Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!
I love this book, its been a great addidtion to my library of nutrition books and the recipies in it are fantastic!

Dr McDougal's plan works wonders and this stuff really should be thought in schools to our kids, the book has helped me loose lots of weight and bring my BMI down to around 21 all without doing any exercise! I really dont think i could ever go...
Published 16 months ago by Philip Demetriou

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The starch solution.
Slightly disappointed with this book. Most of the info. is the same as in his other books. The only redeeming feature are the recipes that his Wife has put in.
Published 21 months ago by Patricia


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Philip Demetriou (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
I love this book, its been a great addidtion to my library of nutrition books and the recipies in it are fantastic!

Dr McDougal's plan works wonders and this stuff really should be thought in schools to our kids, the book has helped me loose lots of weight and bring my BMI down to around 21 all without doing any exercise! I really dont think i could ever go back to the standard diet after reading this and Dr Graham's 80/10/10 book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take control of your health, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
I have been following the Starch Solution nutrition plan for two months and after 7 years of statins and blood pressure medication, with my doctors astonished agreement, I am now completely off them. The whole food plant based diet is completely brilliant, and scientifically verified, and this is to my mind the clearest and fullest explanation of what is involved in taking charge and regaining your health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book by a sincere and amazing pioneer., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
John McDougall is one of a bunch of pioneers who advocate a plant based diet as being the healthiest diet for us all to adopt. It is not a diet book however but it explains how our ancestors survived on a starch based diet as many still do today. There are also many amazing stories by people who have been cured of many different illnesses by making the change to a starch based diet. Overall a very interesting book and proof that by changing your diet you can enjoy a healthier life. I can vouch for this as I changed initially to a vegetarian diet and then to a complete plant based diet a couple of years ago and wonder why I didn’t do it years ago. The benefits have been enormous.
I would also recommend you see his many videos on YouTube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those already convinced but requiring a battleplan, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
A perfect introduction to some of the essential paradigms of good health, aimed at an overweight and sceptical audience who have 'heard it all before' from low-carb gurus, supplement vendors and high-carb advocates. Mcdougall provides a framework for understanding who you should listen to when it comes to your health. In sum the admonition is: follow the money.

He does well to cram the science information and also a rather comprehensive game-plan into just one book, but just by the nature of such an endevour the science may not be as thorough as some readers might desire. However that is not to say the science information is very dissatisfactory or lacking. If you come to this book with a certain stubborness, you will find the science insufficient so therefore if it's a greater volume of proof you want then The China Study by T Colin Campbell should pass the test.

In general though if you want to possess a considerably greater control over your own health then this book is about as good a place to begin as you're likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not well written, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
I agree with most of what Mcdougall says in this: whole starches really are the solution to most of our health problems. I believe that Mcdougall is one of the best nutrition experts out there and that he promotes a practical, inexpensive, healthy diet that can solve many health issues (as well as promote compassion to animals, protection of the environment and better stewardship of resources). As a general rule (there are exceptions) vegetarians normally tend to fail when they don't center their diets on starches and don't get enough high quality calories from carbs, i've seen this in my own personal experience when i tried to follow a diet high in vegetables and lower in starches: i felt weak and without energy, i simply wasn't consuming enough calories and when i reverted back to a starch based diet my energy shot right up again and i began feeling great. All major civilizations have always based their diets on starches and have thrived and all endurance athletes have always had to follow a starch based diet in order to win. My only criticism is that the book is not very well written and certain chapters are actually just parts of mcdougall's newsletters (some are really great but he could have rewritten them). Overall i would say the China study is probably a better book but the Starch solution has some superb information and is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book if you want to feel great, look great, and never feel hungry or like a failure again!, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good! (Paperback)
An incredible, moving and insightful book - a very valuable read to anyone who is struggling with their health, weight or stuck in a bad relationship with food due all the many misconceptions about food and fad diets that are constantly being force-fed to the general public.
Following a vegan, starch based diet provides you with optimal energy, you feel in a great mood, your digestion is better, skin complaints clear up and you are NEVER HUNGRY! There is no calorie counting and all the meals are just delicious and oh so satisfying.
Thank you Dr McDougall - this book has transformed my health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener !, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant. It's a pity that the sound advice will be missed by the majority.of people who are all brainwashed by the food industry and
Government for the sake of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a whole food plant based nutrition book that doesn't turn out cranky., 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have recently read a number of books in the area of whole food plant based nutrition and they all seem to start out well but then in some way leave me feeling I can't share that with friends for fear of being branded some sort of a freak.
For example Eat For Health by Joel Fuhrman starts out great, but seems to advocate living on 1300 calories a day - surely madness for an active person?
The Starch Solution gives the health benefits of a plant based diet whilst providing all the energy you need to live an active life.
For an entertaining but opinionated advocate check out Durianrider on YouTube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAVED MY LIFE AND CONTINUES TO DO SO., 19 Feb. 2015
By 
Nancy Brady "NancyNurse" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ended up flying half way around the world to attend his Ten Day Live-In Medical Center and it literally saved my life! Going on three years now; it was the BEST MONEY I've ever spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual Standard, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought the book to be his usual high standard but repeated a lot from previous books. I was disappointed though when if came to the recipes, there were so many for 6 or 8 servings! Excellent book to buy if you are thinking of going on a plant based diet. Tells you everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Starch Solution: Eat the Foods You Love, Regain Your Health, and Lose the Weight for Good!
£11.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews