Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait
First a confession: 'The Last of the Mohicans' had been on my bookshelf for four years and I'd never got past the third chapter. But with a five week break between jobs, I knew that if I didn't read it now, I never would. The first half of the book is slow, and Cooper's language is not easy on the modern eye. As other reviewers have pointed out, the plot does seem in...
Published on 17 Sep 2001

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Mohicans - a Classic
I enjoyed the book once I had got to grips with the dialogue which is after all from 1821.

Admittedly a little slow in places and certainly I had to read back over some paragraphs to ensure that I understood because of the flowery language, but with images coloured by modern film adaptations I thought the book possessed of charm and I did recognise the basics...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by BillG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Last of the Mohicans - a Classic, 12 Feb 2011
I enjoyed the book once I had got to grips with the dialogue which is after all from 1821.

Admittedly a little slow in places and certainly I had to read back over some paragraphs to ensure that I understood because of the flowery language, but with images coloured by modern film adaptations I thought the book possessed of charm and I did recognise the basics of the plot.

synonymous with the phrase "Last of the Mohicans" in modern day, Hawkeye does not actually occupy centre-stage but is more a general player and the skirmishes in the latter part of the tale are quite good and the ceremonies emotively described.

Throw away your preconceptions and read it for what it is, an enjoyable tale of a savage time thankfully long-gone but eloquently described.

I am glad I gave it my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
First a confession: 'The Last of the Mohicans' had been on my bookshelf for four years and I'd never got past the third chapter. But with a five week break between jobs, I knew that if I didn't read it now, I never would. The first half of the book is slow, and Cooper's language is not easy on the modern eye. As other reviewers have pointed out, the plot does seem in places tenuous and the narrative over descriptive, but the book's strength is the brilliant characterisation. Despite the setting, as the story develops, the reader can identify strongly with the hopes and fears of the main characters. My fear on first opening this book that it would be irrelevant to my life proved wrong.
This book may be hard-going, but it's worth reading. You need to take some time over it and persevere with the first half, but when you finish the book you'll feel it was worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic tale that will outlive its readers, 22 Aug 1998
By A Customer
The definitive tale of the American frontier in 1757, Cooper's masterwork captures the essence of this corner of American history. A vivid tale of honour, courage and love set against the backdrop of the French-British war, this book will be read and re-read for as long as people still print books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, great illustrations!, 10 April 1998
By A Customer
The Last of the Mohicans is a classic in any form, but with Wyeth's illustrations, Cooper's story becomes a vivid tale of adventure, peril, and nobility long gone. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TIMELESS MASTERPIECE, 20 Sep 2010
One of the all time great books that I enjoyed reading as a boy and was soon lost in the pages again when I started reading it.A classic rip-roaring adventure ,well worth the reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a CUT above your average 'classic'!, 21 Aug 2011
A REVIEW OF `THE LAST OF THE MOHICANS' BY J. FENNIMORE COOPER

During an earlier chapter of `The Last of The Mohicans' (1826), sharp-shooting, white-skinned scout, Hawkeye is trailing the heroes and heroines of the story, all of whom have been captured by the malevolent Huron tribe. Finding and following their trail through the forest is a meticulous, painstaking task that requires no stone to be left unturned and no snapped twig to be ignored. In many ways, this process reflects the novel as a whole. This is a `classic' which takes its time.

Those interested in a summary of the plot of `The Last of The Mohicans' will find such information easy to come by via a range of websites and scholarly studies. Suffice to say here that the action takes place in the mid-1700s - in what is now New York - at a time when the French and British were fighting for control over `The New World'. The book is of definite historical interest as Cooper recreates many of the key events of the struggle with real attention to detail, notably the fall of Fort William Henry and the massacre which followed. In its conclusion, `The Last of The Mohicans' also offers a poignant reflection upon this era in history in which the imperialistic ambitions of white Europeans dictated the fate of the Native American population.

However, to appreciate the incident and messages on offer requires real patience. Indeed, when considered amongst the broad range of `classic' novels, `The Last of The Mohicans' will be appreciated by those who revelled in the unabridged `Lorna Doone'. If, like me, you prefer the more immediate action-adventure of such tales as `Journey To The Centre Of The Earth', `King Solomon's Mines' or `The Prisoner of Zenda', `The Last of The Mohicans' might be best placed towards the bottom of you reading `to do' list.

Barty's Score: 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Effort, 14 Aug 2010
By 
This novel is written in the language of the time, and as with most, if not all 'Classics' this book could be viewed as 'hard-going'; indeed some reviewers have said just that. However it is well worth the effort to read on, as the pace does speed up. A great classic, and a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 4 April 2008
By 
Frank Bierbrauer (Manchester, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book in the Leatherstocking Tales which spans an entire life of a single man: Natty Bumpo otherwise known as Deerslayer in the first book, Hawkeye in this one, Pathfinder in the third book and Leatherstocking in the ones to follow, or just Natty. The Deerslayer concentrated on the early years, his early twenties whereas in this book he has become an experienced scout, hunter and is known throughout the colonies as Hawkeye for his exceptional shooting ability with the rifle known as Killdeer, first obtained in the Deerslayer. Natty is now about 35 years old. Suffice it to say, he is now a man of renown. It starts when he is engaged in rescuing the daughters of Colonel Munro from the revengeful Magua who was whipped by Colonel Munro and swore vengence on the children of Munro. It also covers the time of Braddock's defeat after the loss of Fort William Henry. It discusses, in earnest, the decline of the Native American population in the East. It does this through the tale of Uncas the son of Natty's friend Chingachgok. Uncas becomes a kind of symbol of this decline, a brave warrior with great vigour, constitution and heart the story shows that the sun is beginning to set on the native peoples even though they are yet strong and vigorous.

By far the best of the tales I have so far read, having read the first three. It is more dynamic than the other tales and the story moves forward quickly. It is again written in that old style of the 1800's which has its own character and is not unpleasant to read. I enjoyed this book a great deal.

N.B. The Last of the Mohicans is very different from the film of the same name starring Daniel Day Lewis. In fact I would say the story of the original bears very little resemblance to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely a classic, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Ms. Tj Golding "T. Golding" (Colchester, Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For a book that was written in 1826 it still say alot for the world today. If people read the book in expecting it to be anything like the film with Daniel Day Lewis they would be mistaken. The book starts with the Mohicans and their white brother (Chingahook, Uncas and Hawk eye aka Natty Bumppo) who help protect the daughters of General Munro (Cora and Alice) against the savage trickery and cruelty of Magua, a Huron. The book follows their journeys together climaxing with a final confrontation, which ends the lives of some beloved characters.
To read this you will need to vaguely comprehend (or have a dictionary to hand) French, but this doesn't occur much. The book is beautifully written, but does take a while to get used to, but it is well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 3 Mar 1998
By A Customer
James Fenimore Cooper is revered as one of the greatest american writers...and with a good reason.The last of the Mohicans is a tale full of heroism,sacrifice,honor,love and just about every other intense human feeling.By the time you turn the last page you will feel moved by this great story set in 1757 America.This is a classic I'd highly recommend to just about everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last of the Mohicans
The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper (Paperback - 23 Nov 2011)
10.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews