Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book for creative coders, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
Firstly, this book offers a great insight into what IS generative and the misconception its a style is removed.

Secondly its full of great code

Thirdly its lovely to look at and read. Lots of creative code books give info and small non inspiring images - this makes you want to create the things you are reading.

Congrats for finally bringing a UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a nice book, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
This book is amazing! Although I went through processing basics in a week but still could not do the amazing things done in this book. Hope this book can challenge me and push me further on my way to learn processing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much more than a coffee table book, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
The examples in the book are stunning - they really show processing at its best.

To top it off, the code and tutorials are right there too.

I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
this is a brilliant book and they share the code, love it, very varied and interactive too. Lots of cool stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
Essential to those looking for inspiration and advancement in processing. Amazing production quality. A real book made to sit on the shelf and be picked up time and time again, even if just to admire it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aesthetics, in a programming book?!, 28 Jan 2013
By 
John Montgomery "jmmp2004" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
This is a refreshing book: Originally trained in Drawing & Painting, when I crossed over to working with HTML, etc., and computers, one loss was all the beautiful, well designed, visually compelling, "coffee table" books I was used to studying. Instead I had to wade, heavy-lidded, through scripts of screeds of monospaced type, accompanied by tedious explanations of Student Average vs. Student Median, laid out using nothing more imaginative than MS Word Heading 1; Heading 2; Heading 3; and .... blah... Very aesthetically impoverished. It is difficult to stay awake for more than half a chapter. How nice, then, to come across a visually aware programming book where every opening Is a delight to look at, and the succinct code commentary, simply highlights what to note and understand. The complete code, of course, is on the CD, where it should be! - Ready for you to read as you tweek and run in your editor. The book is a delight, and even if I didn't go much into Processing language, I'm glad I have a book about programming which is so nice to look at just for its own sake. However, it is such a pleasure, it makes you want to experiment with the code ideas. Thanks for this. I hope many more coding writers take a leaf out of this book..., if you see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Processing lovers, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Pedro Rito - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
I've been working with for some processing time, this is a book that begins by explaining the syntax of the language and where we found examples of its application. These examples are well documented, with images and text.
Although most of the examples are not complete, there is a reference early in the book explaining how to go to the website for downloading.
This book is a reference in the area, for those who are starting, and for those who already work with this tool.

Um aparte em PortuguÍs, gostei de encontrar uma referÍncia no livro a trabalhos desenvolvidos com o processing por um artista, na casa da musica no Porto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book for generative design lovers., 26 Sep 2012
By 
Ńngel (Sevilla, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing (Hardcover)
A have purchased in the last years several books that cover this or related topics (processing, dataviz,...) some of then are good used like learning books but are not pretty to look, the others are awesome to look but not very helpful to learn (not so much code or flowcharts to learn about).

But this book is a really good mix between both concepts: lot of code and documentation, great images, great page size to enjoy art, graphs and examples, etc., etc. I would recommend this book for every guy learning Processing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Generative Design: Visualize, Program, and Create with Processing
£39.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews