Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A greal sequel
Great to read about Daniel McEvoy again. Tremendous humour, as you'd expect from Eoin Colfer and a welcome sequel. Mrs NM
Published 2 months ago by Mrs N Mitra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Not as good a Eoin's other books. Altough quite entertaining in places, it was quite hard work to read. There was a temptation to skip read some parts to get back to the main plot.
Published 15 months ago by R Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A greal sequel, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed (Kindle Edition)
Great to read about Daniel McEvoy again. Tremendous humour, as you'd expect from Eoin Colfer and a welcome sequel. Mrs NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great but read Plugged first, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed (Kindle Edition)
Great but read Plugged first. Imagine someone who receives a hot jalepeno chilli enema. Well this is just as funny and entertaining (I am talking about the first book, Plugged). Well this book is almost as good. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed this book, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book, at times made me laugh out loud other times I was keeping my tears in, worth a reas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars watchman, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed (Paperback)
Excellent book , very funny and a great storyline . Having read Plugged I was looking forward to this book enormously and I was not disappointed . Would easily recommend it to all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher meets Stephie Plum - Hilarious, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Screwed (Kindle Edition)
I read the first in this series and couldn't wait to read this one. Sat down and read it in one evening. Grinning to my self all the way through. Its a wonderful p*ss take of the Jack Reacher Joe Hunter ex army guy - type books. I love those as well but this is really fun. The scene where Dan McEvoy is abducted by two bent cops who dress him up in a pink jock strap and try to use him in a snuff movie nearly had me crying with laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screwed (Kindle Edition)
I was looking forward to this book, I enjoyed the first in this series, as Dan himself says, trying to hard to be a smart arse, all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another midnight run, kind of..., 15 Sep 2013
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screwed (Paperback)
I remember watching the Robert DeNiro/Charles Grodin movie Midnight Run when it first came out and looking at my watch after about an hour and a half and thinking: "Fantastic! There is another hour to go!"

I had a similar reaction after about 200 pages of this book: "Great! There is another 100 pages to go!"

Screwed is the second in Eoin Colfer's series about the misadventures of ex-Irish Army sergeant Daniel McEvoy on the fringes of the New Jersey criminal underworld. In this novel Dan is required to deliver a package to a criminal in New York in order to part-pay a debt to another local crime lord. Nobody says "Its a midnight run, for crissake!" but you know, because this is Dan's world, that the rest of the book is going to chart a couple of days for Dan similarly fraught to the ones Grodin and DeNiro endured all those years ago. Indeed, nothing is ever as straightforward as Dan would like it to be and the novel charts Dan's subsequent antics hoping from frying pans to fires and back again.

The series seems to be finding its feet with this novel: its funny, exciting, and with a welcome reduction on some of the wise cracking of the previous novel even if Dan does tend rather too often to "with one bound" free himself from some terrifying situations. Still the novel is knowing enough to forgive this and leaves one looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Screwed., 12 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Screwed (Hardcover)
Have waited for the follow up book to Plugged as I enjoyed it so much. Screwed continues the same characters and the same humour as Plugged, and is a chronicle of the trouble that one man can find himself in when surrounded by villains from all walks of life. Now waiting for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cut the jokes and get back to the plot....., 30 Jun 2013
By 
A. F. Prestwich (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screwed (Hardcover)
I have liked his other books but Eoin Colfer ruined an interesting plot with far too many jokey episodes and fond memories and if he continues in this manner I think he will start to lose readers.
As another reviewer wrote 'it was a hard read and at times you wanted to skip sections to get back to the plot'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Screwball noir that mixes slapstick violence with gallows humour, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Screwed (Hardcover)
Screwed is a screwball noir that rattles along a quick clip, with McEvoy pinging from one dose of slapstick violence and gallows humour to another. Colfer has an engaging voice and the narrative is witty and sassy, with a number of laugh out loud moments. As with all comic crime capers the plot is a little ridiculous and the characters lean towards caricature, but that's a key part of what makes them work. Colfer sets out a series of quirky plot strands then weaves together to form a story full of collisions and ricochets, whilst also filling in more of McEvoy's family back story. As I noted with respect to the first book, Plugged, McEvoy seemed a little out of key - he's meant to be scarred with deep psychological flaws courtesy of an abusive family upbringing and his time as a peacekeeper in the Lebanon, but he seems way too together, clear thinking and assured in his own violent abilities to fit that mould. Moreover, some of the humour seems a little forced at times. Nevertheless, Screwed is good rollicking fun and an enjoyable second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Screwed
Screwed by Eoin Colfer (Audio CD - 7 May 2013)
21.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews