Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you Well Grounded Yet?
I have been a Java developer for over 10 years, with 5 years of this in the financial software industry. In my opinion this book is one of the best Java books on the market currently. There is something in this book for everyone, if you are new graduate it helps to consolidate your skills in Java. If you're an old hat, this book has a refreshing approach to more complex...
Published 24 months ago by Jim Gough

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - should have browsed the amazon look-inside
- The sections on groovy, scala and clojure waste 100 pages. Much of the other stuff would be better just pulled down from various websites.
Published 12 months ago by Jon B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you Well Grounded Yet?, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
I have been a Java developer for over 10 years, with 5 years of this in the financial software industry. In my opinion this book is one of the best Java books on the market currently. There is something in this book for everyone, if you are new graduate it helps to consolidate your skills in Java. If you're an old hat, this book has a refreshing approach to more complex topics, such as Understanding Performance Tuning which Dr Heinz Kabutz brands as: "The first book since Jack Shirazi's Java Performance Tuning that has captured the essence of how to make your system faster." in the foreword. I think the two chapters understanding performance tuning and modern concurrency are a must read for all developers, and are delivered superbly for all levels.

The book is split into 4 parts, starting with an introduction to Java 7. Anyone who has been asleep for the last year should definitely be reading this section. It presents all the major changes with examples, and is easy to follow and read.

Vital techniques then takes a deep dive into dependency injection - critical to writing testable and maintainable code. The section shows by example an introduction to the critical topic. It also introduces JSR-330 annotations, which as an early adopter of Spring I hadn't looked at in detail myself. The spin then goes into concurrency, and this chapter I finished! Having had Modern Concurrency in Practice on the bookshelf, 4 attempts at reading it and bottoming out around page 50 - I have to say this was refreshing. Modern Concurrency is a great book, but this chapter synthesises the complexity in simple and easy to understand diagrams and explanations. Class files and byte code is another section that many Java developers lack a detailed understanding of - this book adequately covers this topic. It also introduce the opcode detail of invoke dynamic and how that will be useful for developers. The final chapter in this section dives in to understanding performance tuning, which takes a very pragmatic and evidence based approach to finding out why your application might be running "badly". I like this section a lot because it's written from experience, some of the same problems I have run into in my career could have been avoided by reading this chapter first. It also goes into detail about garbage collection basics and structures, a topic which is usually a guaranteed interview question. Also if you thought that Objects were always allocated on the heap, check out page 181 for something you might have missed :-).

At this point your brain might be fried, if so another read of it will make everything clearer. There's hints and tips in the sections for stuff you can skip and that's really useful for the first parse. The next section is slightly easier going and introduces polygot programming on the JVM. If you haven't come across many functional languages this starts with introducing the key concepts and how the compare with traditional Java approaches. We then get the detail of how this all works and we're ready to go with trying out our first functional languages. We get a overview introduction to Groovy, Scala and Clojure. I didn't read these chapters in too much detail purely because of the work I'm doing at the moment. However, I did like the presentation format of is this right for my project, some of the higher level concepts (with solid examples) as well as interoperability with Java. To me this is going to be my holiday reading to see what is going on outside the core space, providing a primer that will be enough for me to go off and do my own research and experimentation.

The final part is about craft, craft is perhaps the one thing that is missing from day to day developers I come across. Craft makes you stand out, it makes you professional and caring about the product that you will deliver. This is one skill you can't get a qualification for, it grows from experience, learning from other and striving to deliver the best you can. The section introduces some key points and approaches you can apply starting today. The chapter on test driven development is another hidden gem in this book, having worked at establishment where testing is finding the problem in production this introduction brought about a new approach to the way me (and my team) now go about writing code. This approach gives you the building blocks of learning these valuable techniques and gives you some hints and tips into different tools you can use to support you with this. Writing good code is all well and good, but how do you ensure it works well with other people's changes and passes coding standards? The continuous integration chapter details how this works using Jenkins as the example. Of course no section of building would be complete without a mention of Maven, I'll let you decide if that's a good or a bad thing :-)!

The book wraps up with web development and looks at why Java is not necessarily the best tool in the box for this, followed by how to stay well grounded now you have been armed with a book!

I have bought and read many technical books in the past and there are only two technical books I've ever read cover to cover, Spring in Action was one of them this is the other. The book focuses on Java 7, which although out for a year is slowly creeping into production systems. The book serves as a good primer to the new changes.

Note:
I wouldn't consider this a very beginner book, if you are looking to learn object oriented programming from the beginning I'd recommend reading another book first. It's not criticism of the book, but if that's what you're looking for I'd consider this book as the second book you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a Java Dev looking to keep up to date, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
I'm about a third of the way through this book and so far I'm finding it an ideal way of bring me up to date with the current direction and future direction of Java. The coverage of some of the alternate languages to run on the JVM, the Java 7 features and a discussion on dependency injection will all prove very useful going forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for moving on from java 6 to java 7, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
So far, the book is really interesting.
The advise given is easy to understand and to apply.
I recommend it to any java 6 developer as there is so much more to java 7 than meets the eye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 25 Jan 2013
By 
P. Apostolopoulos "papo2000" (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
One of the most interesting all around Java books on these recent years. Focuses on the JDK7 and all the supporting technologies around the latest version of the Java Runtime and the development tools. Easy to follow writting style. Anyone seeking a quick tour on the new features or feels a bit bored about core Java principles and wishes to explore alternatives within the JRE - then this book is an excellent start!

I am a huge supporter of Martin Verburg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Well written book, 16 July 2012
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
This is a great book for developers who are looking to improve their knowledge of the Jave platform. Its not focussed on the basics, but its easy for someone with even a very elementary knowledge of Java to get into.

A lot of books aimed at this market specialise in one area, but the well grounded Java developer takes the alternative, and in my opinion superior, approach of providing a solid and reasonably in depth stab of a variety of different topics. Many of these topics, like TDD or DI, are things that should be practised by developers day-to-day but aren't. Or even worse are practised but poorly. The fundamental understanding of these areas helps developers perform optimally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - should have browsed the amazon look-inside, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming (Paperback)
- The sections on groovy, scala and clojure waste 100 pages. Much of the other stuff would be better just pulled down from various websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Well-Grounded Java Developer: Vital techniques of Java 7 and polyglot programming
22.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews