Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book
This is an excellent book for beginners. It starts of really easy and gets to the more complicated stuff as you go along. The author really pushes you to go through the help files to find what you're looking for. The chapters are quite short, so you don't really get bored half way through and you should be able to finish most of them within 30 minutes. Every few chapters...
Published 18 months ago by M. Chrobot

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's no scripting in here at all!
I'm sorry to say I am disappointed with the content of this book. Yes it takes a complete Newbie through a series of tutorials about what PowerShell is, what it's for, how to run commands, etc., but there is virtually nothing at all on actual scripting. The authors' argument is that PowerShell is primarily a tool for executing administration commands in Windows, such as...
Published 16 months ago by S. GOLDSTONE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
M. Chrobot "M. Chrobot" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for beginners. It starts of really easy and gets to the more complicated stuff as you go along. The author really pushes you to go through the help files to find what you're looking for. The chapters are quite short, so you don't really get bored half way through and you should be able to finish most of them within 30 minutes. Every few chapters there's a review test which covers all the chapters which you're gone through to test your knowledge. If you're struggling with a few of these questions, you should probably go back before moving onto the next chapter. If you're already using PowerShell this might not be the book for you as you'll probably skip through half straight away. I definitely recommend this book for all PowerShell beginners.

NOTE: you should ideally have access to a virtual PC running either windows server 2012 or windows 8 to be able to complete all tasks & examples. If you do not have access to either of those, you can still work on windows 7 however you will need to install PowerShell 3 and unfortunately you will not be able to complete all tasks/examples. Some of the chapters require you to have 2 PCs and even a windows server 2012 domain controller; however you should again be able to accomplish this with virtual PCs. If you're unable to set up and environment with 2 virtual PCs you can always use localhost twice.

The author has also done video lessons for the entire book which are available through CBT Nuggets for this book (link available at morelunches.com) . I found that it's sometimes easier to grasp the concepts when reading the book and the watching the video chapter (or vice versa) while this is not necessary, it might make it easier for you to get working with PowerShell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People who can teach, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
There are people who are smart and those who can teach, people should not write tech to show how clever they are but to help others to learn. This Book is written by someone who knows how to teach without that person already knowing the subject.

No there is no scripting in this book, but it really does teach you how to use the Powershell and is quite clear on that. There is a 2nd book that tackles the scripting elements. It is a good book if you want to make a start on Powershell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's no scripting in here at all!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
S. GOLDSTONE "Simon G" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
I'm sorry to say I am disappointed with the content of this book. Yes it takes a complete Newbie through a series of tutorials about what PowerShell is, what it's for, how to run commands, etc., but there is virtually nothing at all on actual scripting. The authors' argument is that PowerShell is primarily a tool for executing administration commands in Windows, such as setting up a new AD user or adding an event to the Event Log, etc.

But I am amazed to find that there is nothing in the book at all about loops, sequences, if..then..else, error levels, exit codes, how to handle errors, etc.

Almost every example is an interactive command, there are virtually no demonstrations of script files or 'programming' style tasks.

So unless you want to learn how to execute a series of commands in PowerShell one after the other, where you are not interested in whether those commands worked, and you don't want to make automatic decisions based on the success/failure of the previous command, then I would investigate other books.

This is a real shame, because I enjoyed the writing style and their knowledge of the subject. Their approach is very much "bought the T-Shirt" and here are the pitfalls to avoid, which I liked, as it allows me to benefit from someone else's mistakes and experience.

But my argument remains - WHERE'S THE SCRIPTING?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great place to start with PowerShell, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
This book is certainly aimed at beginners who are new to PS. I had used it a little bit, but often came up against errors which then put me off investigating further. PS is the way forward with the command line so getting a good foothold with it is really needed. The book sets the scene of PS and gives the reader the basics. It then builds the complexity of what it can be used for. Being able to access the in-built help system and use that has massively helped me! A good purchase for those starting out with PS or filling in the gaps as there are loads of tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
I use these books as give-aways on my PowerShell classes. The students love it and I will continue to buy as I continue to teach PowerShell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billiant, 10 May 2013
By 
Ian "IM" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
Myself and a colleague have both gone through the month of lunches here - he completed it, I'm yet to... but so far, Brilliant coverage. Those with previous scripting experience take heart, this book is still worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
I came to PowerShell after years of scripting in either Bash or C shells. I therefore found the first couple of days work to be a little simple, However as you go through the book you are introduced to some of the deeper aspects of PowerShell.

As an aside I am very impressed with what Microsoft have done with the new version of PowerShell. All the commands retain a uniform and predictable feel, unlike most of what I am used to in Unix and Unix-like operating systems which feels like they were designed by a committee which never met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learning a lot, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
I am not always getting through one chapter in a lunch break and the review labs can take a long time but I am learning a lot about Powershell and feel I really understand quite a lot. I am over halfway through now. If you are in a rush, forget it. If you want to learn Powershell in a more realistic timeframe than the title states, then this is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. S. O'Brien (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches (Paperback)
too many books on this subject are written by x vbscripters and it makes it hard to understand the subject. This author approaches the subject from a different angle and writes the training book in a way that people new to scripting will understand.
If you are looking for a way to expand your powershell knowledge this is the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches
Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches by Jeffrey Hicks (Paperback - 25 Nov 2012)
23.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews