Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and powerful departure from her more traditional romances
Radclyffe’s “First Responder” series is turning out to be an excellent and powerful departure from her more traditional romances. Thoroughly enjoying the exploration of powerful women in difficult roles. This is by far the grittiest of Rad’s output. There is a tension and suspense we don’t get from the romances, however much we love them. The...
Published 4 months ago by VelvetLounger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too short and lacking in depth
More and more this author is publishing for the sake of it and to a schedule. This had the potential for deeply moving thought provoking script but was marred by the need to write to a formula. The characters needed more depth and for that to happen more words were needed. Far too short and with too many gaps in the dialogue.
Published 5 months ago by Ruth McQuater


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and powerful departure from her more traditional romances, 29 Sept. 2014
Radclyffe’s “First Responder” series is turning out to be an excellent and powerful departure from her more traditional romances. Thoroughly enjoying the exploration of powerful women in difficult roles. This is by far the grittiest of Rad’s output. There is a tension and suspense we don’t get from the romances, however much we love them. The characters are full of strength and stubborn determination. Strong women in traditionally male jobs, role models, setting a standard as doctors, fire fighters and soldiers that any young woman would be proud to follow.

The charters of Max and Rachel draw us in. They are both powerful women who have chosen difficult and dangerous careers. They are stubborn, strong, loners in a crowd. They never ask for help, even when they need it. And they both fear failure more than anything. Powerful but flawed, they are extremely three dimensional. At times so alike, it is their very independent strength which balances them. Radclyffe often writes books based around the strong/weak, rich/poor dynamic where one character ‘rescues’ the other. Here, while the Max is the warrior and it is literally her job to rescue Rachel, the pair become mutually self-reliant and that allows a much more rounded interaction.

The plot is tense and interesting. Without wanting to give away any spoilers, just when you think the main adventure is over you notice you are only half way through, and another set of challenges pops up to keep the suspense moving. The setting is well done, the descriptions evocative and the heat of the jungle oozes off the page, along with the fear and resolve these women exude.

I have been critical in the past of Radclyffe producing too many repeats. This is an excellent change of pace, a well written and compelling read that puts her right back at the top of her game. It captured my attention from the start and kept it. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too short and lacking in depth, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More and more this author is publishing for the sake of it and to a schedule. This had the potential for deeply moving thought provoking script but was marred by the need to write to a formula. The characters needed more depth and for that to happen more words were needed. Far too short and with too many gaps in the dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a big Radclyffe fan and this didn't disappoint. Exciting plot and great characterisation as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have to start by saying I love Radclyffes work, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to start by saying I love Radclyffes work. I have read every single title published to date and that's why I'm a little disappointed by Taking Fire.
As with all Rads work the characters are likeable and you care what happens to them. This just seems so rushed.
As far as the story goes you'll have to read it for yourself and please do its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great. Book, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyable hotmail k. Great story written with passion. The book is awe inspiring. It captivates the horror of war and the exhilaration of true love. Hey what can I say I'm a romantic at heart and love can conquer all. Heart book, easy read and hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good novel, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have read Radcylffe novels before then you pretty much know what to expect in terms of characters. There are no surprises. It's a well told story & a good read. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Radclyffe, 10 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, that takes you to the heart of war and how it changes lives forever.
Radclyffe you have produced another great book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. Personally think this is one of Radclyffe's best! Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Taking Fire: A First Responders Novel (Paperback)
couldn't finish this it was so dull.. what has happened to Radclyffe?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Taking Fire: A First Responders Novel
Taking Fire: A First Responders Novel by Radclyffe (Paperback - 16 Aug. 2014)
£16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews