Customer Reviews


432 Reviews
5 star:
 (237)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patterson is Back!
This is an entertaining thriller by James Patterson (JP) and co-author Marshall Karp. Since the banality of 'Zoo', I wondered when JP would produce another page-turner. Here we have it. Short, snappy phrases and chapters in the old style. This novel involves the NYPD high-profile response team 'Red Squad'. Their assignment is to oversee and protect a glamour event of...
Published 23 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly written book
This book appears to have little input from James Patterson and is not well written. I would never recommend it to another lover of detective/crime novels.
Published 13 months ago by brenda porter


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patterson is Back!, 26 Oct 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
This is an entertaining thriller by James Patterson (JP) and co-author Marshall Karp. Since the banality of 'Zoo', I wondered when JP would produce another page-turner. Here we have it. Short, snappy phrases and chapters in the old style. This novel involves the NYPD high-profile response team 'Red Squad'. Their assignment is to oversee and protect a glamour event of celebrities gathered in red carpet style in Hollywood in the Mayor's Hudson Week. The challenge is led by Detective 1st Grade Zach Jordan. His regular partner is injured. He is teamed up with Kylie MacDonald as the replacement. They were an 'item' ('baggage' in American terminology). Kylie is married to Spence Harrington, a TV producer. Zach still has more than an urge on Kylie that he needs to suppress.

From the opening pages, the scene is set for the obvious. Despite the special forces and media attention in front of thousands, a famous producer collapses and dies over breakfast. The likely suspects are identifiable but they have their own script, agenda and deviousness not to be apprehended. With other well-drawn characters, psychiatrist Cheryl Robinson, a recently divorced friend of Zach, and in-charge Captain Delia Cates, Zach and Kylie are on the case. Not straightforward as events rapidly take a turn for the worse. More murders, often gruesome and horrific, clearly well-planned, take place, throwing New York into turmoil. The elite of the Red Squad is being led a merry dance into dangerous territory.

Patterson writes with control and the events that follow are lively and not without humorous touches with Zach and Kylie bouncing off each other. The chase for the calculated killer is memorable and tense as any thriller should be with added asides between the protagonists. The outcome may be predictable but does not preclude the tremendous action, suspense and fun that takes place before. This is Patterson with co-author at their best. It leaves plenty of opportunity for a follow-up with the personnel involved. Terrific novel with a hot plot and pace this is highly recommended and something of a relief for the author's legion of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Patterson, 14 April 2013
This review is from: NYPD Red (Hardcover)
This is a definite and most welcome return to form for James Patterson. NYPD Red has everything a great crime book should have, a fantastic and gripping plot with twists all over the place, two brilliant detectives at the fore with the mandatory complicated love lives and the perfect mix of humour and violence. NYPD Red protect the rich and famous but when famous people are getting murdered they appear out of their depth, the two lead detectives; Zach and Kylie make this a brilliant read with their back story and the way they work together. It is a typical format of a Patterson book with short chapters but that only makes me want to keep on reading until I have finished. This was definitely one of the more exciting books by Patterson and is a definite must read for anyone who enjoys reading crime books. I now hope that Patterson develops these characters further and does a series with them as they were so interesting to read about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Patterson at his best, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
Yet another 'can't put down book' by James Patterson, proving he is the best crime/thriller writer around. Keep them coming James!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poorly written book, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
This book appears to have little input from James Patterson and is not well written. I would never recommend it to another lover of detective/crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Audio CD)
Loved it, great story !!!!!! Should be made into a series for telly would make a great cop story. If you like suspense read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars just like in the book, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
Just like in the book this is written by a schlock writer using an unoriginal plot line. The stream of televisual cliches rendered into pros is leavened by a selection of Hollywood science moments upon which the plot depends for its climactic moments. The author had no idea how a boat to boat transfer is achieved on the high seas and had to invent a wickless Molotov cocktail.
The characters are thin and the sex scenes dropped in as blatant titilation.

If you have nothing else to read and absolutely nothing else to do then go ahead and kill a few brain cells with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
This is the last time that I buy another James Patterson book - every time he has a co-author they are just a complete and utter let down - they are not a patch on his original books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, 15 July 2013
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
I just don't understand those who have given rave reviews.

I found this book tedious, simplistic and very dissapointing - I expected more of Patterson and now will not consider anything with his name on the cover (co-authorship is no excuse). The characters are one dimensional and the plot only worthy of a childrens book.

Somehow I did read it all, thankfully it is not a long book, and the short chapters and large text helped further. A few minutes after completing the book, I threw it away so as not to inflict it on anyone else in the future.

I do wonder sometimes whether the publishers write these reviews, Seriously other reviewers, please don't praise this tabloid style writing and encourage people to waste their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it zero stars if I could, 20 July 2014
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
From the beginning I found this boring and badly written but I carried on in the hope that it would get better but it didn't.
His books used to be good (when they were written by him) but now they are not. They get shorter and the font size gets bigger so they don't take long to read. Got just over half way and speed read to the end. If it has somebody else's name on it forget it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Red (Kindle Edition)
The first book by James Patterson that i have read and I am sure it wont be the last. Fast moving story and hard to put this book down. A very enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NYPD Red
NYPD Red (Audio CD)
Used & New from: £7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews