Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Book
What a surprise HERE COMES THE NIGHT turns out to be. Having thoroughly enjoyed the excellent Ken Emerson's ALWAYS MAGIC IN THE AIR, I imagined there wasn't much more to say about the New York music scene in the sixties. Joel Selvin's book is an excellent extension of, and addition to, the story. The pages are stuffed with entertaining music history and anecdotes...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Eric J. Charge

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sixties New York soul man remembered
An enjoyable book, but not a great one. By the end I knew more about what Berns had achieved but not much more about the man. I didn't find many first hand accounts of what he was like, and got the impression that a lot of the research had been secondary sources, rather than face to face with whoever is left from that talented generation. Jerry Wexler gets a very hostile...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. I. Macdonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Book, 6 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
What a surprise HERE COMES THE NIGHT turns out to be. Having thoroughly enjoyed the excellent Ken Emerson's ALWAYS MAGIC IN THE AIR, I imagined there wasn't much more to say about the New York music scene in the sixties. Joel Selvin's book is an excellent extension of, and addition to, the story. The pages are stuffed with entertaining music history and anecdotes featuring dozens of familiar names along the way. As a fan of sixties pop and soul, it's one of the best music books I have ever read.

The book is very well written and fast paced. Having had my jaw dropped by Tommy James' book ME, THE MOB, AND THE MUSIC, I was well-prepared for the "dirty business" part of the story. What was impressive was Joel Selvin's handling of the more outrageous characters. There was none of that moralising high-mindedness that spoils so many other books, where authors cannot help but allow their own opinions to colour the tales they tell. I was able to make up my own mind about who was "good" or "bad" and came away having been thoroughly informed and entertained.

I ended up falling in love with Ellie Greenwich all over again.

The book includes an awe-inspiring, 35 pages long, Bert Berns discography. The detail in this section, compiled by music expert Rob Hughes, is worth the book price alone. With two Ace Records' Bert Berns compilation CDs easily available (and a third rumoured to be on the way) a newly opened stage show about Bert playing in NYC, and a documentary in production, it seems the uber-talented Bert Berns is finally being given the credit which has been long overdue.

This is an essential book for music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Piece of my heart ..., 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
Interesting book that goes beyond Berns to cover the New York music scene from the 1940s to the late 1960s. As such, it can be confusing at times, especially in the early chapters, when we lose sight of Berns altogether for quite long periods. However, the structure works better as the book develops. Berns comes out of this pretty well, Atlantic - especially Wexler, but also Ahmet Ertegun - much less so. At last the history that Wexler wrote in the 70s is being unpicked. The story about Wexler trying to fiddle Berns, and getting gangland help to do so, and the denouement, is excellent. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars out with a Bang, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
tony mcgrath (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
excellent read ,highly recommend.also there is a couple of cd's regarding the music of Bert Berns that are available on amazon covering this period which goes in tandem with the book .worth looking into .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and well observed., 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Brit employed in the music business with UK and US connections since 1962 I knew 'of ' all those featured in this great read and indeed knew and worked with many of them .
Joel Selvin - previously not my favorite music writer - paints a well rounded and accurate overall picture of the music business world.
Great reportage that captures and good cross section of the fast moving- often very hand to mouth and opportunist entrepreneurism that created some great and now classic music. Indeed check out the Ace re-releases.
I cannot judge the Berns' social and marriage sections as I wasn't there . Mr Selvins Jerry Wexler comment seems a bit arbitrary and whilst somewhat - only somewhat- justified is a little one sided.
If you are only going to have time or interest in reading just a little about the soundtrack to our life then Mr Selvins Bert Berns book should be one of those at the top of your wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sixties New York soul man remembered, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr. I. Macdonald (near enough to Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
An enjoyable book, but not a great one. By the end I knew more about what Berns had achieved but not much more about the man. I didn't find many first hand accounts of what he was like, and got the impression that a lot of the research had been secondary sources, rather than face to face with whoever is left from that talented generation. Jerry Wexler gets a very hostile treatment. I never met him (I wish I had) but I have heard him interviewed on BBC radio and he was a marvelous raconteur who had a major impact on black American music,.so I could have forgiven him a lot. There is an extensive discography of Berns' work which had me scrambling to Amazon but it is far from complete, I have got stuff that isn't on it.

Anyway, here is to the man who made some of the greatest soul music ever, and is up there with Bo Diddley for getting the most songs out of one rhythm! I think I may have learned more about Bert by listening to the fabulous 2008 Ace tribute than reading the book, but playing the one and scanning the other has been bliss. Twist and Shout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
Great service for a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dirty business, indeed..., 26 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Comes the Night: The Dark Soul of Bert Berns and the Dirty Business of Rhythm and Blues (Hardcover)
A substantial book by long-time music critic Joel Selvin on Bert Berns - 'the forgotten man of rhythm and blues'. Jerry Wexler is portrayed as "...duplicitous, poisonous and arrogant" and Bert doesn't fare much better. But from all the grubbiness sprang some of the most sublime of 60s music - 'Twist & Shout', 'Cry Baby', 'Tell Him' and 'Everybody Needs Somebody to Love' being just a sample.
Not every detail of this thoroughly researched work is accurate, though - 'Wipe Out' not '5-4-3-2-1' was RSG's first theme tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews