Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a download.
A fantastic, detailed book discussing scientific theories in a very easy to read, civilian way. Diagrams would have been helpful but are not essential. Lots of interesting facts and ideas. Glad I downloaded it - it's one of those books that you make reference to without ever reading. The Kindle Top 100 Free list is very good for reading those sorts of books!
Published on 5 Nov. 2011 by kindler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice to read the original
I read Dawkins like I need to pass exams but it is nice to read the book that started it all. I have read in reviews that this version is incomplete - perhaps this is true, it is hard to tell without checking elsewhere, although it is definitely missing diagrams as would be expected from a community-sourced book.

It has that...
Published on 7 April 2012 by cambsukguy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a download., 5 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic, detailed book discussing scientific theories in a very easy to read, civilian way. Diagrams would have been helpful but are not essential. Lots of interesting facts and ideas. Glad I downloaded it - it's one of those books that you make reference to without ever reading. The Kindle Top 100 Free list is very good for reading those sorts of books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first edition, 28 Oct. 2011
Just to note that this appears to be a copy of the first edition of The Origin of Species, published by John Murray in 1859. Darwin apparently fiddled with later editions. So, it would seem that this is the edition to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Richard Thomas "www.xpd259.co.uk" (Bradford,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
fantastic book, a little hard to read at times due to the 19th century English used also lacks diagrams that are refereed to in great detail making it hard to follow some chapters

But all that been said a insightful read and the grandad of all evolution books

(edited date ooops typo) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know for cultural literacy, 6 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a quick review of the book not a dissertation on Darwin or any other subject loosely related. At first I did not know what to expect. I already read " The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches". I figured the book would be similar. However I found "Origin" to be more complex and detailed.

Taking in account that recent pieces of knowledge were not available to Charles Darwin this book could have been written last week. Having to look from the outside without the knowledge of DNA or Plate Tectonics, he pretty much nailed how the environment and crossbreeding would have an effect on natural selection. Speaking of natural selection, I thought his was going to be some great insight to a new concept. All it means is that species are not being mucked around by man (artificial selection).

If you picked up Time magazine today you would find all the things that Charles said would be near impossible to find or do. Yet he predicted that it is doable in theory. With an imperfect geological record many things he was not able to find at the writing of this book have been found (according to the possibilities described in the book.)
The only draw back to the book was his constant apologizing. If he had more time and space he could prove this and that. Or it looks like this but who can say at this time. Or the same evidence can be interpreted 180 degrees different.

In the end it is worth reading and you will never look at life the same way again.

The Voyage of the Beagle: Charles Darwin's Journal of Researches (Penguin Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice to read the original, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Dawkins like I need to pass exams but it is nice to read the book that started it all. I have read in reviews that this version is incomplete - perhaps this is true, it is hard to tell without checking elsewhere, although it is definitely missing diagrams as would be expected from a community-sourced book.

It has that going-over-the-same-thing-more-than-once style (inherited by Dawkins) that occasionally annoys and occasionally helps.

I am still reading it but I have learned a thing or two and clarified other things. It definitely re-inforces the view - so obvious now - of the method by which life came to be as it is now.

He selects difficult cases, says often that he cannot understand how such an animal came to be but always says that, just because he doesn't know doesn't mean that Natural Selection isn't the cause - just that he cannot work out how it occurred and that someday, someone will.

Given the recent news that yet another strange adaptation which perplexed people (and was presumably used as a anti-evolution argument - an oxymoron of the highest order), that of the reason that some insects like the hover fly don't look much much more like wasps, which they impersonate to avoid being eaten. It transpires that, since they are a small meal, worth little effort, that they only need to be passingly like a dangerous insect to keep predators well away. Any extra 'effort' made to be more wasp-like is largely wasted and better spent on more productive (ie reproductive) efforts.

Anyway, read it if you are into science reading in general, evolution in particular or if you are studying in this area of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Darwin, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Evolution is one of the most corroborated theories in Science why would I not recommend the Origin of Species. When reading it now Darwin's approach to science is a bit too subjective and outdated when compared with research today. However, his motivation to understand and the practical manner in which he carried out his observations were ahead of his time. From reading this book you can very clearly see that he was a lot more than a Philosopher sitting in an armchair. Furthermore, this book is free and quite refreshing to read when comparing it with some illegible recent publications. I would recommend this to anyone who would like to understand a bit more about Evolution and Darwin whether you plan to read the whole book or just a chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-thinks what it means to be human, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Darwin's Origin of Species documents one of those surpassing moments when the very nature and condition of man is questioned, interrogated and re-thought. Like e.g. Marx and Freud, Darwin challenges the basis upon which the category of 'man' is constructed, in this case destroying the divinely-created separation of man and animal.

For a scientific treatise this is very readable, revealing the way in which Darwin is targeting an educated general audience as much as a technical one.

The Kindle edition is fine, with few errors or typos - however, it would have benefited from an active contents table which would allow us to jump straight to specific chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard read but fascinating, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're expecting a rollicking good read with great writing, skip a century and get Dawkin's books instead. As a fan of evolution and science history, this is a must. You really feel Darwin building his argument from basics for a hostile audience, sloooowly sneaking more and more hints of evolution into the book. You also see how much hard work went into checking out his ideas - he became an expert pigeon breeder, and spent years learning all sorts of selective breeding history from agriculture experts.
Don't forget Alfred Russell Wallace was figuring it out at same time too but history relatively forgets him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Origin of the species, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
5 star is all I could really give this book. It really opens your mind to the true connections of every living creature that's ever lived on our planet. I always had a fair average knowledge on evolution but this book showed me how geographical distribution and other such things also play a massive part in the variations of organic life. I recommend this book to people that want to learn the truth of the living world and what to get away from the false claims of the theory of a creator and how Charles Darwin's ideas that are backed up with great theories and evidence, put things in a manner that makes most sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars out of our time, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like to immerse myself in books that share discovery and adventure. This book was exactly that in its time. It is important to remember that the text is written in a style of the English language that we do not converse in anymore. Ultimately to enjoy the book I think you have to be well read and enthusiastic about the era the book was written.

The findings are not really questionable as science has changed so uch since this was written, but it is important to remember that this book forms part of the back bone of what the world has advanced to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Origin of the Species
On the Origin of the Species by Charles Darwin (Paperback - 17 Dec. 2011)
£10.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews