro
2. farmhouse inn
3. restaurant
4. the market
5. pâtisserie

sandwiched between an introduction, entitled:

'a little taste' & a 'basics' section, along with a glossary & a full index.

From the back extension:

'.....This wonderful collection of authentic French recipes has been written by specialists who have kept in mind the home cook and have presented the recipes in a way that will make anyone confident enough to make them.......'

Inside is found typical old favourites such as 'Croque Monsieur', 'Coq au Vin', and 'Tarte Tatin' mingling with perhaps the less familiar but equally appropriate 'Tarte Flambée', 'Boeuf à la Ficelle' and 'Paris-brest'.

Interspersed with 2-page 'special features', e.g.:

* 'foie gras'
* 'la fromagerie'
* 'Champagne'
* 'bouillabaisse'

each giving a glimpse of French daily life, and an even balance of full colour photography of the dishes (including some mini step-by-step ones) and rustic shots, this charming little book doesn't fall short of the mark.

Each chapter opens with a short introduction, followed by the recipes.
Each recipe is clearly laid out with the list of ingredients, the number of servings, and an easy-to-follow, numbered method and the title at the bottom of the page.

A small taste of the other recipes included within:

* Leek and Potato Soup
* Quiche Lorraine
* Salade Niçoise
* Garlic Prawns
* Provençal Tart
* Omelette aux Fines Herbes
* Moules Marinière
* Rabbit Fricassée
* Roast Lamb with Spring Vegetables
* Cassoulet
* Cherry Clafoutis
* French Onion Soup
* Oysters Mornay
* Duck à l'orange
* Boeuf Bourguignon
* Steak au Poivre
* Boeuf en Croûte
* Sole Meunière
* Chocolate Soufflés
* Tuiles
* Ratatouille
* Gratin Daupinois
* Vegetable Tian
* Vegetable Terrine with Herb Sauce
* Vichy Carrots
* Tarte au Citron
* Madeleines
* Mayonnaise
* Choux Pastry

My favourite recipes, to date, are 'Beef Carbonnade', from pages 76/77, and 'Navarin à la Printanière', from pages 84/85, both of which make great use of my most favourite dish.

And....to finish....this is a very hard choice.......one of the following creamy puds:

* Crème Caramel
* Crème Brûlée

or

* Petits Pots de Crème

Simply a super taste of France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make your own fabulous French cuisine at home, 10 July 2009
By 
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
This, like the other book in this series that I own, is a simply fabulous cookbook. It has everything that the learning chef wants: straight forward recipes with clear instructions, great photography which makes you salivate while choosing want to make, and great results. I've made so many dishes from this book, and never been disappointed. There are main meals, salads, fish dishes, pastries and desserts. A really great value book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Taste of France, 17 Oct 2010
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
Beautiful book, full of lovely illustrations and with a lot of easy to use/read recipes. Also has some fascinating little write-ups on the French and their way with food/their lifestyle - so partly travel book! An absolute gem of a book - will now look out for the other titles in this range of 'Little Books'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, really, tasty food!, 5 Dec 2008
By 
Ms. E. Cha (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
I received this as a gift for my birthday after asking for a french recipebook. For me, I'm not just interested in food for the sake of it being food, but am also interested in the big role it plays in culture. This book offers easy to follow, tasty recipes, alongside insights into French food culture! It's great and has tantalising photos as well.

Highly recommended and great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this book., 19 Aug 2011
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
I live in France but thought I would try this book. However the menus are mainly not authentic and I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only French cookbook you need, 9 July 2014
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
This is my favourite cookbook. I don't think I will ever need another resource on French cooking!

This has all the classic French dishes plus the 'fundamental' recipes for how to make frangipane, creme patisserie, sweet pastry, mayonnaise etc. Even the more complicated dishes tend to have ingredients that are relatively easy to get hold of.

There is much more than just the recipes in this book, with double-page features and a useful glossary. I wholly recommend this cookbook. Such a lot is backed into this lovely little book, with lovely images too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of France, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
I bought two of these as stocking fillers for friends at Christmas. Both arrived promptly and in good condition, though from different vendors. Would recommend them for those new to French cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a cook book, 29 Dec 2012
By 
MAJM (Granada, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
If you're looking for something more than a simple cookbook, this book is perfect for you. Among a brilliant and wide selection of traditional French recipies, illustrated with excellent photos, you'll find short stories describing the cultural importance of some typical ingredients, plates or culinary traditions. That's why it's much more than a typical cook book. It will not only help you to cook French dishes, but will improve your knowledge about French culture and culinary customs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good!, 10 Dec 2006
By 
S. Pac - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
I bought the book for the pictures and then tried the recipes. They are delightful. Easy to follow and not crazy preparations as some other books are full of. If you like cooking, it is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a staple french diet, 23 Jun 2009
This review is from: A Little Taste of France (Paperback)
i went to cook in france and had this book as a great guide to many of the typical french dishes. i also use it as a great pastry guide which we know the french are so good at. this book is a constant inspiration and is also a handy sized book to carry around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Taste of France
A Little Taste of France by Murdoch Books (Paperback - 1 May 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews