Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book. But will I remain an amazon customer?
I bought from amazon pretty much since its inception and became a loyal customer. That's why I enjoyed reading this book (on my kindle, of course) to reconstruct the company's history that I knew from a customer's perspective: the vast book offering at first, then the additions such as "search inside this book", customer reviews, amazon marketplace, the increasing...
Published 5 months ago by Dr Jekyll

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The rise and rise of Amazon.
Amazing story of a man's focus and determination to make a new technology thrive well beyond most business peoples scope of vision. Bezos attention to what matters to customers and the relentless pursuit of competitive edge should be a wake up call to all business's that trade not just online! it is a window on the future happening right now!
Published 2 months ago by Kevin Clarke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic insight, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great insight to someone who has and is likely to continue to shape the world of commerce over the next few decades

We'll write, informative and an easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very inciteful, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was great to see how jeff bezos mind works and what his expectations are for amazon! It would be good to see a sequel to this in a few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: The Everything Store by Brad Stone, 28 May 2014
By 
Dr. Simon Howard "sjhoward" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Everything Store, by Brad Stone, is appropriately subtitled Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon. I understand that the veracity of the content of this book has been challenged, particularly by Amazon, and I have no way of assessing where the truth lies. With that in mind, I can only comment on the book as it stands.

The Everything Store is so named as Bezos expressed a desire to use the internet to build a store with limitless stock, where one could purchase anything. On reading this, I was immediately struck by the similarity to Harrod’s motto and goal – omnia omnibus ubique – but this is an aspect that is not discussed at all in the book, more’s the pity. I think it would have made a fascinating comparison – the modern retail behemoth and the Victorian equivalent, sharing much the same goals but approaching the problem in totally different ways. But I digress.

Stone’s book gives a comprehensive account of how the company has developed, from it’s small beginnings as a low volume book store, to it’s current world-leading status. It isn’t shy about discussing the financial difficulties Amazon has faced, and indeed still faces. It is difficult to turn a profit on narrow margins, and even more so when one is selling below cost price. It also doesn’t shy away from discussing some of the questionable ethics employed by Amazon, and appears to do so in an even handed manner that is genuinely enlightening.

One particularly good example is the discussion of Bezos’s simultaneous exploitation of and protest against patent law. A lesser author would present this as rank hypocrisy; Stone presents the facts and explains Bezos’s motivation as he understands it. He then allows the reader to determine whether Bezos is acting with reprehensible hypocrisy, or acting in the most logical way possible given the circumstances. I still haven’t quite made up my mind.

The book also gives a comprehensive pen portrait of Bezos as an individual. He is clearly exceptionally driven, possibly to the point of fault, much like his CEO contemporary Steve Jobs. By the end of the book, I was a little tired of reading descriptions of his laugh, but perhaps it is such a dominant feature of his personality that it bears repeating ad nauseam.

To my mind, the book fell down a little when discussing contemporaries and other Amazon executives. The balance between detail and length doesn’t feel quite right in these passages. We are told about many of their childhoods, for example, even though they play a relatively minor role in the story. It feels as though Stone wants to share the detailed background research he has done, rather than concentrating on crafting the broader story and characterisation.

I also found the timeline difficult to follow in some passages. Stone will often abberate from the main timeline to tell the story of how a particular feature or policy developed over time. This means that there is a fair amount of jumping around, and if one doesn’t fully concentrate, it’s easy to get lost.

Overall, though, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was engaging, balanced, and informative. The story is told with a degree of page-turning drive that isn’t typical of business books. I’d highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just click and buy, 3 May 2014
If you don't feel you have learnt at least 10 life transforming things after reading this book - read it again.

Darren Kelly
Author
HELLO PROFIT - Outsell & Outnegotiate everyone with WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Full of details. Reveals the true Amazon-Bezos at least the one I didnt know, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is full of details. It is impossible like some reviewers have said to learn about Amazon and Bezos through newspapers/magazines articles. There is a lot of small details that I dont think they have been published before. It is a good book to learn how companies adapt, evolve and conquer.

I never though that behind that smiley there was a though and ruthless guy. No wonder he has gotten this far. You have to admire his trajectory.

It is kind of scary as well how this company that we all love have wiped out the competition. Perhaps because we are customer and benefit from the low prices we dont get to appreciate the destruction that takes place for many other small/medium and big companies. How far will they go ... read the book and marvelled at their history so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story. Very relevant for every startup that's dreaming big. Especially the pressure to come out of loss making years:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed the book - makes for good read into - dont want to miss this: Amazon is coming to you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One sided view, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The beginning of the book was interesting but my overall view you do not learn enough about how Bezos and other people within Amazon think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Everything Store (Paperback)
It's not as good to read as Steve Jobs recenet biography, but I think the history of Amazon has more to do with actual times than Apple. Focusing in Jeff Bezos, the book could go even further, showing the effect that amazon take in small retailers. Even the IT cloud aspect, could be better explained, beacuse ti doesn't show at all how Amazon became one of the first companies to believe in it. As it happens with other companies, we see that as it grows, it became a financial operation instead of a technology company. The long term vision from Bezos is, above all, a financial speculation. But it is a good book in general and I recommend it to any one who is starting business right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Secret Santa pressie, 2 Jan 2014
Good present for that difficult to buy for male family member. The book looks interesting although not read it personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon
The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon by Brad Stone (Audio CD - 15 Oct 2013)
18.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews